International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Palestine

Palestine at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architect(s) : Rechter

Palestine

The participation of Palestine in the Colonial Exhibition is undeniably a novelty because of the character of this country, its composition and its ambitions. But would one believe that at the beginning it even seemed a challenge! It took nothing less than the passionate persuasion of M. Justin Godart, Senator, former Minister, President for six years of the "France-Palestine" Committee, to bring it to a successful conclusion.

It is certainly not that it did not seem flattering and profitable to take part in a demonstration of this magnitude and brilliance. But, on all sides, people feared misunderstandings and showed their sensitivities.

The boldest Palestinians, the Jews, the main architects of the Young Palestine, feared being taken for vulgar colonists in the service of a great power. Would not the originality and independence of their effort be lost in a colonial fame whose consecration, unwisely accepted, risked confusing Palestine with the old types of colonies?

Even more suspicious were the Arabs, nonchalant sojourners in this old land which, under the prestige of a spiritual heritage shared by three religions, the Turkish Government disinherited of all goods and material progress. In 1929, the Arabs of Palestine came to attack the Jews, who were too active for their liking. How could they be expected in 1931 to look kindly on an enterprise which they still refuse to follow deliberately and which marks, against their numerical supremacy, the supremacy of the few, admitted to the celebration and the honour which thousands of visitors from all parts of the world are at this moment bringing to it?

There was also the rigid bad temper of Englishmen who were shocked that England, whose voluminous colonial domain could not take its place at the Exhibition, after the still recent one at Wimbley, could only be associated with this small "Mandated Territory", whose management is far from convenient and uncontested.

Finally, the believers, the "old believers", Christians, Jews and Arabs alike, were not unhappy that the Holy Land, the meeting place of age-old prayers in Latin, Hebrew and Arabic, that the thrice-holy Jerusalem with its three holy places, the Holy Sepulchre, the Wall of Weeping and the Mosque of Omar, should be presented in a new guise, inspired by concerns that were sacrilegious in their eyes.

Mr. Justin Godart convened a Parisian committee presided over by Mr. Louis Asscher, with Mr. Saveli Pollack as Commissioner General, and had a Palestinian one convened under the chairmanship of Mr. Dizengov, mayor of the modern city of Tel-Aviv, and advised them both in such a way that the resistance soon gave way. Mr. Justin Godart was obstinate in his efforts to succeed. He wanted not only to convince, but to seduce everyone: the English, the Arabs, the Jews, the Catholic and Protestant missions, the rabbis, the muftis. He seduced them.

In the end, these preliminary difficulties, which it would otherwise have been superfluous to relate here, were providential. It was from them that the true meaning and physiognomy of Palestine emerged, in this unfolding of the colonial "Thousand and One Nights".

In the absence of an internal unity which has not yet been achieved (all these doubts bear witness to this); in the absence of a "colonial" unification which England, by virtue of the special jurisdiction of the "Mandates", cannot allow itself to impose or seek for Palestine, where can we find the hyphen, the point of convergence which is indispensable, whatever the cost, for a common existence?

Well, Mr. Justin Godart and the organisers of the Palestine Pavilion, prompted by the very embarrassments they encountered, found the happy formula which has now spread and will make a fortune: Palestine is, par excellence, the probably unique example of a Colony belonging to the League of Nations, and to it alone, depending on it and on it alone.

The League of Nations may have no army, no navy, no flag, and may be obliged to rely, for the exercise of its authority, on the armies, navies, and flags of the "Mandatory" nations: Here is, all the same, a case where, obviously, the Mandatory Power and the Mandated Country, in the ups and downs of their relations, after ten years of trials and downsizing of all kinds, have no recourse, it must be understood as a constant recourse, a governmental recourse, guaranteeing a regular and lengthy action of adjustment, except to the League of Nations. It is the League of Nations alone which is capable of arbitrating between the three populations of this small League of Nations which is Palestine: Christian, Arab and Jewish, and the three, four, five still ill-adjusted powers of the British Government, the Zionist Organisation, the Arab Executive and the religious orders.

This is the lesson that emerges from the Palestine Pavilion, from this modest "House of the Palestinian People in training", as we heard it called, on the day of the inauguration which took place on 29 May 1931, in the presence of M. Paul Reynaud, Minister of Colonies; Marshal Lyautey, Governor General Olivier, Baron de Rothschild, M. Israel Levi, Chief Rabbi of France; M. Justin Godart, surrounded by the Members of his Committee; M. Dizengov, President of the Palestinian Committee, and his assistants; M. Nah Israel Levi, Chief Rabbi of France; Mr. Justin Godart, surrounded by the members of his Committee; Mr. Dizengov, President of the Palestinian Committee, and his assistants; Mr. Nahum Sokolov, President of the World Zionist Organisation; representatives of the Muslim Orders and the Catholic Missions; representatives of the English Government; Mr. Sylvain Levi. Member of the Institute, President, and Mr. Bicart, Secretary General of the Alliance Israélite Universelle, etc.


In these views, the Palestine Pavilion, built by a French architect, Mr. Georges Wybo, according to the oriental architecture of the famous Rachel's Tomb; installed inside by a Palestinian architect, Mr. Sapojnikov, who came specially from Tel-Aviv, comprised four rooms: the Edmond de Rothschild Room, the Lord Balfour Room, the Theodore Herzl Room, the Jules Cambon Room. Four illustrious names, the four cardinal points orienting the new destiny of Palestine, forming its star! Baron Edmond de Rothschild, founder in the midst of the Turkish regime, at the same time as the Alliance Israélite Universelle, of Jewish agricultural colonies in Palestine, thus maintaining, in the years of the most severe neglect, a link between it and Europe, between it and France; Lord Balfour, the author of the Balfour Declaration, the starting point of Article IV of the Mandate, guaranteeing, to those Jews who wished to do so, a right of immigration and a right of settlement, in order to reconstitute in Palestine a "National Home"; Theodore Herzl, founder, theorist and first diplomat of Zionism, precursor of the Weizmanns, the Sokolovs, the Jacobsons, the Ussiskins, the Jabotinskis, in the task of ambassadors, defenders, and organizers of the "Jewish National Home"; Jules Cambon, the author of the Cambon Declaration, who, preceding the Balfour Declaration, gave its principle the friendly approval of France before the end of the war.

First room :
The decided modernization and westernization of the new Palestine were put in striking relief there, by models: that of the University, that of the large Ruthenberg "white coal" production plants which are in the process of electrifying the whole country;
by photographs, notably of the entirely Jewish and entirely new city of Tel-Aviv, which today has 42,000 inhabitants; by samples of agricultural and industrial products, some of them luxury, such as Aviva perfumes from one of the Rothschild colonies, Benjaminals; by the graphic and timetable of the Palestine Railway, and, next to it, by a tourist counter. All indications that justify the talk of "Americanism", about a surprising boom, dating from less than twenty years ago.

Second room:
How was it born? - How did it develop? - Thanks to whom?
In this room, the powerful labour and production organisations that "Americanise" Palestine have been brought together. Books, leaflets, statistical tables, samples, picturesque illustrations of work in the orange groves, of the volume of trade, pupils' notebooks: nothing has been omitted that gives an objective idea, a concrete impression of the "training" to which, at present, 170,000 enthusiastic Jews are subjecting the sleep of the ancient land, the sleepiness of the 600,000 Arabs who live there, the religious authorities, the administrative authorities. Through its Immigration and Settlement Fund (Keren Hayesod) and its Land Redemption Fund (Keren Kayemeth), Zionism is in a position to establish 93,000 new families on the land without harming the existing population, which, with the corresponding labour movement in the towns, would represent nearly a million more Palestinians, brought up and cultivated in the European way, and nearly six million dunums of land, now barren, returned to cultivation.

This magnificent initiative, together with those of the neighbouring P.I.C.A. (Rothschild Colonies) and the Alliance Israélite Universelle, coinciding with the Mosul Oil traffic which will lead to Caïffa, supported by schools, hospitals and the high influence of the University of Jerusalem, is likely to force the success of the Palestinian renaissance. Third and fourth rooms :
And already we see appearing, in addition to the pure science and traditional ideology which are constantly mixed with its most positive institutions, art, ornament, applied arts, fine arts, fine letters: beautiful furniture made of eucalyptus and orange wood; fabrics, lace, mother-of-pearl objects made by the Arabs; dessert wines and liquors; art books, paintings, sculptures. Palestinian painters and sculptors, most of them Jewish, began to exhibit in all the galleries of Europe and America. Some of them were very popular. They bought land and had houses built in Tel Aviv or Jerusalem in accordance with the most audacious aims of contemporary urbanism.


Historians, Palestinian annalists, who already add up the stages and the salient dates of the metamorphosis of this legendary region, will not fail to attribute a particular importance to its entry in the International Colonial Exhibition in Paris. For it will undoubtedly be the origin of a major change in opinion towards it. First of all, many people who were unaware of Palestine or were indifferent to it, will become interested in it. Secondly, they will see it in an unexpected light.

The fabulous names of its history will now take on a different resonance. The Dead Sea will be revived by the extraction of salts and phosphates. The Bay of Acre, the Lake of Gennesaret, the Jordan, the Valley of Esdrelon, Emeck, Carmel, Bethlehem, will combine their immortal memories with the fertility of irrigated fields, the light of cities, the productivity of machines. Above Jerusalem, whose new quarters are renewing the appearance fixed in universal piety, there is taking shape a University, whose governing board is composed of scholars from all the countries of the world and which, equipped with books in all the languages, will perhaps one day be able to aspire to the reputation which the "Library of Alexandria" once had, not far away, under similar conditions!

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palestine

Palestine à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Rechter

La Palestine

La participation de la Palestine à l’Exposition Coloniale constitue indéniablement, par le caractère de ce Pays, sa composition et ses ambitions, une nouveauté. Mais croirait-on qu’au début elle parut même une gageure! Il ne fallut rien moins que la persuasion passionnée de M. Justin Godart, Sénateur, Ancien Ministre, Président depuis six ans du Comité “ France-Palestine ”, pour en venir à bout.

Ce n’est certes pas qu’il ne semblât flatteur et profitable de prendre rang dans une manifestation de cette ampleur et de cet éclat. Mais, de tous côtés, on redoutait des méprises, on montrait des susceptibilités.

Les Palestiniens les plus hardis, les Juifs, artisans principaux de la Jeune Palestine, craignaient d’être pris pour des colons vulgaires au service d’une grande Puissance. L’originalité et l’indépendance de leur effort n’allaient-elles pas se perdre dans une renommée coloniale dont la consécration, acceptée imprudemment, risquait de confondre la Palestine et les anciens types de Colonies ?

Plus méfiants encore furent les Arabes, séjournants nonchalants de cette vieille terre que, sous le prestige d’un héritage spirituel partagé par trois religions, le Gouvernement turc déshérita de tous biens et progrès matériels. En 1929, les Arabes de Palestine en vinrent à attaquer les Juifs, trop actifs à leur gré. Comment espérer qu’en 1931 ils verraient de bon cœur une entreprise qu’ils se refusent encore à suivre délibérément et qui marque, contre leur suprématie numérique, la suprématie du petit nombre, admise à la célébration et l’honneur que lui valent, en ce moment, des milliers de visiteurs de toutes les parties du monde ?

Il y eut aussi la mauvaise humeur rigide d’Anglais choqués que l’Angleterre, dont le volumineux domaine colonial n’a pu prendre place à l’Exposition, après celle, encore récente, de Wimbley, n’y pût être associée qu’avec ce petit “ Territoire sous mandat ”, dont la gestion est loin d’être commode et incontestée.

Enfin, les croyants, les “ vieux croyants ”, aussi bien chrétiens que juifs, qu’arabes, n’envisageaient pas sans chagrin que la Terre Sainte, rendez-vous de prières séculaires en latin, en hébreu, en arabe, que la trois fois sainte Jérusalem avec ses trois lieux saints, le Saint-Sépulcre, le Mur des Pleurs, la Mosquée d'Omar, fussent présentés sous une apparence nouvelle, inspirée de préoccupations sacrilèges à leurs yeux.

M. Justin Godart réunit un Comité parisien présidé par Monsieur Louis Asscher, avec M. Saveli Pollack comme Commissaire Général,en fitréunir un palestinien sous la Présidence de M. Dizengov, maire de la ville moderne de Tel-Aviv, et les conseilla l’un et l’autre de telle façon que les résistances bientôt cédèrent. M. Justin Godart mit, à réussir, une obstinée coquetterie. Il voulut, non seulement convaincre, mais séduire tout le monde : les Anglais, les Arabes, les Juifs, les Missions catholiques et protestantes, les rabbins, les muftis. Il les séduisit.

En définitive, ces difficultés préliminaires qu’il eût été, sans cela, superflu de relater ici, furent providentielles. C’est d’elles que se dégagèrent le vrai sens, la vraie physionomie à prêter à la Palestine, en ce déroulement des “ Mille et une Nuits ” coloniales.

Faute d’une unité intérieure qui n’est pas encore faite (toutes ces défiances en témoignent); faute d’une unification “ coloniale que l’Angleterre, en vertu de la juridiction spéciale des “ Mandats ”, ne peut se permettre d’imposer ou chercher pour la Palestine, où trouver le trait d’union, le point de convergence indispensable, coûte que coûte, à une existence commune ?

Eh bien, M. Justin Godart et les organisateurs du Pavillon de la Palestine, poussés par les embarras mêmes qu’ils rencontraient, en trouvèrent la formule heureuse qui maintenant s’est répandue et fera fortune : La Palestine est, par excellence, l'exemple probablement unique d'une Colonie appartenant à la Société des Nations, et à elle seule, dépendant d'elle et d'elle seule.

La Société des Nations a beau n’avoir ni armée, ni marine, ni drapeau et être obligée à s’en remettre, pour l’exercice de son autorité, aux armées, aux marines, aux drapeaux de nations “ mandataires ” : voici, tout de même, un cas où, manifestement, la puissance mandataire et le pays mandaté, dans les péripéties de leurs rapports, après dix ans d’essais et de dosages de toutes sortes, n’ont de recours, il faut entendre de recours constant, de recours de gouvernement, garantissant une régulière et longue action de mise au point, qu’auprès de la Société des Nations. C’est elle, rien qu’elle, qui est capable d’arbitrer les trois populations de cette Société des Nations en petit, qu’est la Palestine : Chrétienne, Arabe et Juive, et les trois, les quatre, les cinq pouvoirs encore mal ajustés du Gouvernement Britannique, de l’Organisation Sioniste, de l’Exécutif Arabe, des Ordres religieux.

Tel est l’enseignement qui ressort du Pavillon de la Palestine, de cette modeste “ Maison du Peuple Palestinien en formation ”, comme nous l’entendîmes appeler, le jour de l’inauguration qui eut lieu le 29 Mai 1931, en présence de M. Paul Reynaud, Ministre des Colonies; du Maréchal Lyautey, du Gouverneur Général Olivier, du Baron de Rothschild, de M. Israël Levi, grand Rabbin de France; de M. Justin Godart, entouré des Membres de son Comité; de M. Dizengov, Président du Comité palestinien, et de ses assistants; de M. Nahum Sokolov, Président de l’Organisation Sioniste mondiale; des Représentants des Ordres Musulmans et des Missions Catholiques; de Représentants du Gouvernement Anglais, de M. Sylvain Levi. Membre de l’Institut, Président, et de M. Bicart, Secrétaire Général de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle, etc.


Dans ces vues, le Pavillon de la Palestine, construit par un architecte français, M. Georges Wybo, selon les données d’architecture orientale du fameux tombeau de Rachel; installé intérieurement par un architecte palestinien, M. Sapojnikov, venu spécialement de Tel-Aviv, comprit quatre salles : la salle Edmond de Rothschild, la salle Lord Balfour, la salle Théodore Herzl, la salle Jules Cambon. Quatre noms illustres, les quatre points cardinaux orientant le nouveau destin de la Palestine, formant son étoile! Le baron Edmond de Rothschild, fondateur en plein régime turc, en même temps que l’Alliance Israélite Universelle, de Colonies Juives agricoles en Palestine, maintenant de la sorte, dans les années d’incurie les plus pesantes, un lien entre elle et l’Europe, entre elle et la France; Lord Balfour, l’auteur de la Déclaration Balfour, point de départ de l’Article IV du Mandat, garantissant, à ceux des Juifs qui le désirent, un droit d’immigration et un droit d’établissement, afin de reconstituer en Palestine un “ Home National ”; Théodore Herzl, fondateur, théoricien et premier diplomate du Sionisme, précurseur des Weizmann, des Sokolov, des Jacobson, des Ussiskin, des Jabotinski, dans la tâche d’ambassadeurs, de défenseurs, et d’organisateurs du “ Home National Juif ”; Jules Cambon, l’auteur de la Déclaration Cambon, qui, précédant la Déclaration Balfour, apporta d’avance à son principe, sans attendre la fin de la guerre, l’approbation amicale de la France.

Première salle :
La modernisation et l’occidentalisation décidées de la Palestine nouvelle furent mises, là, en relief saisissant, par des maquettes : celle de l’Université, celle des grandes usines de production de “ houille blanche ” Ruthenberg qui sont en train d’électrifier tout le pays;
par des photographies, celle notamment de la ville entièrement juive et entièrement neuve de Tel-Aviv, qui compte, aujourd’hui, 42.000 habitants; par des échantillons de produits agricoles et de produits industriels, dont certains de luxe, comme les parfums Aviva provenant d’une des Colonies de Rothschild, Benjaminals; par le tableau graphique et horaire d£s Chemins de Fer Palestiniens (Palestine Railway), et, à côté, par un comptoir de tourisme. Toutes indications qui justifient que l’on parle d’“ américanisme ”, à propos d’un surprenant essor, datant de moins de vingt ans.

Deuxième salle :
Comment est-il né ? — Comment se développe-t-il ? — Grâce à qui ?
Dans cette salle ont été rassemblés les puissants organismes de travail et de production qui “ américanisent ” la Palestine. Livres, tracts, tableaux statistiques, échantillons, figurations pittoresques du travail dans les orangeries, du volume du commerce, cahiers d’élèves : on n’a rien omis qui donne l’idée objective, l’impression concrète de 1’ “ entraînement ” auquel, actuellement, 170.000 Juifs enthousiastes soumettent le sommeil de l’antique terre, la somnolence des 600.000 Arabes qui y habitent, les autorités religieuses, les autorités administratives. Par son fonds d’immigration et d’installation (Keren Hayessod) et par son fonds de Rachat du Sol (Keren Kayemeth), le Sionisme est en mesure d’établir sur la terre 93.000 familles nouvelles, sans 'nuire à la population existante, ce qui représenterait, avec le mouvement ouvrier correspondant dans les villes, près d’un million de Palestiniens de plus, élevés et cultivés à l’européenne, et près de six millions de “ dounams ” de terre, aujourd’hui stériles, rendues à la culture.

Cette magnifique initiative, se soudant à celles qui lui sont voisines, de la P.I.C.A. (Colonies de Rothschild) et de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle, coïncidant avec le trafic du Pétrole de Mossoul qui débouchera à Caïffa, soutenue d’écoles, d’établissements hospitaliers et du haut rayonnement de l’Université de Jérusalem, est de nature à forcer le succès de la renaissance palestinienne. Troisième et quatrième salles :
Et, déjà, on y voit apparaître, outre la science pure et l’idéologie traditionnelle qui se mêlent sans cesse à ses institutions les plus positives, l’art, l’ornement, les arts appliqués, les beaux-arts, les belles lettres : de beaux meubles en bois d’eucalyptus et d’oranger; des tissus, des dentelles, des objets de nacre que font les Arabes; des vins et des liqueurs de dessert; des livres d’art, des peintures, des sculptures. Les peintres et les sculpteurs palestiniens, juifs la plupart, commencent à exposer dans toutes les galeries d’Europe et d’Amérique. Certains ont grande vogue. Ils achètent alors des terres et se font construire à Tel-Aviv ou à Jérusalem des maisons conformes aux plus audacieuses visées de l’urbanisme contemporain.


Les historiens, les annalistes palestiniens, qui déjà additionnent les étapes et les dates saillantes de la métamorphose de cette région légendaire, ne manqueront pas d’attribuer à son entrée à l’Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris une importance particulière. Car ce sera l’origine, à coup sûr, d’un changement capital d’opinion à son égard. D’abord, beaucoup de gens qui ignoraient la Palestine ou y étaient indifférents, s’y intéresseront. Ensuite, ils la verront sous un jour inattendu.

Les noms fabuleux de son histoire prendront désormais une autre résonance. La Mer Morte revivra par l’extraction des sels et des phosphates. La Baie d’Acre, le Lac de Génésareth, le Jourdain, la Vallée d’Esdrelon, l’Emeck, le Carmel, Bethléem, allieront leurs immortels souvenirs à la fécondité des champs irrigués, la lumière des villes, la productivité des machines. Au dessus de Jérusalem dont des quartiers neufs renouvellent l’aspect fixé dans la piété universelle, prend corps une Université, dont le Comité directeur est composé de savants de tous les pays du monde et qui, s’outillant de livres en toutes les langues, pourra briguer, peut-être, un jour, à ce confin de l’Occident et de l’Orient, à ce carrefour de trois continents, la réputation qu’eut jadis, non loin de là, dans des conditions analogues, la “ Bibliothèque d’Alexandrie ”!

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931