International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Menier Chocolate

Menier Chocolate at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1931

Architect(s) : ziwes

The French chocolate industry offers our Colonies an important outlet, since it absorbs all the cocoa production of the colonial group and most of its vanilla crops.

The cultivation of cocoa, which had remained very low in West Africa, has developed over the last ten years on the initiative of the Chambre Syndicale des Chocolatiers de France. Currently, colonial production reaches 40,000 tons and is therefore sufficient to meet the needs of the French chocolate industry, which is thus freed from foreign imports.

It should be noted that a very large part of this production is absorbed by Maison MENIER, for the manufacture of its various types of chocolate, in its vast factories in Noisiel. Served by water and railways, these factories include manufacturing workshops employing more than 3,000 workers. Well-ventilated houses, each with its own garden and situated along wide tree-lined avenues, make up the model Cité ouvrière, one of the first to be created. The view above, taken from a plane, shows the Factory and the City.

Without going into the details of production, we can indicate that in 1825 the annual consumption of chocolates in France was 200,000 kilograms. In 1854, the Noisiel factory alone produced 700,000 kilograms of Menier chocolate. Today, its production exceeds 60,600 kilograms per day.

The longest commentary would add nothing to the eloquence of these figures.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chocolat Menier

Chocolat Menier à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Architecte(s) : ziwes

L’industrie chocolatière française offre à nos Colonies un débouché important, puisqu’elle absorbe toute la production de cacao du groupe colonial et la plus grande partie de ses récoltes de vanille.

La culture du cacao, qui était restée très faible en Afrique occidentale, s’est développée depuis une dizaine d’années sur l’initiative de la Chambre Syndicale des Chocolatiers de France. Actuellement, la production coloniale atteint 40.000 tonnes et suffit par conséquent aux besoins de la Chocolaterie française, ainsi affranchie de l’importation étrangère.

A noter qu’une très grande partie de cette production est absorbée par le Maison MENIER, pour la fabrication de ses différentes sortes de chocolats, dans ses vastes usines de Noisiel. Desservies par des voies d’eau et de fer, ces usines comportent des ateliers de fabrication occupant plus de 3.000 employés, ouvriers et ouvrières. Des maisons bien aérées, dotées chacune d’un jardin et situées le long de larges allées plantées d’arbres, constituent la Cité ouvrière modèle, l’une des premières créées. La vue ci-dessus, prise en avion, représente l’Usine et la Cité.

Sans entrer dans les détails de la production, nous pouvons indiquer qu’en 1825 la consommation annuelle des chocolats en France était de 200.000 kilogrammes. En 1854, l’usine de Noisiel produisait à elle seule 700.000 kilogrammes de chocolat Menier. Actuellement, sa fabrication dépasse 60.600 kilogrammes par jour.

Le commentaire le plus long n’ajouterait rien à l’éloquence de ces chiffres.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931