International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Somali Coast

Somali Coast at the Exhibition Paris 1931

Architect(s) : Wulffleff

To travellers embarking for the first time on the liners of the Messageries Maritimes, the old regulars of the Far East line never fail, as soon as one has entered the Red Sea, to tell the story of the Djibouti palm tree.

This palm tree had been planted by a governor who wanted to give himself the illusion of greenery in a country more bare than an operating table. And care had been taken to protect it from the vagaries of the climate: it was a zinc palm tree. The anecdote is pleasant, harmless and of course false. The fact remains that the Côte des Somalis could hardly be considered an oasis. The interest of our little Red Sea colony is above all political, strategic and commercial; this is what the administration of this French land was willing to point out in Vincennes.

It is understandable that the task of Mr. Gleitz, former director at the Ministry of Colonies, Commissioner of the Somali Coast at the Exhibition, was not an easy one; let us hasten to add that he carried it out with skill and taste.

The Pavilion of the French Somali Coast at the Colonial Exhibition, designed and built by M. Wulffleff, Architect, is the exact reproduction on a reduced scale of the largest Mosque in Djibouti: the Hamoudi Mosque.

It is divided into three rooms:
1° An exhibition room with a central patio and a gushing water basin;
2° a bar for tasting Harrari coffee run by the colony's indigenous people: Somalis and Danakils;
3° the Commissioner's office, where all information of interest to visitors is provided.


EXHIBITION ROOM

As soon as you enter, you are struck by the predominant place reserved for indigenous art, represented by more than three hundred different objects.

On the shelves are arranged women's arm and ankle bracelets, a bracelet of a warrior who killed at least two men, Somali toothbrushes, women's combs, coffee cups, perfume burners, pearl oysters, marine conches, various corals and shells.

These objects, which are the property of the Colony, were gathered after meticulous research by Miss E. Soulier, Government Archivist, correspondent of the Colony at the Exhibition.

The panels on either side of the entrance door are occupied by the Compagnie du Chemin de fer Franco-Ethiopien. A map and a longitudinal profile of the line can be seen, which highlight the difficulties that had to be overcome in order to complete its construction. The Franco-Ethiopian Railway is 783 kilometres long and rises gradually from 0 to 2,400 metres.

Participation of Mr. Régnault-Sarasin. - Mr. Regnault-Sarasin brought back many watercolours from his travels around the world. The ones that are of interest to the Colony are on either side of the entrance door and represent native types taken from life, as well as a corner of the native town.

Participation of the Société des Salines de Djibouti, S fax and Madagascar. - Salt is the only product of the Colony.

Its exploitation is exclusively undertaken by the Société des Salines de Djibouti, Sfax et Madagascar. The importance of this Company, whose annual exports reach nearly five million francs, is growing.

Participation of M. l'Aviateur Rabatel. -- M. l'Aviateur Rabatel took a superb aerial photograph of Djibouti and Abyssinia during the trip he made in April 1930.

Under a small lean-to adjoining the coffee bar, Mr. Pierre Gandillon, engineer, exhibits a relief model of the Gulf of Tadjourah and its immediate surroundings: Gubbet-Karab, Lake Assal, Lake Halol, Mount Gouda.

This relief shows
1° The difference in levels between the Gulf of Tadjourah and Lake Assal, the latter being at the height of -173 metres.
2° The difference in level between Lake Assal and Lake Halol, the latter being at a height of -100 metres.
3. The relatively small distances separating Gubbet-Karan from Lake Assal and the latter from Lake Halol.
4° The narrowness of the two passes which make the Gulf of Tajoutah and the Gubbet-Karah communicate with each other.
5° The impressive height of Mount Gouda, which rises at a short distance from the coast to 1650 metres.

An explanatory legend is affixed to the base of the model, which is also topped by a map of the Colony.

Mr Pierre Gandillon, in a note that he willingly makes available to those interested in the question, outlines the guiding principles of his project for the development of the French Somali Coast through the use of solar energy "La houille d'or".

This very interesting project has three phases:
First phase:
1° Construction of a tidal power plant after closing the small pass of Gubbet-Karab by a floating dock, equipped to capture the energy of the marine currents to transform it into electrical energy evaluated at 10,000 horsepower;
2° Use of the electrical energy thus obtained :
a) for the establishment of a high voltage power distribution line to meet the needs of a rest city to be built on the heights of Mount Gouda;
b) to operate dynamo-pumps drawing water from the springs of Mount Gouda and pumping it to the rest area and to the fertile coastal land at the foot of Mount Gouda
c) to start up an electro-chemical factory fed by salt tables producing the raw material to be processed.

Second phase: Expand agricultural and industrial facilities together with the production of electrical energy.

Widening the circle of use of electrical energy: construction of a road linking Djibouti to the rest area and use of trolley trucks as a means of transport.

Third phase. - Increasing the production of electrical energy by using the evaporation surfaces of Lakes Halol and Assal. The water taken from the Gulf of Tadjourah or from the Gubbet-Karab will produce, by its fall into these depressions, quantities of energy which can be evaluated at 40,000 horsepower.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Côte des Somalis

Côte des Somalis à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Architecte(s) : Wulffleff

Aux voyageurs qui s’embarquent pour la première fois sur les paquebots des Messageries Maritimes, les vieux habitués de la ligne Extrême-Orient ne manquent jamais, dès qu’on est entré dans la mer Rouge, de raconter l’histoire du palmier de Djibouti.

Ce palmier avait été planté par un gouverneur qui voulait se donner l’illusion de la verdure dans un pays plus nu qu’une table d’opération. Et l’on avait pris soin de le mettre à l’abri des caprices du climat : c’était un palmier en zinc. L’anecdote est plaisante, inoffensive et bien entendu fausse. Il n’en reste pas moins que la Côte des Somalis pourrait difficilement passer pour une oasis. L’intérêt de notre petite Colonie de la mer Rouge est surtout d’ordre politique, stratégique et commercial ; c’est ce que l’administration de cette terre française a bien voulu marquer à Vincennes.

On conçoit que la tâche de M. Gleitz, ancien directeur au Ministère des Colonies, Commissaire de la Côte des Somalis à l’Exposition, n’était pas facile; hâtons-nous d’ajouter qu’il s’en est acquitté avec habileté et avec goût.

Le Pavillon de la Côte française des Somalis à l’Exposition Coloniale, conçu et réalisé par M. Wulffleff, Architecte, est la reproduction exacte à une échelle réduite de la plus grande Mosquée de Djibouti : la mosquée Hamoudi.

Il est divisé en trois pièces :
1° Une salle d’exposition avec patio central et vasque aux eaux jaillissantes;
2° un bar de dégustation de café Harrari tenu par des indigènes de la colonie : Somalis et Danakils;
3° le bureau du Commissaire, où sont fournis tous renseignements pouvant intéresser les visiteurs.


SALLE D’EXPOSITION

Dès l’entrée ce qui frappe le regard, c’est la place prédominante réservée à l’art indigène représenté par plus de trois cents objets divers.

Sur des étagères sont disposés des bracelets de bras et de cheville pour femme, un bracelet de guerrier ayant tué deux hommes au moins, des brosses à dents somalies, des peignes de femmes, des tasses à cafés, des brûle-parfums, des huîtres perlières, des conques marines, des coraux et coquillages divers.

Ces objets, qui sont la propriété de la Colonie, ont été réunis après des recherches minutieuses par les soins de Mlle E. Soulier, Archiviste du Gouvernement, correspondant de la Colonie à l’Exposition.

Les panneaux situés de chaque côté de la porte d’entrée sont occupés par la Compagnie du Chemin de fer Franco-Ethiopien. On y remarque une carte et un profil en long de la ligne, qui font ressortir les difficultés qu’il a fallu surmonter pour en mener à bien la construction. Le Chemin de fer Franco-Ethiopien mesure 783 kilomètres et s’élève graduellement de 0 à 2.400 mètres.

Participation de M. Régnault-Sarasin. — M. Regnault-Sarasin a rapporté, de ses voyages autour du monde, de nombreuses aquarelles. Celles qui intéressent la Colonie se trouvent de part et d’autre de la porte d’entrée et représentent des types d’indigènes pris sur le vif, ainsi qu’un coin de la ville indigène.

Participation de la Société des Salines de Djibouti, S fax et Madagascar. — Le sel est le seul produit de la Colonie.

Son exploitation est exclusivement entreprise par la Société des Salines de Djibouti, Sfax et Madagascar. L’importance de cette Société, dont les exportations annuelles atteignent près de cinq millions de francs, va croissant.

Participation de M. l’Aviateur Rabatel. -— M. l’Aviateur Rabatel a pris, au cours du voyage qu’il a affectué en Avril 1930 à Djibouti et en Abyssinie, une superbe photographie aérienne de Djibouti.

Sous un petit appentis attenant au bar de dégustation de café, M. l’ingénieur Pierre Gandillon expose une maquette en relief du golfe de Tadjourah et de ses environs immédiats : Gubbet-Karab, Lac Assal, lac Halol, Mont Gouda.

Ce relief fait ressortir :
1° La différence de niveaux existant entre le golfe de Tadjourah et le lac Assal, ce dernier étant à la cote —173 mètres.
2° Celle existant entre les lacs Assal et Halol, ce dernier étant à la cote —100 mètres.
3° Les distances relativement peu considérables qui séparent le Gubbet-Karan du lac Assal et ce dernier du lac Halol.
4° l’étroitesse des deux passes qui font communiquer entre eux le Golfe de Tadjoutah et le Gubbet-Karah.
5° La hauteur impressionnante du Mont Gouda, qui s’élève à peu de distance du littoral à 1650 mètres.

Une légende explicative est apposée à même le socle de la maquette laquelle est d’ailleurs surmontée d’une carte de la Colonie.

M. Pierre Gandillon, dans une notice qu’il met bien volontiers à la disposition des personnes que la question intéresse, expose les principes directeurs de son projet de la mise en valeur de la Côte Française des Somalis par l’utilisation de l’énergie solaire “ La houille d’or ”.

Ce très intéressant projet comporte trois phases :
Première phase :
1° Construction d’une usine marémotrice après fermeture de la petite passe du Gubbet-Karab par un dock flottant, équipé de façon à capter l’énergie des courants marins pour la transformer en énergie électrique évaluée à 10.000 chevaux-vapeur;
2° Utilisation de l’énergie électrique ainsi obtenue :
a) pour l’établissement d’une ligne à haute tension de distribution de courant assurant les besoins d’une cité de repos à construire sur les hauteurs du Mont Gouda;
b) pour actionner des dynamos-pompes puisant l’eau des sources du Mont Gouda et la refoulant dans la cité de repos et sur les terrains fertiles du littoral qui s’étendent au pied du Mont Gouda;
c) pour la mise en marche d’une usine électro-chimique alimentée par des tables salantes produisant la matière première à traiter.

Deuxième phase : Accroître les installations agricoles et industrielles en même temps que la production de l’énergie électrique.

Elargir le cercle d’utilisation de l’énergie électrique : construction d’une route reliant Djibouti à la cité de repos et emploi comme moyens de transport de camions à trolley.

Troisième phase. — Accroître la production d’énergie électrique par l’utilisation des surfaces d’évaporation des lacs Halol et Assal. L’eau prélevée sur le golfe de Tadjourah ou sur le Gubbet-Karab produira par sa chute dans ces dépressions des quantités d’énergie qui peuvent être évaluées à 40.000 chevaux-vapeur.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931