International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Guyana

Guyana at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architect(s) : Oradour

The Guiana pavilion attests to the prodigious sylvan wealth of our colony, where the most varied and rare species of wood can be found. The architect of the pavilion, Mr. Oradour, insisted on using only materials from our old American possession. As Guyana does not have a typical architectural style, the pavilion that represents it in Vincennes is not a faithful replica of a palace, a house or a native hut. It has its own particular style which is distinguished by the harmonious relationship of the lines or plans of its peristyle, its reed roof and its side galleries.

In the central hall, we notice the superb stained glass windows by Mauméjean, inspired by Guiana's fauna and flora, whose effect, seen by day, is very beautiful and whose lighting at night gives a very special aspect to the Guiana pavilion. A veranda around the pavilion with wooden pillars of different species of the country; under this veranda the visitor can admire an exhibition, by the Maison Charles, of the main species of the immense Guianese forest which extends from the Maroni to the Oyapock: trunks of "Wacapou", "Angelica", "Amaranth", "St-Martin", "Satiné", "Gaïac", etc, cut into whistles so as to show the woods in all the beauty and originality of their fibres.

In each corner of the veranda, one can see red mangrove barrels exhibited by the Compagnie coloniale de tonnellerie.

Inside: a large room entirely covered in amaranth wood up to a height of about 4 metres, with a visible framework, partly made of local wood. This room has the most pleasing effect with its 12-metre height and the lighting of its stained glass windows.

Along the walls, all around the room, some typical species of Guyanese fauna (mammals, richly coloured birds, reptiles (naturalised); the "cockerel" with its brilliant plumage and semi-circular right crest is very noticeable.
In the middle of the room is an imposing golden pyramid showing the volume of the 7,300 square metres of gold, i.e. 140,870 kg officially exported from Guyana since 1853, the date of the discovery of the precious metal in the colony. This quantity represents only a part of the gold extracted and, according to the prospecting carried out, only a tiny part of the gold still hidden in the subsoil of French Guiana, because, according to a well-known expression: "in French Guiana we walk on gold".

In the showcases artistically arranged all around the room, one can see
a) samples of very interesting mining products such as gold-bearing sands and quartz, bauxites containing up to 65% alumina with minute quantities of silica;
b) samples of forest products such as: Carapa oil and soap, antiseptics that are destined to replace the best medicinal soaps.
c) various objects, paintings, decorations, made with products from Guyana, much admired and appreciated by visitors (flowers made of bird feathers, paintings whose colours are made of butterfly wings and bird feathers, trays, candy boxes, ashtrays, cups containing the dazzling wings of lepidopterans between two glass strips, etc.).

In the centre of the room, all around the golden pyramid, there are very busy stalls selling local products or objects made with these products (perfumes based on rosewood essence, butterflies, objects made from butterfly wings and bird feathers, jewellery, etc.).

At the back of the room, we note a beautiful subject naturalized by Mr. Lomont in Cayenne and representing a jaguar jumping on a young tapir.

Several small pieces of furniture in marquetry use in a very happy way three of the most decorative species of Guyana, the amaranth, the snakewood and the Bocco (Niap establishment).

Two pedestal tables highlight the highly decorative aspect of the Moutouchi.

All in all, the Guiana pavilion, despite the modest funds made available to it, gives the impression of an elegant wealth. Lovers of modern furniture will find in this pavilion a whole collection of rare species susceptible of new applications. To all, it will show, in a lively form, the innumerable resources of this colony, so decried, but which should be so prosperous.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Guyane

Guyane à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Oradour

Le pavillon de la Guyane atteste la prodigieuse richesse sylvestre de notre colonie où l’on trouve les essences de bois les plus variées et les plus rares. L’architecte du pavillon, M. Oradour, a tenu a n’employer que des matériaux provenant de notre vieille possession américaine. La Guyane ne possédant pas un style architectural typique, le pavillon qui la représente à Vincennes n’est pas la réplique fidèle d’un palais, d’une maison ou d’une case indigène. Il a son style particulier qui se distingue par les harmonieux rapports des lignes ou des plans de son péristyle, de son toit couvert de roseaux et de ses galeries latérales.

Dans le hall central, nous remarquons de superbes vitraux de Mauméjean, inspirés de la faune et de la flore guyanaises dont l’effet, vu de jour, est très beau et dont l’éclairage de nuit donne un aspect tout spécial au pavillon de la Guyane. Une véranda autour du pavillon avec piliers en bois de différentes essences du pays; sous cette véranda le visiteur peut admirer une exposition, par la Maison Charles, des principales essences de l’immense forêt guyanaise qui s’étend de Maroni à l’Oyapock : troncs de “ Wacapou ”, d’“ Angélique ”, d’ “ Amaranthe ”, de “ St-Martin ”, de “ Satiné ”, de “ Gaïac ”, etc., coupés en sifflets de façon à montrer les bois dans toute la beauté et toute l’originalité de leurs fibres.

A chaque coin de la véranda, on peut voir des tonneaux en palétuviers rouge exposés par la Compagnie coloniale de tonnellerie.

A l’intérieur : une grande salle entièrement revêtue en bois d’amarante jusqu’à une hauteur de 4 mètres environ, avec charpente visible, partiellement en bois du pays. Cette salle produit le plus heureux effet avec ses 12 mètres de hauteur et l’éclairage de ses vitraux.

Le long des murs, tout autour de la salle, quelques espèces typiques de la faune guyanaise (mammifères, oiseaux aux riches couleurs, reptiles (naturalisés); le “ coq roche ” au brillant plumage avec sa crête droite demi-circulaire est très remarqué.
Au milieu de la salle une imposante pyramide dorée montrant le volume des 7 mq 300 d’or, soit 140.870 kgs officiellement exportés de la Guyane depuis 1853, date de la découverte du métal précieux dans la colonie. Cette quantité ne représente qu’une partie de l’or extrait et, d’après les prospections effectuées, et n’atteint qu’une infime partie de l’orque recèle encore le sous-sol de la Guyane, car, suivant une expression consacrée : «  en Guyane on marche sur l’or ».

Dans les vitrines artistiquement disposées sur tout le pourtour de la salle on remarque :
a) des échantillons de produits miniers très intéressants tels que sables et quartz aurifères bauxites contenant jusqu’à 65 % d’alumine avec des quantités infimes de silice;
b) des échantillons de produits forestiers tels que : l’huile et le savon de Carapa, antiseptiques appelés à remplacer les meilleurs savons médicinaux.
c) des objets divers, tableaux, décors, fabriqués avec les produits de la Guyane, très admirés et appréciés des visiteurs (fleurs en plumes d’oiseaux,, tableaux dont les couleurs sont constituées d’ailes de papillons et de plumes d’oiseaux, plateaux, bonbonnières, cendriers, coupes contenant les éblouissantes ailes de lépidoptères entre deux lamelles de verre, etc...).

Au centre de la salle, tout autour de la pyramide dorée, on trouve des stands très achalandés où l’on vend des produits du pays ou des objets fabriqués avec ces produits (parfums à base d’essence de bois de rose, papillons, objets dans la fabrication desquels entre les ailes de papillon et les plumes d’oiseaux, bijoux, etc...).

Au fond de la salle, notons un beau sujet naturalisé par M. Lomont à Cayenne et représentant un jaguar sautant sur un jeune tapir.

Plusieurs petits meubles en marqueterie utilisant d’une façon très heureuse trois des essences les plus décoratives de la Guyane, l’amarante, le bois serpent et le Bocco (établissement Niap).

Deux guéridons mettent en valeur l’aspect hautement décoratif du Moutouchi.

Somme toute, le pavillon de la Guyane, malgré la modicité des crédits mis à sa disposition donne l’impression d’une élégante richesse. Les amateurs du meuble moderne trouveront dans ce pavillon toute une collection d’essences rares susceptibles d’applications nouvelles. A tous, il montrera, sous une forme vivante, les innombrables ressources de cette colonie, si décriée, mais qui devrait être si prospère.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931