Back - List of Pavilions

Tonkin - Expo Paris 1931

Tonkin at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1931
© G. L. Manuel Frères
Architect(s) : Sabrier

The local exhibition in Tonkin, which was initially intended to be a reproduction of an Annamese village, or at least of the main street and square of a village, so as to accurately represent the special characteristics of this country of the Indochinese Union, a crossroads in which one could see the market, the shops of craftsmen and small traders, as well as the dinh or common house, had to undergo significant reductions for budgetary reasons and also due to lack of space.

It therefore simply comprises :

I

The gate of the Annamite village with its watchtower where the watchman usually stands ready to give the alarm signal or to announce the arrival of strangers by striking a tom-tom.

II

On the right-hand side, in the absence of a complete street, a row of five Tonkinese houses with shops or craftsmen's workshops, buildings in which are installed natives who sell silk fabrics, lace, objects made of tortoiseshell, ivory, copper, inlays, gold or silver jewels, carved or lacquered furniture, the main products of the craft industry and the family industries of Northern Indochina

III

Once they have passed this necessarily reduced reproduction of a shopping street in a Tonkinese centre, visitors find themselves in the presence of the common house, the dinh, where the village notables meet to deal with communal affairs and also to celebrate ritual ceremonies in honour of the protective genies of this administrative cell, the basis of the country's administrative organisation.

This monument, separated from the craftsmen's houses, which we have just left, by a pool of water surrounded by the low openwork wall made of bricks and glazed terracotta balusters found throughout Tonkin, is the very exact image of the Dinh of Dinh-Bang, one of the most important villages in Tonkin, located in the Phu de Tu-Son of the province of Bac-Ninh, the cradle of the Ly dynasty.

It includes:

a) The entrance with three doors, the main one of which is usually hidden by a screen, as Tonkinese rites never allow one to see from the outside of a pagoda, or even from a mandarin's yamen, what is going on inside, forcing visitors to make a diversion to the right or left to enter.

b) The inner courtyard flanked on both sides by galleries in which the accessories for the ritual ceremonies are stored, where the villagers who go to the Dinh also stand and take shelter from the rain, cold or sun, and in which eight shopkeepers or craftsmen are also allowed to set up shop and present their products to the public under the same conditions as in the five compartments indicated above.

c) Finally, the main building, consisting of seven main bays 3 metres wide. In the central one is the altar of the genie, preceded by the offering table: this sanctuary is separated from the other bays by two rows of ritual weapons. There are no partitions in the Dinh. The roof is supported by imposing wooden columns 70 centimetres in diameter from which hang long lacquered panels with sentences in Chinese characters.

Regularly the Dinh should contain only ritual objects. However, as it is not uncommon in Tonkin for villages to use the Dinh, apart from ritual ceremonies and meetings of the Communal Council, to accommodate the schoolmaster who teaches there, or lacemakers who set up shop there with their looms, the Indochina Commissariat, in agreement with the Initiative and Patronage Committee, thought it would be regrettable to leave such a vast site empty.

It was therefore planned that the large Jacquard loom, which shows the method used by Tonkinese workers to weave silk well before our arrival, would be set up in the extreme right wing; that on each side of the central bay of the sanctuary reserved for the cult of the genie, a certain number of mannequins dressed in ceremonial clothes to be used during processions or ritual festivals of the village would be installed.

The middle bays of each wing remain free to allow the circulation of visitors going to the pavilion located behind the Dinh.

IV

A pavilion with three rooms has been built behind the common house.

a) The central room contains three paintings by the painter Inghinberty representing Tonkin under its clearly different aspects, the High Region inhabited by the mountain races, which, from the point of view of surface, represents 5/6 of the territory and the delta populated by the Annamites.

The third canvas shows the port of Haïphong.

Under the three canvases and on the fourth side of the room, which is covered by a large map, will be exhibited a certain number of ancient or modern art objects of a purely Tonkinese character, as it is understood that, in order to provide the necessary distance for the paintings to be displayed, the middle of the room will remain free and that the majority of the economic or artistic products of this Union country will find their place in the Central Palace of Indochina.

b) Two adjoining rooms in which six dioramas by the painter Virac are arranged, those in the right wing representing scenes from the Upper Region, those in the left wing views of the Delta.

To sum up, despite the need for the Commissariat de l'Indochine to restrict the importance of the "local" representation of Tonkin, for the reasons explained at the beginning of this note, the latter nevertheless remains an accurate reflection of the special characteristics of this region of the Far East, with the public's attention being drawn particularly, from the ethnographic point of view, to the distinction that must be made between the Delta and the Mountainous Region, from the economic point of view, on the indigenous crafts and family industries, and finally, from the administrative point of view, on the Annamite commune, the foundation of the whole organisation of this country, and on the building that each of them possesses, the Dinh, where public affairs are dealt with under the protection of the illustrious ancestors who were born there, and of the geniuses to whom the sacred cult must be rendered, such as to Confucius or to Buddha

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tonkin

Tonkin à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Sabrier

L’exposition locale du Tonkin, qui, tout d’abord, devait être synthétisée dans la reproduction d’un village annamite ou tout au moins de la rue principale et de la place d’un village, de façon à représenter exactement les caractéristiques spéciales à ce pays de l’Union Indochinoise, carrefour dans lequel on aurait pu voir à la fois le marché, les boutiques d’artisans et de petits commerçants, ainsi que le dinh ou maison commune, a dû, pour des raisons d’ordre budgétaire et aussi par suite du manque de place, subir d’importantes réductions.

Elle comprend donc simplement :

I

La porte du village annamite avec son mirador où se tient d’habitude le veilleur prêt à donner le signal d’alarme ou à annoncer l’arrivée d’étrangers en frappant sur un tam-tam.

II

Sur le côté droit, à défaut d’une rue complète, une rangée de cinq maisons tonkinoises avec boutiques ou ateliers d’artisans, bâtiments dans lesquels sont installés des Indigènes qui vendent des tissus de soie, de la dentelle, des objets en écaille, ivoire, cuivre, des incrustations, bijoux d’or ou d’argent, meubles sculptés ou laqués, principaux produits de l’artisanat et des industries familiales du Nord de l’Indochine.

III

Cette reproduction forcément réduite d’une rue commerçante d’un centre tonkinois une fois franchie, les visiteurs se trouvent en présence de la maison commune, du dinh où se réunissent les notables du village pour traiter les affaires communales et aussi pour célébrer les cérémonies rituelles en l’honneur des génies protecteurs de cette cellule administrative, base de l’organisation administrative du Pays.

Ce monument, séparé des maisons d’artisans, que l’on vient de quitter, par une pièce d’eau entourée de la murette ajourée faite de briques et de balustres en terre cuite vernissée que l’on retrouve sur tout le territoire tonkinois, est l’image très exacte du dinh de Dinh-Bang, un des villages les plus importants du Tonkin, situé dans le Phu de Tu-Son de la province de Bac-Ninh, berceau de la Dynastie des Ly.

Il comprend :

a) L’entrée à trois portes dont la principale est généralement masquée par un écran, les rites tonkinois ne permettent jamais de voir de l’extérieur d’une pagode, voire, même d’un yamen de mandarin, ce qui se passe à l’intérieur et obligeant les visiteurs à faire un détour à droite ou à gauche pour y pénétrer.

b) La cour intérieure flanquée de part et d’autre de galeries dans lesquelles sont remisés les accessoires des cérémonies rituelles, où se tiennent également et s’abritent de la pluie, du froid ou du soleil les villageois qui se rendent au Dinh et dans lesquelles sont autorisés à s’installer également huit boutiquiers ou artisans qui présentent leurs produits au public dans les mêmes conditions que dans les cinq compartiments indiqués plus haut.

c) Le bâtiment principal enfin, composé de sept travées principales de 3 mètres de largeur. Dans celle du centre est installé l’autel du génie, précédé de la table à offrandes : ce sanctuaire est séparé des autres travées par deux rangées d’armes rituelles. Aucune cloison n’existe dans le Dinh. La toiture est supportée par d’imposantes colonnes de bois de 70 centimètres de diamètre auxquelles sont suspendus de longs panneaux laqués avec sentences en caractères chinois.

Régulièrement le Dinh ne devrait contenir que les objets rituels. Toutefois, comme il n’est pas rare qu’au Tonkin même, les villages utilisent le Dinh, en dehors des cérémonies rituelles et des réunions du Conseil communal pour y installer le maître d’école qui y fait la classe, ou des denteliers ou dentelières qui s’y fixent avec leurs métiers, le Commissariat de l’Indochine, d’accord avec le Comité d’initiative et de Patronage, a pensé qu’il serait regrettable de laisser vide un si vaste emplacement.

Aussi a t-il été prévu que dans l’extrême aile droite serait monté le grand métier, système Jacquard qui montre la méthode employée, bien avant notre arrivée, par des ouvriers tonkinois pour le tissage de la soie; que de chaque côté de la travée centrale du sanctuaire réservée au culte du génie, sont installés un certain nombre de mannequins revêtus des vêtements de cérémonie devant être utilisés lors des processions ou des fêtes rituelles du village.

Les travées médianes de chaque aile restent libres pour permettre la circulation des visiteurs se rendant au pavillon situé derrière le Dinh.

IV

Il a été aménagé en effet en arrière de la maison commune un pavillon composé de trois pièces.

a) La pièce centrale contient trois toiles du peintre Inghinberty représentant le Tonkin sous ses aspects nettement différents, la Haute Région habitée par les races montagnardes, qui, au point de vue de la superficie, représente les 5/6 du territoire et le delta peuplé par les Annamites.

La troisième toile reproduit le port de Haïphong.

Sous les trois toiles et sur le quatrième côté de la pièce que recouvre une grande carte seront exposés un certain nombre d’objets d’art anciens ou modernes ayant un caractère purement tonkinois, car il est entendu que, pour ménager le recul nécessaire à la mise en valeur des peintures,de milieu de la pièce reste libre et que la majeure partie des produits économiques ou artistiques de ce Pays de l’Union trouvent leur place dans le Palais central de l’Indochine.

b) Deux salles annexes dans lesquelles sont aménagés six dioramas de l’artiste peintre Virac, ceux de l’aile droite représentant des scènes de la Haute Région, ceux de l’aile gauche des vues du Delta.

En résumé, malgré la nécessité devant laquelle s’est trouvé le Commissariat de l’Indochine pour les raisons exposées au début de cette note, de restreindre l’importance de la représentation “ locale du Tonkin ”, cette dernière n’en reste pas moins le reflet exact des caractéristiques spéciales de cette région d’Extrême Orient, l’attention du public étant attirée particulièrement, au point de vue ethnographique, sur la distinction qu’il convient à faire entre le Delta et la Région montagneuse, au point de vue économique sur l’artisanat indigène et les industries familiales, enfin au point de vue administratif sur la commune annamite, fondement de toute l’organisation de ce Pays, et sur l’édifice que chacune d’elles possède, le Dinh, où se traitent les affaires publiques sous la protection des ancêtres illustres qui y ont vu le jour, et des génies auxquels doit être rendu le culte sacré comme à Confucius ou à Bouddha.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931