International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Annam

Annam at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architect(s) : Craste et Blanche

The particular exhibition of Annam includes :

1° A decorative entrance portico (replacing the door which could not be executed) where a guard of honour in local costume (red and yellow) with arms and flags will be held;

2° A small square pavilion, a reduced reproduction of the Quôc-tu-Giam in Hué. This pavilion is dedicated to the Exhibition of the Court of Annam. It contains in the centre the statue of H.M. Khai-Dinh, a replica in gilded and patinated plaster of the work of the sculptor Ducuing which adorns the tomb of the Emperor in Hué, the busts of H.M. Bao-Daiet, of H.E. the Regent of the Empire; the portraits of their Majesties the Queen Mothers and those of the four ministers, columns of the Empire, works of Mme Boullard Devé,

In three large showcases are the costumes of the Emperor; the Court costume, the military costume and the religious costume, worn at the Triennial Ceremony of Nam-Giao, sacrifice of the Emperor to heaven. A court costume of the Empress is displayed in a special showcase. In the other two large display cases are the costumes of the great court dignitaries.

These sumptuous costumes, though of a discreet richness like all that is purely Annamese, are an absolutely faithful reproduction of the costumes of the Imperial Palace. In order to avoid the reproduction of Their Majesties' features in mannequins, they are presented on special red and gold lacquered dress racks.

Two mannequins are dressed in the costumes of the Palace's junior officers.

At the entrance a low altar in red and gold lacquer supports a perfume burner and two candelabras in classical style.
Two screens of photographs on glass show visitors the ceremonies, grand lais, nam-giao, etc., during which the costumes on display are worn.

3° A large rectangular pavilion, an exact reproduction of one of the main Thai-Miêu temples in the Imperial Palace of Hué.

On entering this pavilion, visitors will find on the right a large diorama - 12.5 metres long - representing a continuous panorama of the main sites of the "Mandarin Road" as it crosses Annam from south to north (Phanthiet, Dalat, Nhatrang, Varella, Quinhon, Tourane, the Marble Mountains, the Pass of the Clouds, Hué, the Perfume River, the Imperial Tombs, the Thanhoa) This diorama was made in Annam by the painter Henri Dabadie. A "talking map" allows the exact location of the sites and monuments reproduced in the diorama.

In the centre, a circular diorama presents the interior of two Annamese houses, that of a carpenter and sculptor, and that of a retired mandarin or a wealthy bourgeois, with the reception room and the ancestor's altar. These houses are surrounded by their courtyards and gardens with a street end, a well and a genie tree with votive altar.

Thirty-five 1 metre high figures, the work of the sculptor Hiérholtz, enliven this diorama.

Costumes, furniture, jewellery, accessories of all kinds were made in Hué itself, to the scale of the characters.

On the left, three other dioramas treated with exactly the same processes present the three other races of Annam; Chams, Moïs, Muongs:
Chams: a courtyard of a house on the roadside leading to ancient towers;
Mois: interior of a hut;
Muongs: wedding procession in the mountain.

Finally, two showcases, placed on two Hue chests, copies of ancient ones, inlaid with ivory, contain samples of the most characteristic small objects of local manufacture, fans, ivories, carved bamboo, embroidery, precious wooden boxes, Mois statuettes, etc.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Annam

Annam à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Craste et Blanche

L’exposition particulière de l’Annam comprend :

1° Un portique décoratif d’entrée (remplaçant la porte qui n’a pu être exécutée) où se tiendra une garde d’honneur en costume local (rouge et jaune) avec des armes et des drapeaux;

2° Un petit pavillon carré, reproduction réduite du Quôc-tu-Giam à Hué. Ce pavillon est consacré à l’Exposition de la Cour d’Annam. Il contient au centre la statue de S. M. Khai-Dinh, réplique en plâtre doré et patiné de l’œuvre du sculpteur Ducuing qui orne le tombeau de l’Empereur à Hué, les bustes de S. M. Bao-Daiet, de S. E. le Régent de l’Empire; les portraits de leurs Majestés les Reines Mères et ceux des quatre ministres, colonnes de l’Empire, œuvres de Mme Boullard Devé,

Dans trois grandes vitrines sont présentes les costumes de l’Empereur; le costume de Cour, le costume militaire et le costume religieux, porté à la Cérémonie Triennale du Nam-Giao, sacrifice de l’Empereur au ciel. Un costume de Cour de l’Impératrice est exposé dans une vitrine spéciale. Dans les deux autres grandes vitrines se trouvent les costumes des grands dignitaires de la Cour.

Ces costumes somptueux, mais d’une richesse cependant discrète comme tout ce qui est purement annamite d’Annam, sont la reproduction absolument fidèle des costumes du Palais Impérial. Ils sont présentés, afin d’éviter la reproduction en mannequins des traits de Leurs Majestés, sur des porte-habits spéciaux en laque rouge et or.

Deux mannequins sont revêtus des costumes des officiers subalternes du Palais.

A l’entrée un autel bas, en laque rouge et or supporte un brûle parfum et deux candélabres de style classique.
Deux écrans de photographies sur verre montrent aux visiteurs les cérémonies, grands lais, nam-giao, etc., au cours desquelles les costumes exposés sont portés.

3° Un grand pavillon rectangulaire, reproduction exacte de l’un des principaux temples du Thai-Miêu au Palais Impérial de Hué.

En entrant dans ce pavillon les visiteurs trouvent à droite un grand diorama — 12 m. 50 de longueur — représentant en un panorama continu les principaux sites de la “ Route Mandarine ” dans sa traversée de l’Annam du Sud au Nord (Phanthiêt, Dalat, Nhatrang, le Varella, Quinhon, Tourane, les Montagnes de marbre, le col des Nuages, Hué, la rivière des parfums, les Tombeaux impériaux, le Thanhoa). Ce diorama exécuté en Annam est l’œuvre du peintre Henri Dabadie. Une “ carte parlante ” permet de localiser exactement les sites et monuments reproduits dans le diorama.

Au centre, un diorama circulaire présente l’intérieur de deux maisons annamites, celle d’un artisan menuisier, sculpteur, et celle d’un mandarin retraité ou d’un bourgeois aisé, avec la salle de réception et l’autel des ancêtres. Ces maisons sont entourées de leurs cours et jardinets avec un bout de rue, un puits et un arbre génie avec autel votif.

Trente-cinq personnages de 1 mètre de hauteur, œuvres du sculpteur Hiérholtz, animent ce diorama.

Costumes, meubles, bijoux, accessoires de toutes sortes ont été exécutés à Hué même, à l’échelle des personnages.

A gauche, trois autres dioramas traités exactement avec les mêmes procédés présentent les trois autres races de l’Annam; Chams, Moïs, Muongs :
Chams : une cour de maison au bord de la route conduisant à des tours antiques;
Mois : intérieur d’une case;
Muongs : cortège de mariage dans la montagne.

Enfin, deux vitrines, placées sur deux bahuts de Hué, copie d’ancien, incrustées d’ivoire, contiennent des échantillons de petits objets de fabrication locale les plus caractéristiques, éventails, ivoires, bambous sculptés, broderies, boîtes en bois précieux, statuettes Mois, etc.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931