International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Cambodia

Cambodia at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© Boldo

Architect(s) : Charles et Gabriel Blanche

Since the Palace of the General Government of Indochina is a reproduction of an Angkor temple, i.e. an example of the ancient architecture of Cambodia, it seemed interesting to show for the first time in Europe what the architecture of these countries is today. The local Cambodian pavilion is therefore located to the right of the triumphal causeway that leads to the great ancient temple. In this way, the visitor, in a single glance, embraces eight centuries of Khmer architectural evolution.

Under Western influence, Cambodia has lost many of its traditions and ancient aspects. But it still shows great attachment to its monasteries. This state of affairs dictated the programme of the organisers and led them to divide the Local Pavilion into three distinct parts, each with a different appearance, in order to sustain the visitor's attention. One of the three galleries presents social, tourist and technical Cambodia; the second, religious Cambodia; and the third, contemporary arts.

In the central part of the building, a religious ceremony takes place. There, in the very atmosphere of a sanctuary, its architecture, its furniture, its half-light, its incense fumes, the praying bonzes (about fifty faithful) are gathered and the offerings offered by them to the Buddha who dominates, under his flowery pendants, his pious meetings. The visitor circulates there, finds himself mixed in, and so that his illusion of reality is complete, he will see through the open windows, dioramas which reproduce landscapes of the country just as if this spectator were in Cambodia in the same conditions. He thus comes into contact with people of all ages, costumes, attitudes, fruits, etc., brought together coherently and, at the same time, in the atmosphere that best characterizes the kingdom and differentiates it from the other countries of Indochina.

The other galleries of the Pavilion play an entirely different role. They contain the objects and productions peculiar to Cambodia, presented exclusively for themselves, their forms and their nature, in the greatest simplicity and that clearness of distribution which has become customary in present-day exhibitions. First of all the visitor sees, isolated in the crucial part of the building and presented on a carved bed, copies of the "Prah Khan", the sacred sword, the palladium of the kingdom and of the various headdresses, a sign of Khmer royalty. These objects were made to the exact dimensions and in the same materials as the originals by the royal craftsmen and the staff of the Phnom Penh School of Arts.

With the help of a diorama, the visitor takes part in the water festival, the country's capital ceremony, which takes place in a grandiose setting. The Cambodian family is housed in a life-size straw hut, where a native couple and their children take care of the household. Further on, mannequins give details of local costumes (mandarins, dancers, Khas savages, etc.). Vehicles, reproduced to a rigorous scale and in the most precise detail, stand alongside musical instruments, weapons, fishing gear and tools, mats and fabrics. Finally, paintings show the main types of indigenous people and the silhouettes of the Cambodian farmer and the Cambodian fisherman. A large picturesque map of the country, photographs, plans and various documents complete this information collected by Mr. Poiret, local delegate of Cambodia at the Exhibition.

The artistic gallery, symmetrical to the previous one, is entirely furnished with the works of Cambodian craftsmen grouped into corporations under the control of the protectorate. This organisation is currently unique in our colonies. Vast showcases contain the innumerable objects of art, silver, tortoiseshell and horn, of which Cambodian goldsmiths are so rich. A series of panels carved in precious woods and a piece of furniture giving an example of their use, synthesise the arts of wood. Silk fabrics, already known as "Sampot" and dyed scarves, are displayed on a panel more than 10 metres long and 3 metres high, just as they come out of the indigenous looms, while further on the visitor can see how they can be used in Europe.

Finally, other showcases present bronzes and illuminations on canvas.

Finally, other display cases show bronzes and illuminations on canvas.

In order to demonstrate that the works of art exhibited are common among the people and that they have not been made especially for the Exhibition by selected workshops, an immediate sale and order office will be available to amateurs.

Finally, under a colonnade, goldsmiths, weavers and dyers, founders, illuminators and sculptors perform their meticulous work with traditional tools before the eyes of the public.

The design of the Cambodian Pavilion was drawn up in accordance with indigenous architectural formulas by Groslier, director of Cambodian Arts, who was also entrusted with the restoration of the religious ceremony and the artistic exhibition of the Pavilion.

The three massive wooden doors and the entrance portico were sculpted by the craftsmen of the Phnom Penh School of Arts. Auberlet took great care in the construction of the staff part of the building. In other words, it was impossible to obtain, in a work of this kind, a more intimate Franco-Cambodian collaboration that was more concerned with achieving the desired goal.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Cambodge

Cambodge à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© Boldo

Architecte(s) : Charles et Gabriel Blanche

Le Palais du Gouvernement général de l’Indochine donnant une reproduction d’un temple d’Angkor, c’est-à-dire un exemple de l’architecture ancienne du Cambodge, il a paru intéressant de montrer pour la première fois en Europe ce qu’était l’architecture actuelle de ces pays. Le Pavillon local du Cambodge se présente donc, à droite de la chaussée triomphale qui accède au grand temple ancien. Ainsi le visiteur, d’un seul coup d’œil, embrasse huit siècles d’évolution architecturale Khmère.

Sous l’influence occidentale, le Cambodge perd beaucoup de ses traditions et de ses anciens aspects. Mais il se montre encore très attaché à ses monastères. Cet état de choses dicta le programme des organisateurs et les conduisit à diviser le Pavillon local en trois parties bien distinctes, d’aspect tout différent, afin de soutenir l’attention du visiteur. Une des trois galeries présente le Cambodge social, touristique et technique; la seconde, le Cambodge religieux, et la troisième les arts contemporains.

Dans la partie centrale de l’édifice, se déroule une cérémonie religieuse. Là, dans l’atmosphère même d’un sanctuaire, son architecture, son mobilier, sa pénombre, ses vapeurs d’encens, on réunit des bonzes en prière, (une cinquantaine de fidèles) et les offrandes offertes par eux au bouddha qui domine, sous ses pendentifs fleuris, ses pieuses réunions. Le visiteur y circule, s’y trouve mêlé, et pour que son illusion de la réalité soit complète, il verra par les fenêtres ouvertes, des dioramas qui reproduisent des paysages du pays tout comme si ce spectateur se trouvait au Cambodge dans les mêmes conditions. Il prend ainsi contact avec des types de tous âges, des costumes, des attitudes, des fruits, etc., rassemblés avec cohérence, et, à la fois, dans l’ambiance qui caractérise le mieux le royaume et le différencie le plus des autres pays de l’Indochine.

Les autres galeries du Pavillon jouent un rôle entièrement différent. Elles contiennent les objets et les productions particulières au Cambodge, présentés exclusivement pour eux-mêmes, leurs formes et leur nature, dans la plus grande simplicité et cette netteté de répartition devenue d’usage dans les expositions actuelles. Tout d’abord le visiteur voit, isolées dans la partie cruciale de l’édifice et présentées sur un lit sculpté, des copies du “ Prah Khan ”, le sabre sacré, palladium du royaume et des différentes coiffures, un signe de la royauté Khmère. Ces objets ont été exécutés aux dimensions exactes et dans les mêmes matières que les originaux par les artisans royaux et le personnel de l’école des Arts de Phnom-Penh.

A l’aide d’un diorama, le visiteur prend part à la fête des eaux, la cérémonie capitale du pays qui se déroule dans un cadre grandiose. Le Cambodge familial tient dans une case en paillote, grandeur réelle, ou un couple d’indigènes et leurs enfants se livrent aux soins du foyer. Plus loin, des mannequins donnent les détails des costume, locaux (mandarins, danseuses, sauvages Khas, etc.). Les véhicules reproduits à une échelle rigoureuse et dans leurs détails les plus précis, voisinent avec les instruments de musique, les armes, les engins de pêche et les outils, les nattes et les tissus. Enfin des peintures réunissent les principaux types d’indigènes et les silhouettes du Cambodgien agriculteur et du Cambodgien pêcheur. Une vaste carte pittoresque du pays, des photographies, des plans et des documents divers complètent cette information recueillie par M. Poiret, délégué local du Cambodge à l’Exposition.

La galerie artistique, symétrique de la précédente, est entièrement garnie par les œuvres des artisans du Cambodge groupés en corporation sous le contrôle du protectorat. Cette organisation est actuellement unique dans nos colonies. De vastes vitrines contiennent les innombrables objets d’art, d’argent, d’écaille et de corne, dont l’orfèvrerie cambodgienne est si riche. Une suite de panneaux sculptés dans des bois précieux et un meuble donnant l’exemple de leur utilisation, synthétisent les arts du bois. Les soieries, déjà connues sous le nom de “ Sampot ” et des écharpes teintes, sont déployées sur un panneau de plus de 10 mètres de longueur sur 3 de hauteur, telles qu’elles sortent des métiers indigènes, cependant que plus loin le visiteur voit le parti qu’on en peut tirer en Europe.

Enfin d’autres vitrines présentent des bronzes et des enluminures sur toiles.

Afin de démontrer que les œuvres d’art exposées sont courantes dans le peuple et qu’elles n’ont pas été exécutées spécialement pour l’Exposition par des ateliers sélectionnés, un office de vente immédiate et de commandes les tiendra à la disposition des amateurs.

Enfin, sous une colonnade, des orfèvres, des tisseuses et des teinturières, des fondeurs, des enlumineurs et des sculpteurs exécutent avec l’outillage traditionnel, leur minutieux travail sous les yeux du public.

Le projet du Pavillon du Cambodge a été établi conformément aux formules architecturales indigènes, par Groslier, directeur des Arts Cambodgiens à qui a été confié, en outre, la restitution de la cérémonie religieuse et l’exposition artistique du Pavillon.

Les trois portes en bois massifs et le portique d’entrée ont été sculptés par les artisans de l’Ecole des Arts de Phnom-Penh. La maison Auberlet a établi avec un soin extrême toute la partie en staff de l’édifice. C’est-à-dire qu’il était impossible d’obtenir, dans une œuvre de ce genre, une collaboration franco-cambodgienne plus intime et plus soucieuse de parvenir au but cherché.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931