International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Laos

Laos at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architect(s) : Charles et Gabriel Blanche

The Laos Section at the Colonial Exhibition appears to the public under the aspect of a religious group around which are scattered, according to the Laotian custom, several indigenous dwellings in which evolve daily under the eyes of the visitors, craftsmen, musicians, singers who thus give an extremely picturesque note to this exhibition whose essential goal is to evoke the indigenous life in its various manifestations.

The religious group alone, which has been very happily created, cannot fail to attract the attentive admiration of all those who are attracted by the charm of the old temples of the Far East, so full of grace and mystery at the same time.

The one that has been built is precisely the replica of one of the oldest pagodas of Luangprabang, the Wat Xiengthong, whose graceful and original architecture is a charm for the eyes. Religious frescoes adorn the peristyle.

Inside the sanctuary, visitors can admire beautiful Buddha statues of various sizes, precious religious objects and see Lao monks practicing the religious rites of their country.

Close to the temple, the public will be struck by a small pavilion unique in its kind by the very originality of its architecture: it is the reproduction of the Religious Library of Sisaket (Vientisne) where the manuscripts and holy books of the main temple of the capital of Laos are kept.

Next to the library and a little behind the pagoda, a chapel is built where the monks go to meditate.

Finally, on the north side of the section, visitors pass under a very curious door in the purest neo-Burmese style which gives access to the religious group.

This lively evocation of a village, with its pagoda, its monks still intimately involved in the life of the natives, its craftsmen, is not the only attraction of the Laos section.

In the same enclosure, there is an exhibition pavilion, built in the Laotian style, where curious jewellery, fabrics and Laotian silks in shimmering and rare colours are exhibited, which will delight the visitors.

In this same room, paintings made in Laos by Mrs. de Fautereau are exhibited. She has taken various scenes of native life, which will be very useful to complete the visitors' documentation on Laos.

Thus composed, on the edge of Lake Daumesnil, which adds to its picturesqueness and charm, the Laos section of the Exhibition will not only be an object of legitimate curiosity for the public, but also an education.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Laos

Laos à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Charles et Gabriel Blanche

La Section du Laos à l’Exposition Coloniale apparaît au public sous l’aspect d’un groupe religieux autour duquel sont disséminées, suivant la coutume laotienne, plusieurs habitations indigènes dans lesquelles évoluent quotidiennement sous les yeux des visiteurs, des artisans, des musiciens, des chanteurs qui donnent ainsi une note extrêmement pittoresque à cette exposition dont le but essentiel est d’évoquer la vie indigène dans ses différentes manifestations.

A lui seul déjà le groupe religieux, très heureusement réalisé, ne pourra manquer de retenir l’attentive admiration de tous ceux qu’attire le charme des vieux temples d’Extrême-Orient si pleins de grâce et de mystère à la fois.

Celui qui a été édifié est précisément la réplique d’une des plus vieilles pagodes de Luangprabang, le Vat Xiengthong, dont l’architecture gracieuse et originale est un charme pour les yeux. Des fresques religieuses en ornent le péristyle.

A l’intérieur du sanctuaire, les visiteurs peuvent admirer de très belles statues de Bouddha, de plusieurs tailles, de précieux objets du culte et voir des bonzes laotiens pratiquer les rites religieux de leur pays.

Tout près du temple, le public sera frappé par un petit pavillon unique en son genre par l’originalité même de son architecture : c’est la reproduction de la Bibliothèque religieuse de Sisaket (Vientisne) où sont conservés les manuscrits et livres saints du principal temple de la capitale du Laos.

A côté de la bibliothèque et un peu en arrière de la pagode, est édifié une chapelle où vont se recueillir les bonzes, pendant leurs méditations.

Enfin sur le côté Nord de la section, les visiteurs passent sous une porte très curieuse qui est de plus pur style néo-birman et qui donne accès au groupe religieux.

Cette évocation vivante d’un village, avec sa pagode, ses bonzes toujours intimement mêlés à la vie des indigènes, ses artisans, ne constitue pas le seul attrait de la section du Laos.

Dans la même enceinte, en effet, s’élève un pavillon d’exposition proprement dit, construit dans le style laotien, où sont exposés notamment des bijoux curieux, des étoffes et des soieries laotiennes aux couleurs chatoyantes et rares qui raviront d’aise les visiteurs.

Dans cette même salle sont exposés des tableaux peints au Laos par Mme de Fautereau qui a pris sur le vif différentes scènes de la vie indigène dont l’examen complétera très heureusement la documentation des visiteurs sur le Laos.

Ainsi composés, en bordure du lac Daumesnil qui en accroît le pittoresque et le charme, la section du Laos à l’Exposition ne sera pas seulement pour le public l’objet d’une légitime curiosité, mais un enseignement.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931