International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Cochinchina

Cochinchina at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architect(s) : Sabrier

Cochinchina is essentially an agricultural country, one of the world's leading suppliers of rice, and particularly favourable to other crops, such as rubber, which develop favourably there. Its indigenous population, in contact with France for 70 years, is the most evolved of those of Indochina; finally, the uniformly flat soil of this country offers little in the way of pictures. In short, Cochinchina offers the visitor to the Colonial Exhibition little interest from the point of view of exoticism and local colour; on the other hand, it is the richest country in the Indochinese Union, in the process of rapid economic and social development.

The Cochinchina pavilion therefore presents the physiognomy of this country as it has just been summarily sketched. Its exterior symbolises a modern country that is moving closer to the West, whose architectural style it has adopted, while reminders of Asian architecture evoke its geographical location and its past.

The pavilion essentially consists of a large hall at the entrance from which one enters a vast lounge or rotunda decorated with a ceramic fountain from the Bienhoa School of Art. This room is dedicated to the evocation of the French effort in Cochinchina, which is symbolised by a large painted tryptic, whose execution was entrusted to the Devambez company, and whose three panels evoke the three main terms of this effort: assisting, educating, enriching the native. On the wall of this room, large maps of Cochinchina treated in bright colours, give the public the indication of the land and river communication routes and the distribution of the main crops. These maps are completed, at the entrance of the pavilion, by a large talking map on which are represented by appropriate images the main crops, industries, characteristics of the fauna, of the population, the various modes of activity of Cochinchina.

On each side of this exhibition, two vast rooms are specially devoted to the major crops of the colony: rice and rubber and to the main cities and centres of Cochinchina. The cities of Saigon and Cholon in particular are shown in the form of maps, photographs and plans, showing their particular physiognomy and the efforts made in the field of colonial town planning.

The entire back of the pavilion is occupied by four large dioramas which evoke the most characteristic aspects of Cochinchina and which are devoted to: rice growing, hevea growing, urban life (Tan Dihn market in Saigon), and indigenous rural life (arroyo under the palms, a typical Cochinchin landscape).

But the traditional aspects of indigenous life are not forgotten. It is represented in its two main aspects: religious life evoked by beautiful lacquered and gilded wooden altars, the work of former students of the Thudaumot art school. There are three such altars: the altar of the ancestors, i.e. the family altar with its tablets recounting the merits of the deceased, always present in the memory of their descendants; the altar of the communal genius, dedicated to the glory of a great man who became the protector of the village, this is the one that appears in the communal pagoda; and finally, the Buddhist altar, which is, strictly speaking, the religious or cultic altar for the followers of the Buddhist religion.

Rural life is recalled, on the one hand, by a reduction of a common house where we see the meeting room of the council of notables with this council in session, the notables being arranged in order of precedence, the big notables on the cot in front of the cup of tea and the chewing set, the small notables being modestly seated under their superiors, all of which is represented by finely treated figurines. On the other hand, a reproduction of an Annamite interior presents a modestly situated Annamite peasant's house. All the Annamite furniture has been meticulously reproduced on a reduced scale, this work having been carried out by the pupils of an Annamite primary school.

Numerous documents: maps, graphics or objects, especially a collection of models of Annamite river or sea boats, complete this local exhibition, as well as reduced or life-size mannequins reproducing the types of the indigenous population.

Finally, the Cochinchine Local Exhibition is completed by a demonstration which can have very happy consequences for the production and trade of rice, the main source of wealth for Cochinchine. In a pavilion adjoining the Cochinchina pavilion, an electric husking plant is operating, under the eyes of the public, which mills Cochinchine rice: this rice is sold to the public in small packages artistically presented.

Finally, the local pavilion presents numerous objects from the indigenous art schools of Cochinchina: Bienhoa ceramics, Thudaumot wood carvings, Gisdihn decorative panels, and a fine collection of furniture condensing the efforts of these three schools.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Cochinchine

Cochinchine à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Sabrier

La Cochinchine est essentiellement un pays agricole, l’un des premiers fournisseurs de riz du monde entier, particulièrement propice en outre à d’autres cultures, telles que le caoutchouc, qui s’y développent favorablement. Sa population indigène, en contact avec la France depuis 70 ans est la plus évoluée de celles de l’Indochine; enfin le sol uniformément plat de ce pays offre peu de pittoresque. En définitive, la Cochinchine offre au visiteur de l’Exposition Coloniale assez peu d’intérêt au point de vue exotisme et couleur locale; par contre elle constitue le plus riche pays de l’Union Indochinoise, en voie de développement économique et social rapide.

Le pavillon de la Cochinchine présente donc la physionomie de ce pays telle qu’elle vient d’être sommairement esquissée. Par son aspect extérieur, il symbolise un pays moderne se rapprochant des contrées de l’Occident dont il a adopté le style architectural, des rappels d’architecture asiatique évoquent sa situation géographique et son passé.

Le pavillon comporte essentiellement un grand hall à l’entrée d’où l’on pénètre dans un vaste salon ou rotonde orné d’une fontaine en céramique de l’école d’art de Bienhoa. Ce salon est consacré à l’évocation de l’effort français en Cochinchine, qui est symbolisé par un grand tryptique peint, dont l’exécution a été confiée à la maison Devambez, et dont les trois panneaux évoquent les trois termes principaux de cet effort : assister, instruire, enrichir l’indigène. Au mur de ce salon, de grandes cartes de la Cochinchine traitées en couleurs vives, donnent au public l’indication des voies de communication terrestres et fluviales et la répartition des principales cultures. Ces cartes ont complétées, à l’entrée du pavillon, par une grande carte parlante sur laquelle sont représentées par des images appropriées les principales cultures, industries, caractéristiques de la faune, de la population, les divers modes d’activité de la Cochinchine.

De chaque côté de ce salon, deux vastes salles sont spécialement consacrées aux grandes cultures de la colonie : riz et caoutchouc et aux villes et centres principaux de la Cochinchine. Les villes de Saigon et de Cholon notamment y figurent sous forme de cartes, de photographies, de plans, montrant leur physionomie particulière et les efforts poursuivis en matière d’urbanisme colonial.

Tout le fond du pavillon est occupé par quatre grands dioramas qui évoquent les aspects les plus caractéristiques de la Cochinchine et qui sont consacrés : à la riziculture, à l’hevea-culture, à la vie urbaine (marché de Tan Dihn à Saigon), à la vie rurale indigène (arroyo sous les palmes, paysage type de la Cochinchine).

Mais la vie indigène sous ses aspects traditionnels n’est pas oubliée. Elle est représentée sous ses deux aspects principaux : la vie religieuse évoquée par de beaux autels en bois laqué et doré, œuvre des anciens élèves de l’école d’art de Thudaumot. Ces autels sont au nombre de trois : l’autel des ancêtres, c’est-à-dire l’autel familial avec ses tablettes retraçant les mérites des disparus toujours présents dans le souvenir de leurs descendants, l’autel du génie communal consacré à la gloire d’un grand homme devenu le protecteur du village, c’est celui qui figure dans la pagode communale; enfin l’autel gouddhique qui est à proprement parler l’autel religieux ou cultuel pour les fidèles de la religion bouddhique.

La vie rurale est rappelée, d’une part, par une réduction de maison commune où l’on voit la salle de réunion du conseil des notables avec ce conseil en séance, les notables étant rangés par ordre de préséance, les grands notables sur le lit de camp devant la tasse de thé et le service à chiquer, les petits notables étant modestement assis sous leurs supérieurs, le tout est représenté par des figurines finement traitées. D’autre part, une reproduction d’intérieur annamite présente une maison de paysan annamite, de situation modeste. Tout le mobilier annamite a été reproduit avec minutie à une échelle réduite, ce travail a été exécuté par les élèves d’une école primaire annamite.

De nombreux documents : cartes, graphiques ou objets, spécialement une collection de modèles de barque annamites de fleuve ou de mer, complètent cette exposition locale, ainsi que des mannequins en réduction ou grandeur nature reproduisent les types de la population indigène.

Enfin l’Exposition locale de la Cochinchine est complétée par une démonstration qui peut avoir de très heureuses conséquences pour la production et le commerce du riz, source principale de richesse pour la Cochinchine. Dans un pavillon, adossé à celui de la Cochinchine, fonctionne, sous les yeux du public, une décortiquerie électrique qui usine sous les yeux des visiteurs, du riz de Cochinchine : ce riz est vendu au public en petits paquets artistiquement présentés.

Signalons pour terminer que le pavillon local présente de nombreux objets sortant des écoles d’art indigène de Cochinchine : céramiques de Bienhoa, bois sculptés de Thudaumot, panneaux décoratifs de Gisdihn, et un bel ensemble mobilier condensant l’effort de ces trois écoles.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931