International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Indochina - Angkor-Vat Temple

Indochina - Angkor-Vat Temple at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architect(s) : Charles et Gabriel Blanche

At the end of a long paved roadway stands one of the marvels of the Exhibition: the reproduction of the central mass of the Angkor-Vat temple, with its vertical staircases, its galleries arranged like cloisters, its four corner towers and its central dome.

It is a true masterpiece of Khrnère architecture, which the great artists who are the architects of the Palace, Mr Charles and Mr Gabriel Blanche, father and son, have faithfully reproduced.

Five domes crowned with serrated tiaras rise into the sky at 50 and 60 metres.

Above a square base measuring 70 metres on each side and 14 metres high, subdivided internally into two floors, rooms and galleries enclose four spacious and cool inner courtyards and the sacred sanctuary that houses the main dome.

Outside, a 120-metre-long enclosure gallery, flanked by towers, opens in the middle, in line with the Great Staircase - the staircase leading to the temple sanctuary - and the esplanade. The proportions and decorative details of the building have been reconstructed with absolute accuracy by means of on-site surveys.

No other monument expresses more harmony and thought at the same time. None is more appropriate, by the majesty of its lines and perspectives, by the grace of its lacework, its fine columns, its elaborate friezes, to our aim of symbolising in the grandeur of its past, the prestige of our Far Eastern land. A poem of stone, an ideal of pure spirituality where the aspirations of Asia and the symbolism of all oriental cults are penetrated and reconciled.

In this enclosure and under these vaults, the General Government of Indochina wanted to glorify the French policy of labour and concord associating to its ends the races it protects and which collaborate with it in the common work.

The interior of the palace is appropriate to its purpose, with spacious corridors and twenty-three rooms bathed in air and light, where the eye first grasps the layout before stopping to consider the details. The visitor is presented with the most complete and striking inventory of the economic activity and collective life of the five EU countries.

On the ground floor, covering an area of 5,000 square metres, including its annexes, the Economic Exhibition presents all the signs of agricultural, commercial and industrial prosperity. The main resources of the soil and subsoil are judiciously selected and methodically distributed, in their raw and manufactured state.

The grouping is presented with the constant concern to bring together production and exploitation, the raw material and the processes that use or transform it, the individual efforts and the mechanism of the administrative machinery that has the task of helping them to improve their technique and performance.

The products, as well as the industries, are distributed by sections, groups and classes. Food crops: rice, oilseeds, starches, fruit, sugar cane, tea, coffee, industrial crops: cotton, castor, silk, paper fibres, textiles, rubber, shellac.

Large stands are reserved for large companies and professional groups. European and indigenous firms demonstrate their vitality.

The general services, public works, merchant navy, public transport, aviation, present an overall picture of the major works carried out or simply planned for the development of commercial ports, the protection and fertilisation of the countryside, the development of equipment, its means of transport and communication.

The building is subdivided internally into two floors, which an ingenious device of glass blocks, linked together by an invisible concrete net and forming a luminous vault, illuminates, like an immense glass roof, without any opening being made in the base. The upper floor supports a set of porticoes, galleries and pavilions enclosing four interior courtyards and, at the intersection of two large bays, under the main dome, the chapter house, corresponding to the Temple sanctuary.

The rooms on the first floor group the manifestations of the social and intellectual activity of the colony. It is precisely the honour of our country to have applied the most attentive and enlightened solicitude to the study and solution of the social problems which arise in Indochina.

Protection of children, the elderly and the incurable, organisation of clinics, hospitals, dispensaries and maternity wards, Pasteur institutes and laboratories, medical inspection of building sites and plantations, control of the workforce, measures taken to clean up the towns and improve the physiological conditions of the indigenous habitat. All the evidence is accumulating of our humane and beneficial action in the field of health.

The reproduction of the temple of Angkor surrounded by the different pavilions of the five countries of the Union seems to be the moving symbol of this tutelary role of France in Indochina. With majesty, with grace, the Angkor Pagoda is there at the centre of the Exhibition as if to testify to the world that French peace in the Far East is not an empty word: France honours the past and respects customs while improving the conditions of the general economy.

The services of Public Instruction offer a complete and methodical picture of the educational policy of France in Indochina: higher education, secondary education, Franco-Indigenous education, higher primary education, primary and elementary education, village schools, professional and technical schools. We educate four hundred thousand children.

The great scientific institutions1! assembled the results of their work. The French School of the Far East, in particular, exhibited its magnificent publications and a few museum pieces and archaeological leaves. Do we know that it is to the latter that Indochina owes the discovery of the incomparable relics of its past, dug out of the ground, torn from the forest. All manifestations of intellectual and artistic activity are welcomed in Vincennes, whether they come from official institutions or private groups.

The best productions of local French art and indigenous arts adorn the salons with an appeal that is both retrospective and modern. Salons of French artists from Indochina, painters, engravers, sculptors, architects, decorators. Salons of indigenous art where our young school of Fine Arts in Hanoi and the schools of applied art in Tonkin, Cambodia and Cochinchina exhibit their most beautiful creations: furniture, bronzes, ceramics, inlays and lacquers, goldsmiths' wares, fashioned silks, paintings, engravings and drawings, in which the original style of the race and of the country is reflected while adapting to new needs. This flowering illustrates the inspiration drawn by our own artists from the Far Eastern sky and the artistic impulse that they communicate to those around them, the rebirth of a national classicism whose traditions had degenerated.

The rooms and galleries on the upper floor of the Central Palace evoke the history of Indochina through the ages, from ancient civilisations to modern times. The colony's archives offer us original or reproduced documents, portraits, prints, engravings, maps, which recall the great memories of the past. The mountain races come alive before our eyes with their ethnic types, specimens of their tools, their costumes, their art.

Since May 6, 1931, millions of visitors, French and foreign, have climbed the steps of the temple that the Kmers have erected in honor of the god Vichnu. However, if the public admires without reserve the work carried out, it is generally unaware of the patient efforts which led to this marvellous reconstitution.

Without going into dry technical details, let us say that Mr Charles and Mr Gabriel Blanche devoted six years of patient work to the reconstruction of the Angkor Temple. Their task required a great deal of difficult preparatory work and, in particular, the gathering of considerable documentation.

Let us add in passing that the architects of Angkor are also the authors of the causeway leading to the monument as well as several pavilions that make up the Indochinese section and which, although very diverse, give the entire section a harmonious whole.
Mr Gabriel Blanche was asked by his father to go to Cambodia to get his documentation from the source. He brought back archaeological surveys and watercolours which enabled him to give the replica of the Temple built in Vincennes this patina which seems to be thousands of years old, so much so that it reproduces the exact tones of the original monument.

The total volume of the mass constituted by the Temple and its annexes is, more or less, that of the Sacré-Coeur of Montmartre.
The reconstitution of the Angkor-Vat Temple in Vincennes cost 12 million 400,000 francs, a relatively modest sum in view of the scale of the work carried out.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Indochine - Temple d'Angkor-Vat

Indochine - Temple d'Angkor-Vat à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© G. L. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Charles et Gabriel Blanche

A l’extrémité d’une longue chaussée dallée se dresse une des merveilles de l’Exposition : la reproduction du massif central du temple d’Angkor-Vat, avec ses escaliers verticaux, ses galeries disposées en cloîtres, ses quatre tours d’angle et son dôme central.

C’est un véritable chef-d’œuvre de l’architecture Khrnère, qu’ont pieusement et fidèlement reproduit les grands artistes qui sont les architectes du Palais, MM. Charles et Gabriel Blanche, le père et le fils.

Cinq coupoles couronnées de tiares dentelées s’élancent dans le ciel à 50 et 60 mètres.

Au-dessus d’un soubassement carré de 70 mètres de côté et de 14 mètres de haut, subdivisé intérieurement en deux étages, des salles et des galeries enchâssent quatre cours intérieures, spacieuses et fraîches, et le sanctuaire sacré qu’abrite le dôme principal.

A l’extérieur, une galerie d’enceinte de 120 mètres de côté, flanquée de tours, s’ouvre en son milieu, dans l’axe de l’escalier d’honneur — escalier qui conduit au sanctuaire du temple — et de l’esplanade. Des relevés opérés sur place ont permis de reconstituer avec une exactitude absolue les proportions et les détails décoratifs de l’édifice.

Aucun monument ne traduit à la fois plus d’harmonie et de pensée. Aucun ne convient mieux, par la majesté de ses lignes et de ses perspectives, par la grâce de ses dentelures, de ses fines colonnes, de ses frises ouvragées, à notre dessein de symboliser dans la grandeur de son passé, le prestige de notre terre d’Extrême-Orient. Poème de pierre, idéal de pure spiritualité où se pénètrent et se concilient les aspirations de l’Asie, le symbolisme de tous les cultes orientaux.

Dans cette enceinte et sous ces voûtes, le Gouvernement Général de l’Indochine a voulu glorifier la politique française de labeur et de concorde associant à ses fins les races qu’elle protège et qui collaborent avec elle à l’œuvre commune.

L’intérieur du Palais est approprié à sa destination par l’aménagement de spacieux dégagements et de vingt-trois salles baignées d’air et de clarté, dont l’œil saisit d’abord l’ordonnance avant de s’arrêter aux détails. Sous les yeux du visiteur s’étale l’inventaire le plus complet, le plus saisissant de l’activité économique et de la vie collective des cinq pays de l’Union.

Au rez-de-chaussée, d’une superficie, avec ses annexes, de 5.000 m2, l’Exposition économique déroule dans tous les ordres d’activité, les indices de la prospérité agricole, commerciale, industrielle. Les principales ressources du sol et du sous-sol y sont judicieusement sélectionnées et méthodiquement réparties, à l’état brut et manufacturé.

Le groupement en est présenté avec le souci permanent de rapprocher la production et l’exploitation, la matière première et les procédés qui l’utilisent ou la transforment, les efforts individuels et le mécanisme du rouage administratif qui a mission de les aider d’améliorer leur technique et leur rendement.

Les produits, ainsi que les industries, sont distribués par sections, groupes et classes. Cultures vivrières : riz, oléagineux, féculents, fruits, canne à sucre, thé, café, cultures industrielles : coton, ricin, soie, fibres à papier, textiles, caoutchouc, gomme laque.

Des stands importants sont réservés aux grandes entreprises et aux groupements professionnels. Les firmes européennes et indigènes font la preuve de leur vitalité.

Les services généraux, travaux publics, marine marchande, P.T.T., aviation, présentent le tableau d’ensemble des grands travaux exécutés ou simplement projetés pour l’aménagement des ports de commerce, la protection et la fertilisation des campagnes, le développement de l’outillage, ses moyens de transport et de communication.

L’édifice est subdivisé intérieurement en deux étages, qu’un dispositif ingénieux de pavés de verre, reliés entre eux par un filet de béton invisible et formant une voûte lumineuse, éclaire, comme une immense verrière, sans qu’aucune ouverture soit aménagée dans le soubassement. L’étage supérieur supporte un ensemble de portiques, de galeries et de pavillons enchâssant quatre cours intérieures et, à la croisée de deux grandes travées, sous le dôme principal, la salle capitulaire, correspondant au sanctuaire du Temple.

Les salles du premier étage groupent les manifestations de l’activité sociale et intellectuelle de la colonie. Les services de l’Instruction Publique et de l’Assistance médicale y occupant une place importante .C’est précisément l’honneur de notre pays d’avoir appliqué à l’étude et à la solution des problèmes sociaux qui se posent en Indochine la sollicitude la plus attentive, la plus éclairée.

Protection de l’enfance, des vieillards et des incurables, organisation des cliniques, d’hôpitaux, de dispensaires et de maternités, instituts Pasteur et laboratoires, inspection médicale des chantiers et des plantations, contrôle de la main-d’œuvre, mesures prises pour assainir les villes et améliorer les conditions physiologiques de l’habitat indigène. Tous les témoignages s’accumulent de notre action humaine et bienfaisante dans l’ordre des œuvres sanitaires.

Ce rôle tutélaire de la France en Indochine, il semble que la reproduction du temple d’Angkor entouré des différents pavillons des cinq pays de l’Union en soit comme le symbole émouvant. Avec majesté, avec grâce, la Pagode d’Angkor est là au centre de l’Exposition comme pour témoigner devant le monde que la paix française en Extrême-Orient n’est pas un vain mot : la France honore le passé et respecte les mœurs tout en améliorant les conditions de l’économie générale.

Les services de l’Instruction publique offrent le tableau complet et méthodique de la politique scolaire de la France en Indochine : enseignement supérieur, secondaire, franco-indigène, primaire supérieur, primaire et élémentaire, écoles de villages, écoles professionnelles et techniques. Nous instruisons quatre cent mille enfants.

Les Grandes institutions scientifique1! ont assemblé les résultats de leurs travaux. L’Ecole française d'Extrême-Orient, notamment, a exposé ses magnifiques publications et quelques pièces de musées et de ses feuilles archéologiques. Sait-on que c’est à cette dernière que l’Indochine doit de découvrir, exhumés du sol, arrachés à la forêt, les incomparables reliques de son passé. Toutes les manifestations de l’activité intellectuelle et artistique sont accueillies à Vincennes, qu’elles émanent des institutions officielles ou des groupements privés.

Les meilleures productions de l’art français local et des arts indigènes ornent les salons d’un attrait à la fois rétrospectif et moderne. Salons des artistes français de l’Indochine, peintres, graveurs, sculpteurs, architectes, décorateurs. Salons d’art indigène où notre jeune école des Beaux-Arts d’Hanoï et les écoles d’art appliqué du Tonkin, du Cambodge, de la Cochinchine, exposent leurs plus belles créations : meubles, bronzes, céramiques, incrustations et laques, orfèvreries, soieries façonnées, peintures, gravures et dessins, où se reflète, en s’adaptant aux besoins nouveaux, le style original de la race et du pays. Cette floraison, illustre la sève d’inspiration qu’ont puisée nos propres artistes sous le ciel d’Extrême-Orient et l’impulsion artistique qu’ils communiquent autour d’eux, renaissance d’un classicisme national dont les traditions avaient dégénéré.

Les salles et les galeries de l’étage supérieur du Palais central évoquent l’histoire de l’Indochine à travers les âges, depuis les anciennes civilisations jusqu’aux temps modernes. Les archives de la colonie livrent à notre curiosité et à notre méditation des documents originaux ou reproduits, portraits, estampes, gravures, cartes, qui retracent les grands souvenirs du passé. Les races montagnardes revivent sous nos yeux avec leurs types ethniques, les spécimens de leur outillage, de leurs costumes, de leur art.

Depuis le 6 mai 1931, des millions de visiteurs, français et étrangers, ont gravi les degrés du temple que les Kmers ont érigé en l’honneur du dieu Vichnou. Pourtant si le public admire sans réserve l’œuvre réalisée, il ignore généralement les patients efforts qui ont abouti à cette merveilleuse reconstitution.

Sans entrer dans d’arides précisions d’ordre technique, disons cependant que MM. Charles et Gabriel Blanche, ont consacré six années de patient labeur à la reconstitution du Temple d’Angkor. Leur tâche a nécessité des travaux préparatoires nombreux et difficiles et, notamment, la réunion d’une documentation considérable.

Ajoutons en passant que les architectes d’Angkor sont en outre les auteurs de la chaussée qui conduit au monument ainsi que de plusieurs pavillons qui constituent la section indochinoise et qui, bien que très divers, donnent à de la section entière un ensemble harmonieux.
M. Gabriel Blanche fut chargé par son père d’aller puiser sa documentation à la source même, au Cambodge. Il en rapporta des relevés archéologiques et des aquarelles qui lui ont permis de donner à la réplique du Temple édifiée à Vincennes cette patine qui semble millénaire tellement elle reproduit exactement les tonalités du monument original.

Le volume total de la masse constituée par le Temple et ses annexes est, à peu de chose près, celui du Sacré-Cœur de Montmartre.
La reconstitution à Vincennes du Temple d’Angkor-Vat, a coûté 12 millions 400.000 francs, somme relativement modeste en égard à l’ampleur de l’œuvre réalisée.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931