International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

French Equatorial Africa

French Equatorial Africa at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1931

Architect(s) : Fichet

The AEF pavilion at the Colonial Exhibition was intended to give a synthesis of what our Congolese empire represents in the national economy. Without doubt, there are larger and more sumptuous pavilions, but the AEF pavilion is characteristic of a reborn colony whose wealth is now being exploited with the most modern means.

The plans are by the architect Fichet.

In the centre stands a circular construction 27 metres in diameter, with a dome some 20 metres high. This shell-shaped construction is a faithful reconstruction of the dwellings along the Logone. Circular galleries surround it.

At the entrance to the pavilion are the offices of the Commissariat and those of the propaganda department. For, in order to provide the visitor with the most complete information on everything relating to trade and industry in A. E., the offices of the Commissariat and the propaganda offices are located at the entrance to the pavilion. E. In order to provide the visitor with the most complete information on all aspects of trade and industry in East Africa, the exhibition includes brief monographs, tables, statistics, photographs and products well presented in the form of samples in bags, jars, display cases and shelves: oilseeds, palm kernels, sesame seeds, castor beans, karite seeds, groundnuts, copra, palm oil, bamboo oil, groundnut oil, sesame oil.
Gums, rubber and copal. Textiles: cotton, kapok, raffia, sansevières, pineapple, various fibres.

Dioramas by the most renowned colonial artists evoke the most picturesque aspects of the tropical forest, the Congo-Ocean route, or the shady banks of the Congo and Oubangui rivers.

We also see various ropes, native spartan goods, basketry, coffee, cocoa, vanilla, tobacco, furs, vegetable hair, bones, horns, tanning materials (mangrove bark), dyeing materials, papyrus and wood pulp, ivory, and also those incomparable riches of the A. E. F.., mineral products: precious stones, gold, silver, copper, lead, etc. Also on display are food products: manioc, rice, millet, iguanas, potatoes, bananas, honey, peppers, etc., as well as fishing gear and fish, molluscs and shellfish.

In a second gallery, we find items related to folklore, hunting and tourism, indigenous weapons, fetishes, ornaments and instruments. Here the public can see that there is a Negro art and that it deserves to be studied.

Curious minds can capture the thousand incidents of daily life in a Pahouin village which is home to some forty natives: woodcarvers, weavers, leatherworkers, etc...

The primitive art of the populations of our great African colony perfectly reflects their sense of nature and things.

The indigenous ivory carvers, who, like the other craftsmen, work under the eyes of the public, with the raw materials supplied by the A. E. F. commissariat, have conceived and executed numerous models, among which: a lion abducting its prey, monkeys eating, a water carrier, a chess game, etc...

Ebony carvers have translated a number of animals in their own way: gorillas, turtles, elephants, etc.

Woodcarvers have created various groups of pirogues with their crews, indigenous masks, pyrographed woodcarvings, dance groups, etc.

Blacksmiths make, among other things, ebony-handled assegais and daggers inlaid with ivory.

All the raw materials: ivory, ebony, kakomo wood, various skins, come directly from EFTA.

Since EFTA is still the country of the great hunters and will perhaps one day be the country of great tourism, the visitor is shown tourist and hunting maps as well as naturalized animals, hunting trophies and beautiful photographs.

A third gallery is reserved exclusively for the exhibition of woods. In addition to forestry maps, wood mercurials, sample panels of different woods, rough cuts of various species, local wooden furniture and samples of various wooden objects from the colony are on display.

Artists can find new sources of inspiration by contemplating the objects of collections, ornaments, musical instruments, indigenous weapons and fetishes that have been brought together there by the care of a committee of particularly competent people.

In the centre of the palace, there are dioramas, panoramas, relief maps and a large-scale map of French Equatorial Africa. This is where French and foreigners can get an idea of what life is like in FEA. E. F.

Is it necessary to add that ethnographic, commercial and other statistics show that FEA is seeing its population increase and its commercial movement grow from year to year, and that a reading of the balance sheets allows one to judge its good economic balance.

Although the AEF is the youngest of our colonies, it has the concern to present to the French of Metropolitan France an exhibition as original as it is evocative of the great possibilities that the future holds.

However ignorant he may be of the resources of our great equatorial possession, the visitor at a glance, as soon as he enters the pavilion, receives a precise and clear impression.

This is what Governor General Antonetti and the Commissariat of the Colony in Paris wanted to show.

It shows the unfolding of a half-century-long history that begins like an adventure tale and, after a dark period, blossoms into a marvellous perspective. Musical instruments, everyday objects and fetishes offer us a picture of the indigenous life that preceded our settlement. These are excellent reasons to dream. However, it does not take much imagination to evoke, in front of these masks and sculptures, the bloody ceremonies of abolished cults, the monstrous festivals in the clearings, the strange marriage of love and death.

Thus introduced to the life of our Congo, we follow its awakening, from floor to floor, from the day Brazza entered it to the day when the first blow of the pickaxe of the Congo-Ocean opened a new era to our beautiful equatorial colony.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Afrique Equatoriale Française

Afrique Equatoriale Française à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Architecte(s) : Fichet

Le Pavillon de l’A. E. F. à l’Exposition Coloniale a voulu donner la synthèse de ce que représente, dans l’économie nationale, notre empire congolais. Sans doute, il en est de plus vastes, de plus somptueux, mais celui de l’A. E. F. est bien caractéristique d’une colonie renaissante dont toutes les richesses maintenant dénombrées sont à la veille d’être exploitées, avec les moyens les plus modernes.

Les plans en sont dûs à l’architecte Fichet.

Au centre, se dresse une construction circulaire de 27 mètres de diamètre, dont le dôme atteint une vingtaine de mètres. Cette construction, en forme d’obus, est une fidèle reconstitution des habitations riveraines du Logone. Des galeries circulaires l’entourent.

A l’entrée du pavillon, se trouvent les bureaux du Commissariat et ceux de la propagande. Car, pour que le visiteur puisse se renseigner de la façon la plus complète sur tout ce qui a trait au commerce et à l’industrie en A. E. F., l’exposition comporte des monographies succinctes, des tableaux, des statistiques, des photographies et des produits bien présentés sous forme d’échantillons en sacs, en bocaux, sous vitrines, sur étagères : oléagineux, amandes de palme, graines de sésame, ricin, karités, arachides, coprah, huiles de palme, de bambou, d’arachides, de sésame.
Gommes, caoutchouc et copal. Textiles : coton, kapok, raphia, sansevières, ananas, fibres diverses.

Des dioramas dus au pinceau des artistes coloniaux les plus en renom, évoquent les aspects les plus pittoresques de la forêt tropicale, du tracé du chemin Congo-Océan, ou des rives ombragées du Congo et de l’Oubangui.

On y voit aussi les cordages divers, la sparterie indigène, la vannerie, les cafés, les cacaos, la vanille, le tabac, les pelleteries et fourrures, le crin végétal, les os, les cornes, les matières tannantes (écorce de palétuvier), les matières tinctoriales, les pâtes à papier de papyrus, et de bois divers, l’ivoire et 'aussi ces richesses incomparables de l’A. E. F., les produits minéraux : pierres précieuses, or, argent, cuivre, plomb, etc.. Sont exposés en outre, les produits de l’alimentation : manioc, riz, mil, iguanes, patates, bananes, miel, piments, poivres, etc., et aussi les engins de pêche et de poissons, mollusques et crustacés.

Dans une deuxième galerie, on trouve ce qui concerne le folklore, la chasse et le tourisme, les armes indigènes, les fétiches, les objets de parure, les instruments. Là, le public peut se rendre compte qu’il y a un art nègre et qu’il mérite d’être étudié.

Les esprits curieux peuvent saisir sur le vif les mille incidents de la vie quotidienne d’un village pahouin qui abrite une quarantaine d’indigènes : sculpteurs sur bois, tisserands, maroquiniers, etc...

L’art primitif des populations de notre grande colonie africaine traduit parfaitement leur sentiment de la nature et des choses.

Les ivoiriers indigènes, qui, comme les autres artisans travaillent sous les yeux du public, avec les matières premières fournies par le commissariat de l’A. E. F., ont conçu et exécuté de nombreux modèles, parmi lesquels : un lion enlevant sa proie, des singes en train de manger, une porteuse d’eau, un jeu d’échecs, etc...

Les sculpteurs sur ébène ont traduit à leur manière quantité d’animaux : gorilles, tortues, éléphants, etc...

Les sculpteurs sur bois sont les auteurs de différents groupes de pirogues avec leurs équipages, de masques indigènes, de bois sculptés pyrogravés, de groupe de danse, etc...

Les forgerons font notamment des sagaies et des poignards à manche d’ébène incrustés d’ivoire.

Toutes les matières premières : ivoire, bois d’ébène, bois de kakomo, peaux diverses, viennent en droite ligne de l’A. E. F.

Puisque l’A. E. F. reste le pays des amateurs des très grandes chasses et qu’il sera peut-être un jour celui du très grand tourisme on montre au visiteur des cartes touristiques et de chasse ainsi que des animaux naturalisés, des trophées de chasse et de belles photographies.

Une troisième galerie est exclusivement réservée à l’exposition des bois. On y expose en dehors des cartes forestières, des mercuriales des bois, des panneaux-échantillons des différents bois, des coupes brutes des diverses essences, des meubles en bois du pays, des échantillons d’objets divers en bois de la colonie.

Les artistes peuvent y trouver des sources nouvelles d’inspiration par la contemplation d’objets de collections, de parures, d’instruments de musique, d’armes indigènes, de fétiches qui ont été réunis là par les soins d’une Commission de personnes particulièrement compétentes.

Au centre du Palais, sont disposés les dioramas, les panoramas, les plans en relief, ainsi qu’une carte de l’Afrique Equatoriale Française à grande échelle. C’est là que les Français et les Etrangers peuvent se faire une idée de ce qu’est la vie en A. E. F.

Est-il besoin d’ajouter que les statistiques ethnographiques, commerciales et autres, montrent que l’A. E. F. voit sa population augmenter et son mouvement commercial s’accroître d’année en année, et que la lecture des bilans permet de juger de son bon équilibre économique.

Bien que l’A. E. F. soit la plus jeune de nos colonies, elle a le souci de présenter aux Français de la Métropole une exposition aussi originale qu’évocatrice des grandes possibilités que l’avenir lui réserve.

Pour ignorant qu’il soit des ressources de notre grande possession équatoriale, le visiteur d’un seul coup d’œil, dès son entrée dans le pavillon en reçoit une impression précise et claire.

C’est ce qu’ont bien voulu marquer le Gouverneur Général Antonetti et le Commissariat de la Colonie à Paris.

On y voit le déroulement d’une histoire longue d’un demi-siècle qui commence comme un conte d’aventures et, après une période obscure, s’épanouit en merveilleuses perspectives. Les instruments de musique, les objets usuels, les fétiches nous offrent une image de la vie indigène qui précéda notre installation. Ce sont d’excellents motifs à rêver. Il ne faut cependant guère d’imagination pour évoquer devant ces masques, ces sculptures, les cérémonies sanguinaires des cultes abolis, les fêtes monstrueuses dans les clairières, les étranges mariages de l’amour et de la mort.

Introduits ainsi de plein pied dans la vie de notre Congo, nous en suivons l’éveil, d’étage en étage, de ce jour où Brazza y pénétra à celui où le premier coup de pioche du Congo-Océan ouvrit une ère nouvelle à notre belle colonie équatoriale.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931