International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Paris Metropolitan Railway

Paris Metropolitan Railway at the Exhibition Paris 1931

The Paris Metropolitan Railway could not remain a stranger to the Colonial Exhibition, for it was thanks to it that the majority of visitors were transported without fail, with the number exceeding 500,000 in fifteen hours on certain days.

In its Pavilion, the Metropolitan Railway presents models of its main structures and its current equipment (rolling stock, signalling, etc.). On large-scale maps and charts, the visitor can follow the prodigious development of the "URBAN METRO", which in 1930 carried almost NINE HUNDRED MILLION passengers, and whose traffic intensity is now the highest in the world: 7,700,000 annual passengers per kilometre of two-track line.

On a large-scale map of the suburbs, we can see the 16 branches of the "SUBURBAN METRO", whose work has begun and which will extend outside the city the advantages of punctuality, safety and low cost that only transport by the Metropolitan system can provide.

These graphs and maps show the necessity of the "REGIONAL METRO" whose high performance transversals will be the arteries of the "GREATER PARIS". Run by the powerful standard gauge equipment, the model of which is on display, these transversal lines will distribute the workers of the greater suburbs throughout the city at a rate of over 50,000 per hour in each direction.

In a cinema, permanent projections allow visitors to participate in the intense life of the Metro. Graphics and bright photographs on the walls of this room show the great effort the Company has made to develop social works for its staff: holiday camps at Ménétreux (Côte d'Or), Ruffet-sur-Seille (Jura), Beauvais-sur-Matha (Charente-Inférieure) where already 500 children of the staff go each year to soak up the fresh air of the countryside, and the rest home at Ménétreux for convalescent staff.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chemin de Fer Métropolitain de Paris

Chemin de Fer Métropolitain de Paris à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Le Chemin de fer Métropolitain de Paris ne pouvait rester étranger à l’Exposition Coloniale, car c’est grâce à lui que fut assuré sans défaillance le transport de la majorité des visiteurs, dont le chiffre dépassa certains jours 500.000 en quinze heures.

Dans son Pavillon, le Métropolitain présente des maquettes de ses principaux ouvrages d’art et de son équipement actuel (matériel roulant, signalisation, etc...). Sur des cartes et graphiques à grande échelle, le visiteur peut suivre le prodigieux développement du “ METRO URBAIN ”, qui a transporté en 1930 près de NEUF CENTS MILLIONS de voyageurs, et dont l’intensité du trafic est maintenant la plus élevée du monde entier : 7.700.000 voyageurs annuels par kilomètre de ligne à 2 voies.

Sur une carte à grande échelle de la banlieue, figurent les 16 antennes du “ METRO SUBURBAIN ”, dont les travaux sont commencés et qui va étendre hors de la Cité des avantages de ponctualité, sécurité, bon marché, que procure seul le transport par le Métropolitain.

Ces graphiques et cartes rendent sensible la nécessité du “ METRO REGIONAL ” dont les transversales à grand rendement seront les artères du “PLUS GRAND PARIS”. Parcourues par le puissant matériel à gabarit normal dont la maquette est exposée, ces transversales diffuseront dans toute la cité, avec un débit supérieur à 50.000 à l’heure dans chaque sens, les travailleurs de la grande banlieue.

Dans une salle de cinéma, des projections permanentes font participer les visiteurs à la vie intense du Métro. Des graphiques et des photographies lumineuses sur les murs de cette salle montrent le gros effort qu’a fait la Compagnie pour développer les œuvres sociales en faveur de son personnel : colonies de vacances de Ménétreux (Côte d’Or), Ruffet-sur-Seille (Jura), Beauvais-sur-Matha (Charente-Inférieure) où déjà 500 enfants des agents vont chaque année se retremper au bon air de la campagne, et maison de repos de Ménétreux pour les agents convalescents.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931