International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Algeria

Algeria at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1931

© Sartony Laffitte

Architect(s) : Montaland

This year, it is Algeria itself which is coming to show itself to the metropolis and to foreigners in the Bois de Vincennes, which has become, for once, the setting for the Greatest France. It was fitting, on the day after a grandiose anniversary, that our most prosperous colony, this new France, should present itself to the public with the prestige and authority of its second youth.

The General Government, the Algerian financial assemblies, the Commissariat, whose work is so intelligently presided over by Mr. Edouard GERARD, director of the Office of Algeria in Paris, have done nothing to ensure that their section will stand up to comparison with the buildings constructed by more richly endowed colonies.

The Palais de l'Algérie, as conceived in the plans of M. Montaland, architect of the general government, is striking from the outset by its vast architectural proportions, its ovoid dome flanked by a high minaret. This white mass stands out in a most pleasing way against the foliage of the Bois de Vincennes and the Mediterranean gardens that are built around it.

The two main elements of this architecture, the dome and the minaret, do not imply that the Palais de l'Algérie is a reproduction of any North African monument. On the contrary, we wanted to avoid as much as possible any imitation of this kind, which would lead to results that are truly lacking in the unexpected; the sober and modern style uses the themes of so-called Moorish art, but without slavishly copying them; it retains what is necessary to give the indispensable note of picturesqueness, but without falling into a bad form of exoticism; it strives to reconcile, through a creative effort, the memories of Maghrebian architecture and the current trends of construction in Algeria. On one of its sides, the Palais de l'Algérie even uses a Saharan-inspired decoration whose austere line is not displeasing to contemporary taste.

Under the large dome, at the foot of the earthenware-covered minaret, a wide staircase leads to the main access doors. Once through these doors, the visitor finds himself in a vast rotunda with a vaulted ceiling, preceding a long hall divided into bays by high columns.

It is in this rather solemn setting that an original and harmonious presentation has been made to celebrate Algerian agriculture, vines and wheat, the sources of the fertility of this land, which are the living testimony of French success in North African France. Algerian artists themselves contributed to this presentation in a series of dioramas.

A dozen other rooms, arranged logically but without monotony, beyond the great hall of agriculture, with easy circulation, clearings, the resting place of one or two patios, offer the visitors the picturesque or edifying spectacle of the colony and its development, and allow them to draw without effort and to receive with pleasure the great lesson which emerges from a century of work. They can even find an image of the future and of the still infinite possibilities of France's creative activity in a room specially devoted to the southern territories, those distant lands now so close to us, the Sahara desert which the railways may cross tomorrow.

Finally, in a series of small rooms built on the first floor and opening through arcades onto the hall of agriculture, minds concerned with exact notions have at their disposal a large collection of documentary works, arranged with method and clarity.

On leaving the Palais, visitors have not yet completely left Algeria: scattered throughout the section, various concessions are designed to offer them a new aspect of the colony, entertainment and attractions, and it is to be hoped that their brief stay in the Algerian section will have left them with a vision of an intense effort at civilisation.

Around the Palace, large gardens with Mediterranean essences offer a quantity of flowers, leaves, fresh and delightful perfumes.
Let us not forget the Moorish Café, with its music, singers and dancers, and the indigenous restaurant which complete the cheerful and local note.

The moral lesson that emerges from the visit to the Palace of Algeria is the need to continue the close and fruitful collaboration of the two races whose common work has shaped a country that amazes the world.

The doctrine applied in Algeria since Bugeaud, the one that has made force, but at the same time goodness and justice, felt, this doctrine has placed France in the first rank of colonial powers.

It is good that visitors from all over the world have been able to see this for themselves by visiting the Algerian section, whose Exhibition is particularly worthy of our three beautiful North African departments.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Algérie

Algérie à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© Sartony Laffitte

Architecte(s) : Montaland

Cette année, c’est l’Algérie elle-même qui vient se montrer à la métropole et aux étrangers dans le site du bois de Vincennes, qui est devenu pour une fois, le cadre de la Plus Grande France. Il £ convenait, au lendemain d’un anniversaire grandiose, que notre colonie la plus prospère, cette nouvelle France, se présentât aux regards avec le prestige et l’autorité de sa seconde jeunesse.

Le Gouvernement Général, les assemblées financières algériennes, le Commissariat, aux travaux duquel préside si intelligemment M. Edouard GERARD, directeur de l’Office de l’Algérie à Paris, n’ont rien négligé pour que leur section soutint sans faiblesse la comparaison avec les édifices construits par des colonies plus richement dotées.

Le Palais de l’Algérie, tel qu’il est conçu dans les plans de M. Montaland, architecte du gouvernement général, frappe dès l’abord par ses vastes proportions architecturales, sa coupole ovoïde flanquée d’un haut minaret. Cette masse blanche se détache de la manière la plus heureuse sur les frondaisons du bois de Vincennes et les jardins méditerranéens qui sont constitués autour d’elle.

Les deux éléments principaux de cette architecture, la coupole et le minaret, n’impliquent d’ailleurs pas que le Palais de l’Algérie soit la reproduction de quelque monument nord-africain. On a voulu, au contraire, éviter le plus possible tout imitation de ce genre qui aboutit à des résultats manquant vraiment d’imprévu; le style sobre et moderne, utilise les thèmes de l’art dit mauresque, mais sans les copier servilement; il en retient ce qu’il faut pour donner la note de pittoresque indispensable, mais sans verser dans un exotisme de mauvais aloi; il s’efforce de concilier, par un effort créateur, les souvenirs de l’architecture maghrébine et les tendances actuelles de la construction en Algérie. Sur l’une de ses faces, le Palais de l’Algérie fait même appel à un décor d’inspiration saharienne dont la ligne austère n’est pas pour déplaire au goût contemporain.

Sous la grande coupole, au pied du minaret revêtu de faïences, un large escalier conduit aux portes d’accès principales. Ces portes à peine franchies, le visiteur se trouve dans une vaste rotonde au ciel voûté, précédant une longue salle, divisée en travées par de hautes colonnes.

C’est dans ce cadre assez solennel, que l’on s’est efforcé, par une présentation originale et harmonieuse, de célébrer l’agriculture algérienne, la vigne et le blé, sources de la fécondité de cette terre, qui sont les vivants témoignages de la réussite française dans la France nord-africaine. Les artistes algériens ont apporté eux-mêmes leur tribut à cette présentation dans une série de dioramas.

Une dizaine d’autres salles, s’ordonnant avec logique mais sans monotonie, au delà du grand hall de l’agriculture, avec une circulation aisée, des dégagements, le reposoir d’un ou deux patios offrent aux visiteurs le spectacle pittoresque ou édifiant de la colonie et de sa mise en valeur, et leur permettent de tirer sans effort et de recevoir avec agrément la grande leçon qui se dégage d’un siècle de travail. Ils peuvent même trouver une image de l’avenir et des possibilités encore infinies de l’activité créatrice de la France, dans une salle qui est spécialement consacrée aux territoires du sud, ces lointaines contrées désormais si rapprochées de nous, ce désert du Sahara que le rail franchira peut-être demain.

Enfin, dans une série de petites salles construites à l’étage et donnant par des ouvertures en arcades, sur le hall de l’agriculture, les esprits soucieux de notions exactes ont à leur disposition une ample moisson de travaux documentaires, disposés avec méthode et clarté.

En sortant de ce Palais, les visiteurs n’ont pas encore tout à fait quitté l’Algérie : disséminées dans la section, diverses concessions s’ingénient à leur offrir un nouvel aspect de la colonie, des divertissements, des attractions, et l’on peut espérer qu’ils auront gardé de leur bref séjour dans la section algérienne la vision d’un intense effort de civilisation.

Autour du Palais, de grands jardins à essences méditerranéennes offrent quantité de fleurs, de feuilles, de parfums frais et ravissants.
N’oublions pas le Café maure, avec ses musiques, ses chanteurs, ses danseurs, et le restaurant indigène qui achèvent de donner la note gaie et couleur locale.

L’enseignement moral qui se dégage de la visite du palais de l’Algérie, c’est la nécessité de continuer la collaboration étroite et féconde des deux races dont le travail commun a façonné un pays, qui émerveille le monde.

La doctrine appliquée en Algérie depuis Bugeaud, celle qui a fait sentir la force, mais en même temps la bonté et la justice, cette doctrine-là a placé la France au premier rang des puissances coloniales.

Il est bon que les visiteurs de toutes les contrées aient pu s’en rendre compte par eux-mêmes en parcourant la section algérienne dont l’Exposition est particulièrement digne de nos trois beaux départements nord-africains.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931