International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Army and Navy

Army and Navy at the Exhibition Paris 1931

Architect(s) : Lecuyer et Berthelot

Here, our three colours are raised to a height of 82 metres on a bronze tower which also supports a lighthouse. Inside, the busts of the great colonial soldiers are grouped together, and their names are inscribed on the walls: synonyms of tenacity, names of men who have broken the wills of those who were against France and humanity. The numbers of the regiments that contributed to the pacification of peoples on all continents are engraved in marble.

In the centre, you can see the flags and standards of the colonial and North African troops who have distinguished themselves in particular. Under a dome ceiling, in old gold mosaic, a Glory spreads its wings over all these valiant soldiers.

A double staircase leads to the top of the tower. Every evening, the native troops from all countries will salute the colours, showing that we have made them our best auxiliaries.

A special room, next to the monument, contains all the details of the work of the colonial army and its services. These works and services are not exclusively military, since the officer, and even the non-commissioned officer, were often builders, judges, instructors and educators.
The air force, which is the weapon of the future, both a police force and a rescue service, has a special place here.

As for the Health Service, it deserves a special mention. Its doctors know neither friends nor adversaries: tirelessly, they have bent over human suffering: they have contributed mightily by their ardour and their disinterested science to the routing of evil, greedy and fearsome sorcerers.

Enter the opposite pavilion, and you will have the chance to hear one of the hundred lectures that are given during the Exhibition. If the hall is full, review, without the next room, the soldier's hostels, the hygiene and sports halls which are assigned to the young men who serve far away. In the most remote places, there are shelters for moral comfort, meeting rooms where the soldiers can enjoy themselves in a healthy and comfortable way.

The colonial army thus participates in the great lesson of things that is given to you. It evokes here the work accomplished by its great elders; it glorifies the daily and fruitful task of its officers and soldiers, scattered between the two tropics. All those who have served in its ranks, and I am one of them, have retained a legitimate pride.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Armée et Marine

Armée et Marine à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Architecte(s) : Lecuyer et Berthelot

Ici, nos trois couleurs sont élevées à 82 mètres de hauteur sur une tour de bronze qui supporte en même temps un phare. A l’intérieur sont groupés les bustes des grands coloniaux militaires, et leurs noms sont inscrits sur les murs : synonymes de ténacité, noms d’hommes qui ont brisé les volontés contraires à la France et à l’humanité. Les numéros des régiments qui ont contribué à la pacification des peuples sur tous les continents sont gravés dans le marbre.

Au centre, vous avez sous les yeux les drapeaux et les étendards des troupes coloniales et nord-africaines qui se sont plus spécialement illustrées. Sous une coupole formant plafond, en mosaïque vieil or, une Gloire déploie au-dessus de tous ces vaillants soldats, ses ailes.

Un double escalier permet d’atteindre le sommet de la tour. Chaque soir, les troupes indigènes de tous pays salueront les couleurs, montrant ainsi que nous avons su faire d’eux nos meilleurs auxiliaires.

Une salle spéciale, à côté du monument, contient tout le détail des travaux de l’armée coloniale et de ses services. Travaux et services qui ne sont pas exclusivement militaires, puisque l’officier, et même le sous-officier, furent souvent bâtisseurs, juges, instructeurs et éducateurs.
L’aviation, qui est l’arme de demain, à la fois force de police ?t secours, y trouve une place toute particulière.

Quant au service de Santé, il mérite une mention toute particulière. Ses médecins ne connaissent ni amis, ni adversaires : inlassablement, ils se sont penchés sur la souffrance humaine : ils ont puissamment contribué par leur ardeur et leur science désintéressée à la déroute des sorciers malfaisants, cupides et redoutables.

Entrez dans le pavillon opposé, vous aurez la chance s'entendre une des cent conférences qui sont données au cours de l’Exposition. Si la salle est pleine, passez en revue, sans la salle voisine, les foyers du soldat, les salles d’hygiène et de sport qui sont affectées aux jeunes gens qui servent au loin. Dans les points les plus reculés, on trouve ainsi des abris de réconfort moral, des salles de réunion où es soldats peuvent se distraire d’une façon saine et confortable.

L'armée coloniale participe ainsi à la grande leçon de choses qui vous est donnée. Elle évoque ici l'œuvre accomplie par ses grands anciens ; elle glorifie la tâche journalière et féconde de ses officiers et soldats, disséminés entre les deux tropiques. Tous ceux qui ont servi dans ses rangs, et je suis du nombre, en ont gardé une légitime fierté.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931