International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Colonial Woods

manque image

Architect(s) : Leroy et Gury

Wood craftsmen, who are the custodians of the magnificent French traditions and whose furniture has conquered the world with its style, here is displayed before you a lively and formidable catalogue of the most beautiful materials destined for your talent, your skill. You are not one of those who believe that Africa is a desert dotted with rare palm trees. You know that every year your colonies in the black countries alone provide you with considerable quantities of mahogany, okoumé and woods so diverse that the enumeration of their qualities and uses would alone require a book.

Foreign countries, especially America, have literally pounced on our tropical forests. So much so that exports from Africa alone rose from 32,000 tons in 1919 to 533,000 tons or 800,000 cubic metres in 1928, of which only two-fifths went to France. This is because we have always remained at the time when "island woods" were rare, transported on small sailing ships, under the weight of spices and sugar, burdened by the risks of the sea and piracy. Mahogany was then a luxurious wood compared to the oak forests in which France was rich. Today, mahogany and okoumé are, on the contrary, less expensive than the oak and pitch pine of the North.

May this Exhibition convince you, dear Visitor, that your doors, your parquet floors and your furniture could be made of these prestigious woods that tropical nature is constantly recreating at a good price, with their ever-renewed figures and moire.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bois Coloniaux - Expo Paris 1931

manque image
Architecte(s) : Leroy et Gury

Artisans du bois, qui êtes les dépositaires des magnifiques traditions françaises et dont les meubles ont conquis l'univers par leur style, voici étalé devant vous un catalogue vivant et formidable des plus belles matières destinées à votre talent, à votre habileté. Vous n’êtes pas de ceux qui croient que l’Afrique est un désert piqueté de rares palmiers. Vous savez que, chaque année, vos seules colonies des pays noirs vous fournissent des quantités considérables d’acajou, d'okoumé et de bois si divers que l'énumération de leurs qualités et de leurs emplois nécessiterait à elle seule un livre.

Les pays étrangers, et surtout l’Amérique, se sont littéralement jetés sur nos forêts tropicales. Si bien que les exportations de l'Afrique seule sont passées de 32.000 tonnes en 1919, à 533.000 tonnes ou 800.000 mètres cubes en 1928, dont les deux cinquièmes seulement viennent en France. C'est que nous en sommes toujours restés à l'époque où les “ bois des Iles ” étaient rares, transportés sur de petits voiliers, sous les épices et le sucre, grevés des risques de la mer et de la piraterie. L'acajou était alors un bois luxueux en face des forêts de chênes dont la France était riche. Aujourd’hui l'acajou et l'okoumé sont, au contraire, d’un moindre prix que le chêne et le pitchpin du Nord.

Puisse cette Exposition vous convaincre, cher Visiteur, que vos portes, vos parquets et vos meubles pourraient êtres faits de ces bois prestigieux que !a nature tropicale recrée sans cesse et à bon compte, avec leurs figures et leurs moires toujours renouvelées.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931