Back - List of Pavilions

Tercentenary of the Chef-Confrerie and Chelavière of Saint-Michel - Expo Ghent 1913

Tercentenary of the Chef-Confrerie and Chelavière of Saint-Michel at the Exhibition Expo Ghent 1913

The Ghent fencers have a well-established reputation in the sporting world. Although it is the youngest of the four Guilds of Ghent, the Gilde de Saint-Michel was three hundred years old in 1913; since its foundation it has occupied the same premises in the Halle aux Draps, at the foot of the municipal belfry. It maintains the most cordial relations with its elder sisters; the crossbowmen of Saint-Georges, the archers of Saint-Sébastien, the harquebusiers of Saint-Antoine and the fencers of Saint-Michel have remained faithful to the ancestral traditions of camaraderie and solidarity. These sentiments were once again confirmed on the occasion of the beautiful festivities with which the Ghent fencers wanted to celebrate their 300-year existence.

The festivities organised by the Royal and Knightly Chief Confraternity of Saint Michael on the occasion of the Tercentenary of its foundation are among the most important events of the Ghent World's Fair. The dates 1613 and 1913 were used in all the documents published by the society: the route and composition of the procession, commemorative leaflets, brochures, etc. They evoked a past of three centuries. They evoked a past of three centuries which, by a happy coincidence, came to an end at the height of the Universal and International Exhibition.

However, the origins of the Chief Confraternity go back further in the course of time. The ordinance of 1613 only gives the guild recognition of its existence. The well-known scholar Paul Bergmans, in his booklet on the Confraternity of St. Michael, reminds us that the charter from the beginning of the 17th century was mainly intended to "attract more members, especially from the nobility of Ghent". It was Archdukes Albert and Isabella who, by a charter of 26 March, granted the title and status of Sovereign and Knightly Gilde of the Ghent fencers. This title was later changed to Chief Brotherhood of Saint Michael.

The aim of the guild was to promote the development of the sport of arms among its members, but in return for certain favours, it had to remain at the disposal of the magistrate in order to maintain public order.

The rules of the Society, which are still in force, at least in their essential lines, date from 1616. The motto of the Royal and Knightly Confraternity of St. Michael is: FOR THE COUNTRY AND FOR HONOUR; its legend proclaims: Do not avoid, never seek; and its coat of arms bears: Azure, two swords with two hands Or, in saltire across a crown of the same.

The Oath of the Chief Confraternity for 1913 included the names of Messrs. Jules Feirens, Chief Dean; Albert Feyerick, Dean; J. Delori, Secretary; R. Brasseur, Assistant Secretary; G. Van Loo, Treasurer; Ch. Duhayon, Ch. de Behault, Féon Feirens, Count Dorsan Goethals, Raymond Fippens and G. Van Wassenhove, headmasters. To these names must be added those of Mr. Paul Bergmans and Mr. Armand Heins, the former of whom carried out the necessary historical documentary research for the festivities and their musical accompaniment, and the latter of whom contributed his talent as a draughtsman to the study of the costumes.

We know with what meticulous care, with what display of pomp, with what concern for accuracy, the Belgians manage to organise processions. Who does not remember the Fandjuweel procession in Antwerp, the Tournament of the Golden Tree in Brussels, the procession of St. Idesbald valider Gracht in Bruges and, more recently, the Henri Conscience procession in Antwerp and the Tournai Tournament? The foreigners present at these ceremonies have proclaimed their archaeological value and artistic splendour.

The programme of the 1913 Tercentenary procession had been carefully studied in order to give it both historical fidelity and exceptional brilliance. The authors of this marvellous event remembered the parade which, under the name of Ommegang, went through the city after the annual competition for the king, spel na het Coninckschap.

It is this parade that the organisers of the Cortège, Messrs P. Bergmans and Arm. Heins, proposed to reconstruct this parade. They have set it in 1619 and have assumed, in order to increase its richness and variety, that in that year the Archdukes, being in Ghent, agreed to give the Gilde they had formed a mark of their high protection by taking part with their retinue in its Ommegang. They also assumed that, on the occasion of the archduke's participation, our guilds, trades and chambers of rhetoric would also join the procession.

The 1913 Ommegang was divided into six groups: Group 1: Guilds: Butchers, Fishmongers, Boatmen, Bakers, Blacksmiths and Weavers; 2nd group: the Chief Brotherhood of the Fencers of St. Michael; 3rd group: the City of Ghent; 4th group: the Archdukes; 5th group: the other three Chief Brotherhoods of St. George, St. Sebastian and St. Anthony; 6th group: the Chambers of Speech.

The various outings of the procession took place on Sundays 20 and 27 July and on Saturday 9 August. This last outing took place in front of H. M. le Roi des Belges, after the inauguration of the van Eyck Monument.

The Ommegang followed a different itinerary for each of these walks. The idea was a good one, for each district of the city had the good fortune to see it march, and there was no jealousy.

Without going into the details of the procession, it is appropriate to note its splendour. The nobility and the upper middle class of Ghent played a large role and, my goodness, it was admirably held. The richness of the costumes was truly astonishing; the ladies had made an assault on elegance, and God knows how much the fashions of the time of the Archdukes lent themselves to this. Ladies and lords, dressed in silks, velvets and lace, evoked the sumptuous vision of the 17th century toilet and the grace with which our forefathers wore them. At certain moments one thought one was seeing the grandfathers in their faded gold frames, as they still are in some old patrician salons, and the grandmothers in their gilded brocade dresses. The study of the costumes had been done with meticulous care. The organisers had delved into the documents of the period, sketched and drawn; a long period of work had preceded the elaboration of the clothes, the choice of colours, their harmony, etc.; this is enough to show what a faithful reconstitution the Ghent Ommegang was and the success it had.

At the first two exits the procession ended up at the Palace of Horticulture and Festivities, where the Caroussel was to take place. According to the libretto, historically, the carousels succeeded the Tournaments. They were very fashionable at the end of the 17th century, so the organisers of the procession found an additional attraction in the re-enactment of one of the equestrian festivals that were the joy of our fathers. The Carroussels included the most diverse ensemble movements, performed by groups of riders, and entertainments, a sort of jousting in which individual riders competed with skill and enthusiasm. It was a festival of this kind, the details of which had been studied with the greatest care, which took place at the Palais des Fêtes, while the participants in the procession, grouped together on the main stage, formed a shimmering ensemble with a very rich appearance.

The programme of this equestrian festival included an entry and salute, a display of quadrilles, the ring game, the javelin game, a general evolution, the head race, the quintaine of general movements, the final charge and the parade.

A platoon of fifty cavalrymen, under the direction of Lieutenant Bambin, of the 4th Regiment of Lancers, had taken charge of this part of the festival. A huge crowd crowded the vast stands at either end of the immense hall. In the centre, opposite the tribune of the figurants of the procession, a tribune of honour brought together all the Belgian and foreign personalities of the Exhibition; Princess Stephanie of Belgium and Count Lonyai attended the first exit. By estimating the number of spectators at 15,000, we believe we are underestimating the reality. But suddenly a rumour announced the arrival of the procession: It is here!

Majestically, he enters the Royal Casino through the side door. A shimmering reptile, he advances into the licea and circles it. The trumpets of the guilds, which are at the head of the procession, sound cheerfully. Under the sonorous vault of the hot greenhouse, the metallic brilliance of the brass instruments rolls and rumbles. Behind the standard and the Fishmongers' guild, the Boatmen's guild marches along singing old Flemish songs; bakers, blacksmiths, weavers pass by... Greetings to the music of the bourgeois guard which plays an old German romance, and to the bourgeois guard itself. The guilds have passed. The high-pitched sound of the fifes rips through the air, accompanied by the dull roll of the drums which precede the music of the Confraternity of Saint Michael. They play a march on a Flemish theme from the end of the 16th century, a march transcribed by Mr. Paul Bergmans. It is original and striking. These fife tunes seem strange; they rise, harsh and strident, marking the rhythmic steps of the men. Forgotten fifes, which so often led to battle, shall we ever know your penetrating soul? The group of the Confrérie unfolds; the confrères and confrères de Saint-Michel are on horseback. Passing in front of the tribune of honour, the men gracefully remove their feathered caps; the ladies bow and smile happily at the applause that bursts forth incessantly. The notables of Saint-Michel, also on horseback, the King of Saint-Michel, the oath of the Chief Confraternity in a coach and the Francs Michellistes follow. The figure representing the King of the Brotherhood, Mr Jacques Sauvage, bears the same name as the King of the Brotherhood in 1619.

More warlike fanfares! These are the heralds of the City of Ghent. They precede a group of pikemen, the Blazon of the City, a group of young Ghent girls singing old songs of the time: H and Heerken van Maldegem, Ik zeg adieu, etc.; the carriage of the aldermen of the Parchons, that of the aldermen of the Keure, preceding the group of Archdukes. Here is the herald, the butler, the sword bearer on horseback, the coat of arms of the Sovereign House of the Archdukes, pages on foot and on horseback, a group of lords and ladies of the Archdukes' court, all mounted on richly caparisoned steeds, halberdiers and pikemen, followed by the Archdukes themselves. The felts wave, the leaders bow to the tribune of honour. Enthusiastic bravos come from all mouths; hands are clapped; the public is carried away by the striking beauty of the spectacle.

Over there, at both ends of the hall, the same spontaneous demonstrations take place. The standard of the Archdukes and a large group of ladies and lords of the Court on horseback follow the Sovereigns. Court carriages, in which ladies from the Sovereigns' retinue are seated, the Court Chapel, a group of halberdiers and the College of Saint Cecilia complete the main group of the procession. Drums and fifes are heard again; and here come the Chief Confraternities of the crossbowmen of Saint George, the archers of Saint Sebastian and the harquebusiers of Saint Anthony; the old Chamber of Rhetoric De Fontein passes in its turn; finally, the Burgundian guard passes; standard at the head, and composed of a large group of infantrymen and horsemen. The number of participants in the Ommegang was estimated at over fifteen hundred.

Once the procession was over, the extras took their places on the platform in front of the tribune of honour. The archdukes occupied two seats in the centre; around them was their court. At the signal given, here were the riders taking part in the carousel, who made their entrance into the ring.

The crowd applauded the beautiful pace of the men and the various exercises began.

All were executed with admirable precision and perfect order. The evolutions followed one another rapidly and methodically, showing the skill of the participants. The general evolution, the quintaine and the general movements were met with acclamations; the final charge was agonising: the two lines of riders, launched at triple gallop, lance at a standstill, stopped face to face, with the immobility of statues, less than two metres away. A fine ovation was given to Lieutenant Lambin, who had been entrusted with the organisation of this peaceful joust, and who had brought to it a truly remarkable competence. The pretty party is over... Outside the sun was having fun playing with the foliage of the Park. A large crowd was crowding the avenues of the Exhibition. We passed lords and ladies in costume. In the human swell, they put the sharp note of their brilliant costumes. This did not detract from the fact that all around us praise was rising, rising high, very high, to the throne of Monseigneur Saint-Michel, "the fair godfather of the Royal and Knightly Guild, whose great and noble feast day it is", "Pro patria et honore! "All for the Fatherland and for Honour!

The second outing of the Ommegang took place on Sunday 27 July, in the midst of an even larger crowd than the first time. Its success was complete and unforgettable. The third and last outing took place on 9 August, a Saturday, the day of the visit of His Majesty the King and the inauguration of the van Eyck monument. After His Majesty attended this ceremony, the King went to the Cloth Hall to watch the procession. The carillon was still playing its crystalline notes when the Sovereign arrived at the foot of the staircase, where the members of the Oath of the Royal and Knightly Confraternity, Messrs Jules Leirens, Chief Dean, Albert Feyerick, Dean, Delori, Secretary, and Robert Brasseur, Assistant Secretary, were waiting for him.
After the presentations, the King signed the Golden Book of the Confraternity in the large hall of the Halle aux Draps where the Society has been based since its foundation. Mr. Jules Leirens then presented His Majesty with a commemorative plaque of the Society's Tercentenary. In front of the Halle aux Draps, a royal platform had been set up; His Majesty took his place and attended the parade of the Ommegang.

After having taken its sumptuousness through the streets of the city, the procession ended up in the Old Flanders Quarter, in the heart of the Exhibition. There, stands had been set up for the guests and members of the Congress of History and Archaeology. In the archaic setting of Old Flanders, the spectacle of the procession was incomparable. The spectators had the sensation of reliving a page of history from the past; there was only one voice to proclaim that the festival was wonderful. Will we ever see such a spectacle again?

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tricentenaire de la Chef-Confrerie et Chelavière de Saint-Michel


Tricentenaire de la Chef-Confrerie et Chelavière de Saint-Michel à l'exposition de Gand 1913

Les escrimeurs gantois jouissent d’une réputation solidement établie dans le monde sportif. Quoique la plus jeune des quatre chefs-confréries gantoises, la Gilde de Saint - Michel comptait trois cents ans en 1913 ; depuis sa fondation elle occupe le même local de la Halle aux Draps, au pied du Beffroi communal. Elle entretient les plus cordiales relations avec ses sœurs aînées; les arbalétriers de Saint-Georges, les archers de Saint-Sébastien, les arquebusiers de Saint-Antoine et les escrimeurs de Saint-Michel sont restés fidèles aux traditions ancestrales de camaraderie et de solidarité. Ces sentiments se sont affirmés une fois de plus à l’occasion des belles fêtes par lesquelles les escrimeurs gantois ont voulu fêter une existence de 300 ans.

Les fêtes organisées par la Chef-Confrérie Royale et Chevalière de Saint-Michel, à l’occasion du Tricentenaire de sa fondation, comptent parmi les événements les plus considérables de la World’s Fair gantoise. Les dates de 1613 et de 1913 ont fraternisé sur tous les documents édités par la société : itinéraire et composition du cortège, plaquettes commémoratives, brochures, etc. Elles évoquaient un passé de trois siècles dont, par une heureuse coïncidence, l’aboutissement s’est placé en pleine période de l’Exposition Universelle et Internationale.

Les origines de la Chef-Confrérie remontent toutefois plus haut dans le cours des âges. L’ordonnance de 1613 ne fait que donner à la gilde une reconnaissance d’existence. M. Paul Bergmans, l’érudit écrivain bien connu, dans l’opuscule qu’il consacre à la Confrérie Saint-Michel, nous rappelle que la charte du début du XVIIe siècle, eut principalement pour but « d’attirer des membres plus nombreux, recrutés surtout parmi la noblesse gantoise ». Ce furent les Archiducs Albert et Isabelle qui, par une charte du 26 mars, octroyèrent aux escrimeurs de Gand le titre et la qualité de Gilde Souveraine et Chevalière des escrimeurs de Gand. Ce titre se modifia plus tard en celui de Chef-Confrérie de Saint-Michel.

La gilde avait pour but de favoriser, entre ses membres, le développement du sport des armes ; mais, en compensation de certaines faveurs, elle devait se tenir éventuellement à la disposition du magistrat en vue de maintenir Tordre public.

Le règlement de la Société, actuellement encore en vigueur, du moins dans ses lignes essentielles, date de 1616. La Confrérie Royale et Chevalière de Saint-Michel porte comme devise : POUR LA PATRIE ET POUR L’HONNEUR ; sa légende proclame : N'évite pas, jamais ne cherche ; enfin ses armoiries portent : d’azur à deux épées à deux mains d’or, passées en sautoir à traverse une couronne de même.

Le Serment de la Chef-Confrérie pour 1913 comprenait les noms de MM. Jules Feirens, chef-doyen; Albert Feyerick, doyen; J. Delori, secrétaire; R. Brasseur, secrétaire-adjoint; G. Van Loo, trésorier; Ch. Duhayon, Ch. de Behault, Féon Feirens, comte Dorsan Goethals, Raymond Fippens et G. Van Wassenhove, proviseurs. A ces noms il faut joindre ceux de MM. Paul Bergmans et Armand Heins qui ont, l’un fait les recherches historiques documentaires nécessaires aux festivités et à leur accompagnement musical, l’autre mis son talent d’artiste dessinateur à l’étude des costumes.

On sait avec quel soin méticuleux, avec quel déployement de faste, avec quel souci d’exactitude, les Belges s’entendent à organiser des cortèges. Qui ne se souvient du cortège du Fandjuweel, à Anvers, des Fêtes du Tournoi de l’Arbre d’Or, à Bruxelles, de la procession de St-Idesbald valider Gracht, à Bruges, et, plus récemment, du cortège Henri Conscience, à Anvers et du Tournoi de Tournai ? Les étrangers présents à ces cérémonies en ont proclamé la valeur archéologique et la splendeur artistique.

Le programme du cortège du Tricentenaire de 1913 avait été soigneusement étudié en vue de lui donner à la fois un caractère de fidélité historique et un éclat exceptionnel. Les auteurs de cette merveilleuse manifestation se sont souvenus de la parade qui, sous le nom d’Ommegang parcourait la ville à l’issue du concours annuel pour le roi, spel na het Coninckschap.

C’est cette parade que les organisateurs du Cortège, MM. P. Bergmans et Arm. Heins se sont proposé de reconstituer. Ils l’ont située en 1619 et ont supposé, afin d’en augmenter encore la richesse et la variété, que cette année là les Archiducs, se trouvant à Gand, ont consenti à donner à la Gilde qu’ils avaient constituée, une marque de leur haute protection en prenant part avec leur suite à son Ommegang. Ils ont supposé de plus qu’à l’occasion de la participation archiducale, nos corporations, nos métiers et nos chambres de rhétorique se joignaient également au cortège.

L’Ommegang de 1913, était divisé en six groupes : Ier groupe : les Corporations : Bouchers, Poissonniers, Bateliers, Boulangers, Forgerons et Tisserands ; 2me groupe : la Chef-confrérie des Escrimeurs de Saint-Michel ; 3me groupe : la Ville de Gand ; 4me groupe : les Archiducs; 5me groupe : les trois autres Chefs-confréries de Saint-Georges, de Saint-Sébastien et de Saint-Antoine ; 6me groupe : les Chambres de rhétorique.

Les différentes sorties du cortège eurent lieu les dimanches 20 et 27 juillet et le samedi 9 août. Cette dernière sortie eut lieu devant S. M. le Roi des Belges, à l’issue de l’inauguration du Monument van Eyck.

L’Ommegang suivit, à chacune de ces promenades, un itinéraire différent. L’idée était heureuse; car ainsi chaque quartier de la ville eut la bonne fortune de le voir défiler, et cela ne fit pas de jaloux.

Sans entrer dans le détail de la figuration du cortège, il convient d’en acter la splendeur. La noblesse et la haute bourgeoisie gantoises y remplirent un large rôle et, ma foi! celui-ci fut admirablement tenu. La richesse des costumes fut véritablement surprenante; les dames avaient fait assaut d’élégances et, Dieu sait combien les modes de l’époque des Archiducs s’y prêtaient. Dames et seigneurs, vêtus de soies, de velours et de dentelles, évoquaient la vision somptueuse de la toilette du XVIIme siècle et la grâce avec laquelle nos aïeux les portaient. A certains moments on croyait voir descendus de leurs cadres aux ors fanés, tel qu’il en est encore dans quelques vieux salons patriciens, les aïeux en pourpoint et en fraise et les aïeules en robe de brocart gemmé. L’étude des costumes avait été faite avec un soin méticuleux. Les organisateurs avaient fouillé dans les documents de l’époque, croqué, dessiné; un long travail avait précédé l’élaboration des vêtements, le choix des couleurs, leur harmonie, etc. ; c’est dire assez quelle reconstitution fidèle fut l’Ommegang de Gand et le succès qu’il eut.

Aux deux premières sorties le cortège aboutit au Palais de l’Horticulture et des Fêtes, où devait avoir lieu le Caroussel. D’après le libretto, historiquement les carrousels ont succédé aux Tournois. Ils étaient fort à la mode à la fin du XVIIme siècle ; aussi les organisateurs du cortège ont-ils trouvé un attrait de plus dans la reconstitution d’une de ces fêtes équestres qui faisaient la joie de nos pères. Les Carroussels comportaient les mouvements d’ensemble les plus divers, exécutés par des groupes de cavaliers, et des divertissements, sortes de joutes dans lesquelles les cavaliers isolés rivalisaient d’adresse et d’entrain. C’est une fête de ce genre, dont les détails avaient été étudiés avec le plus grand soin, qui eut lieu au Palais des Fêtes, tandis que les participants du cortège, groupés sur l’estrade principale, formaient avec le décor de celle-ci, un ensemble chatoyant et de très riche aspect.

Le programme de cette fête équestre comportait une entrée en lice et salut, un déploiement des quadrilles, le jeu des bagues, le jeu des javelots, une évolution générale, la course des têtes, la quintaine des mouvements d’ensemble, la charge finale et le défilé.

Un peloton de cinquante cavaliers, sous la direction du lieutenant Bambin, du 4me Régiment des lanciers, s’était chargé de cette partie de la fête. Une foule énorme se pressait sur les vastes tribunes adossées aux deux extrémités de l’immense salle. Au centre, en face de la tribune des figurants du cortège, une tribune d’honneur réunissait toutes les personnalités belges et étrangères de l’Exposition ; la Princesse Stéphanie de Belgique et le comte Lonyai assistèrent à la première sortie. En évaluant à 15.000 le nombre des spectateurs, nous croyons être en dessous de la réalité. Mais tout à coup une rumeur annonce la venue du cortège : Il est là !

Majestueusement le voilà qui débouche par la porte latérale au Royal Casino. Reptile chatoyant, il s’avance dans la lice dont il fait le tour. Les trompettes des corporations, qui sont à la tête du cortège, sonnent allègrement. Sous la voûte sonore de la serre chaude, l’éclat métallique des cuivres roule en grondant. Derrière l’étendard et la corporation des Poissonniers, celle des Bateliers défile en chantant de vieilles chansons flamandes; Boulangers, Forgerons, Tisserands passent... Salut à la musique de la garde bourgeoise qui joue une ancienne romance allemande, et à la garde bourgeoise elle-même. Les corporations sont passées. Le son aigu des fifres déchire l’air, accompagné du roulement sourd des tambours qui précèdent la musique de la Confrérie de Saint-Michel. Us exécutent une marche sur un thème flamand de la fin du XVIme siècle, marche transcrite par M. Paul Bergmans. C’est original et frappant. Ces airs de fifres paraissent étranges ; ils montent, âpres et stridents, marquant le pas rythmé des hommes. Fifres oubliés, qui si souvent avez conduit à la bataille, connaîtrons-nous jamais votre âme pénétrante ?... Le groupe de la Confrérie se déroule ; les confréresses et confrères de Saint-Michel sont à cheval. En passant devant la tribune d’honneur les hommes d’un geste gracieux enlèvent leur feutre empanaché; les dames s’inclinent et sourient heureuses aux aplaudissements qui éclatent sans cesse. Suivent les notables de Saint-Michel, également à cheval, le Roi de Saint-Michel, le serment de la Chef-Confrérie en carrosse et les Francs Michellistes. Le personnage qui représente le Roi de la Confrérie, M. Jacques Sauvage, porte le même nom que le Roi de la Confrérie en 1619.

Encore des fanfares guerrières ! Ce sont les hérauts de la Ville de Gand. Ils précèdent un groupe de piquiers, le Blason de la Ville, un groupe de jeunes filles gantoises chantant de vieilles chansons du temps : H et Heerken van Maldegem, Ik zeg adieu, etc.; le carrosse des échevins des Parchons, celui des échevins de la Keure, précédant le groupe des Archiducs. Voici le héraut d’armes, le majordome, le porte-épée à cheval, le blason de la Maison Souveraine des Archiducs, des pages à pied et à cheval, un groupe de seigneurs et de dames de la cour des Archiducs, tous montés sur des destriers richement caparaçonnés, des hallebardiers et des piquiers, suivis des Archiducs eux-mêmes. Les feutres ondoient, les chefs s’inclinent devant la tribune d’honneur. Des bravos enthousiastes sortent de toutes les bouches ; on bat des mains ; le public est enlevé par la beauté saisissante du spectacle.

Là-bas, aux deux extrémités de la salle ce sont les mêmes manifestations spontanées. L’étendard des Archiducs et un groupe important de dames et de seigneurs de la Cour à cheval, succèdent aux Souverains. Des carrosses de la Cour, dans lesquels ont pris place des dames de la suite des souverains, la chapelle de la Cour, un groupe de hallebardiers et le Collège Sainte-Cécile, complètent le groupe principal du cortège. Des tambours et des fifres se font entendre à nouveau ; et voici que défilent les Chefs-Confréries des arbalétriers de Saint-Georges, des archers de Saint-Sébastien et des arquebusiers de Saint-Antoine ; la vieille Chambre de rhétorique De Fontein passe à son tour ; c’est enfin le passage de la garde bourgoise ; étendard en tête, et composée d’un groupe nombreux de fantassins et de cavaliers. On évalua à plus de quinze cents le nombre des participants de l’Ommegang.

Le défilé du cortège terminé, les figurants prirent place sur l’estrade en face de la tribune d’honneur. Les archiducs occupaient deux fauteuils au centre; autour d’eux était massée leur cour. Au signal donné, voici les cavaliers prenant part au carroussel, qui font leur entrée dans la piste.

La foule applaudit la belle allure des hommes et les différents exercices commencent.

Tous furent exécutés avec une précision admirable et un ordre parfait. Les évolutions se succédèrent rapides et méthodiques, faisant voir l’adresse des participants. L’évolution générale, la quintaine et les mouvements d’ensemble déchaînèrent des acclamations ; la charge finale fut angoissante : les deux lignes de cavaliers, lancés au triple galop, lance en arrêt, s’arrêtèrent face à face, avec une immobilité de statues, à moins de deux mètres de distance. On fit une belle ovation au lieutenant Lambin, qui avait été chargé de l’organisation de cette joute pacifique, et qui y avait apporté une compétence vraiment remarquable. La jolie fête est terminée... Dehors le soleil s’amusait à lutiner les frondaisons du Parc. Une foule nombreuse se pressait dans les avenues de l’Exposition. Nous coudoyions les seigneurs et les dames costumés. Dans la houle humaine, ils mettaient la note aiguë de leurs costumes brillants. Cela ne décadrait nullement, et autour de nous la louange montait, montait haut, très haut, jusqu’au trône de Monseigneur Saint-Michel « féal parrain de la Gilde Royale et Chevalière dont c’est la grande et noble fête », « Pro patria et honore! » Tout pour la Patrie et pour l’Honneur!

La seconde sortie de l’Ommegang eut lieu le dimanche 27 juillet, au milieu d’un concours de monde plus considérable encore que la première fois. Son succès fut complet et inoubliable. La troisième et dernière sortie se déroula le 9 août, un samedi, jour de la visite de S. M. le Roi et de l’inauguration du monument van Eyck. Après l’assistance de S. M. à cette cérémonie, le Roi se rendit à la Halle aux Draps, pour y assister au défilé du cortège. Le carillon égrenait encore ses notes cristallines, que le Souverain arrivait au pied du perron, où l’attendaient les membres du Serment de la Chef-Confrérie Royale et Chevalière, MM. Jules Leirens, chef-doyen, Albert Feyerick, doyen, Delori, secrétaire, Robert Brasseur, secrétaire-adjoint.
Après les présentations, le Roi signa le Livre d’Or de la Confrérie dans la grande salle de la Halle aux Draps où siège la Société depuis sa fondation. M. Jules Leirens offrit ensuite à Sa Majesté une plaquette commémorative du Tricentenaire de la Société. Devant la Halle aux Draps, une estrade royale avait été dressée ; Sa Majesté y prit place et assista au défilé de l’Ommegang.

Après avoir déroulé sa somptuosité par les rues de la ville, le cortège vint aboutir au Quartier de la Vieille Flandre, au cœur de l’Exposition. Des estrades y avaient été aménagées pour les invités et les membres du Congrès d’Histoire et d’Archéologie. Dans le décor archaïque de la Vieille Flandre le spectacle du défilé du cortège fut incomparable. Les spectateurs eurent la sensation de revivre une page d’histoire d’autrefois ; il n’y eut qu’une voix pour proclamer que la fête fut merveilleuse. Verra-t-on jamais encore pareil spectacle ?

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913