World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Commemorative Plaque and Diploma, Commemorative Charm

Commemorative Plaque and Diploma, Commemorative Charm at the Exhibition Expo Ghent 1913

The medal or plaque as well as the diploma are customary accessories of any exhibition; the Ghent exhibition could not deviate from these precedents, since in all respects its executive committee had been concerned with the artistic aspects of the vast undertaking.

Godefroid De Vreese was commissioned by the general management to present a project for a plaque; the choice of the artist was unanimously approved; De Vreese is in fact one of the recognised leaders of the young Belgian school of medal engraving; none of his emulators has grasped this difficult and delicate art better than he has; he has conquered mastery thanks to an energetic will, constant efforts and untiring perseverance; His friend and biographer, Alphonse de Witte, was right to write that "his work shows a disconcerting ease of conception and activity of work; without neglecting his works of great sculpture, De Vreese modelled, in ten years, more than one hundred medals or plaques as varied in composition as in manner. He has made his mark in portraiture; in this genre he is the equal of the great French masters, whose influence he has taken on in part, without losing his personality.

The plate for the Ghent Exhibition is one of the best works of the conscientious artist; its design is original and well adapted to the event it was intended to commemorate. On the front, a lady with a majestic bearing, the City of Ghent wearing the mural crown on the veil that falls in graceful folds, cordially welcomes three graceful young girls; this pretty group symbolises Art, Commerce and Industry; behind the City of Ghent, a well-decoupled worker represents work; next to him a charming child runs up with an armful of flowers destined for the guests of the Ghent city.

The artist has removed conventional attributes and banal conceptions of routine from this composition; there is weight and balance; the group of three young girls is full of grace; the maid of Ghent draped in the drooping folds of a chatelaine dress, has a majestic and welcoming attitude; her noble bearing, as well as the calm and conscious strength of the worker, contrasts with the mutinous grace of the little girl who is about to throw the flowers under the feet of the guests from Ghent.

The reverse side of the plaque is dedicated to the memory of the triple flower show that gave the Ghent Exhibition of 1913 its brilliant and seductive character. In the background of a vast greenhouse, decorated with tropical plants and lined with climbing roses, we can see the perspective of the main courtyard ending with the entrance dome flanked by its two towers. In the foreground of the composition, two young girls, one seated, the other half-kneeling, are preparing wreaths and garlands of flowers.

The harmonious and graceful qualities of this composition make it a work of singular artistic value; without research, with simple means, without the accumulation of emblems or unnecessary details, De Vreese has marked the characteristic of the city of Ghent, the City of Flowers.
The front and back of the plaque complement each other very well; the work is a departure from the proverbial banality of exhibition medals.

The gold charm offered to the ministers of the countries represented, to the commissioners-general of the Belgian and foreign sections, and to the members of the Executive Committee, as well as to the directors-general of the Universal Exhibition, was the work of Charles Samuel, Godefroid De Vreese's emulator in the art of medal making.

The artist did not have a large surface area for his composition; the small size of the charm had to be reminiscent of the city of Ghent and offer the necessary space to engrave the name and status of the recipient.

Samuel overcame these difficulties; on the front, he depicted the Maid of Ghent with her symbolic lion; behind her, the panorama of the city with its characteristic towers of St. Bavo's Cathedral, the Belfry and St. Nicholas' Church. The coat of arms of Ghent and the year MCMXIII are the two main motifs in the frame of the composition. On the reverse, a bilingual inscription recalls the Exhibition; in a central cartouche, the name and status of the bearer of the charm are engraved.

The Executive Committee had entrusted the eminent Liege artist, Rassenfosse, with the composition of the diploma design; the project presented offered remarkable qualities of composition and execution; it was fortunately inspired by the coincidence of the Floralies with the Exhibition of Industrial Products; deviating from the beaten track, it met in all respects the wishes of the Executive Committee; notwithstanding the strongest of representations, the work did not obtain the assent of the authorities called upon to ratify the choice of the general management. The dream that had been happily cherished had to be abandoned; the respect due to the artist determined the Executive Committee not to entrust the execution of a new project to another designer. With commendable selflessness, Rassenfosse agreed to translate De Vreese's composition for the front of the plaque onto the diploma; he did so masterfully.

In order to pay tribute to the Liège master, the first directorate-general asked him to donate the original project to the Museum of Fine Arts in Ghent; Rassenfosse generously agreed to this request and added a gift of one of his works, both of which were gratefully received.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Plaquette et Diplôme Commémoratifs, Breloque-Souvenir


Plaquette et Diplôme Commémoratifs, Breloque-Souvenir à l'exposition de Gand 1913

La médaille ou la plaquette ainsi que le diplôme sont les accessoires coutumiers de toute exposition ; celle de Gand pouvait d’autant moins déroger aux précédents qu’à tous égards, son comité exécutif avait eu le souci des aspects artistiques de la vaste entreprise.

Godefroid De Vreese fut chargé par la direction générale de présenter un projet de plaquette; le choix de l’artiste fut unanimement approuvé; De Vreese est en effet l’un des chefs reconnus de la jeune école belge de gravure en médailles ; aucun de ses émules n'a mieux saisi que lui cet art difficile et délicat; il a conquis la maîtrise grâce à une volonté énergique, à des efforts constants et à une persévérance inlassable ; son ami et biographe, Alphonse de Witte, a eu raison d’écrire que « son œuvre marque une facilité de conception et une activité de travail déconcertantes ; sans négliger ses travaux de grande sculpture, De Vreese a modelé, en dix ans, plus de cent médailles ou plaquettes aussi variées de composition que de manière. Il s’est signalé dans le portrait; dans ce genre il est l’égal des grands maîtres français dont il a subi une part d’influence, sans perdre sa personnalité ».

La plaquette de l’Exposition de Gand est l’une des meilleures œuvres du consciencieux artiste ; sa conception est originale et bien adaptée à l’événement qu’il s’agissait de commémorer. Sur la face, une dame au port majestueux, la Ville de Gand portant la couronne murale sur le voile qui tombe en plis gracieux, accueille avec cordialité trois gracieuses jeunes filles ; ce joli groupe symbolise l’Art, le Commerce et l’Industrie ; derrière la Ville de Gand, un ouvrier bien découplé, représente le travail ; près de lui une charmante enfant accourt avec une brassée de fleurs destinées aux hôtes de la cité gantoise.

L’artiste a écarté de cette composition les attributs conventionnels et les conceptions banales de la routine ; il y a pondération et équilibre ; le groupe de trois jeunes filles est plein de grâce ; la pucelle de Gand drapée dans les plis tombants d’une robe châtelaine, a une attitude majestueuse et accueillante; son port noble,ainsi que la force calme et consciente du travailleur contrastent avec la grâce mutine de la fillette qui s’apprête à jeter les fleurs sous les pas des hôtes de Gand.

Le revers de la plaquette est consacré au souvenir des triples floralies qui ont donné à l’Exposition gantoise de 1913, son caractère brillant et séduisant. Au fond d’une vaste serre, ornée de plantes tropicales et tapissée de rosiers grimpants, on aperçoit la perspective de la cour d’honneur terminée par le dôme d’entrée flanqué de ses deux tours. A l’avant-plan de la composition, deux jeunes filles, l’une assise, l’autre à moitié agenouillée, préparent des gerbes et des guirlandes de fleurs.

Les qualités d’harmonie et de grâce de cette composition en font une œuvre d’une singulière valeur artistique ; sans recherche, avec des moyens simples, sans accumulation d’emblèmes ou de détails inutiles, De Vreese a marqué la caractéristique de la cité gantoise, la ville des Fleurs.
Face et revers de la plaquette se complètent très heureusement; l’œuvre sort de la banalité proverbiale des médailles d’exposition.

La breloque en or offerte aux ministres des pays représentés, aux commissaires généraux des sections belge et étrangères, et aux membres du Comité exécutif, ainsi qu’aux directeurs généraux de l’Exposition universelle, fut l’œuvre de Charles Samuel, l’émule de Godefroid De Vreese, dans l’art de la médaille.

L’artiste ne disposait pas d’une grande surface pour sa composition ; de dimension restreinte, la breloque devait rappeler la cité gantoise et offrir la place nécessaire pour y graver le nom et la qualité du destinataire.

Samuel triompha de ces difficultés ; sur la face, il représenta la pucelle de Gand avec son lion symbolique; derrière elle, s’étend le panorama de la ville avec ses tours caractéristiques de la cathédrale Saint-Bavon, du Beffroi et de l’église Saint-Nicolas. Des armes de Gand et le millésime MCMXIII sont les deux motifs principaux du cadre de la composition. Au revers une inscription bilingue rappelle l’Exposition; dans un cartouche central, sont gravés le nom et la qualité du porteur de la breloque.

Le Comité exécutif avait confié à l’éminent artiste liégeois, Rassenfosse, la composition du dessin du diplôme ; le projet présenté offrait des qualités remarquables de composition et d’exécution ; il s’inspirait heureusement de la coïncidence des floralies avec l’exposition des produits industriels; s’écartant des sentiers battus, il répondait à tous égards aux vœux du Comité exécutif; nonobstant les plus vives instances, l’œuvre n’obtint pas l’assentiment des autorités appelées à ratifier le choix de la direction générale. Il fallut abandonner le rêve joyeusement caressé; le respect dû à l’artiste détermina le Comité exécutif à ne pas confier à un autre dessinateur l’exécution d'un nouveau projet. Avec un désintéressement digne d’éloges, Rassenfosse consentit à traduire sur le diplôme la composition de De Vreese pour la face de la plaquette; il le fit avec maîtrise.

Désireuse de rendre hommage au maître liégeois, la première direction générale le pria de lui céder le projet initial afin de le placer au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Gand; Rassenfosse accéda généreusement à cette demande; il y joignit le don d’une de ses œuvres ; l’une et l’autre furent accueillies avec reconnaissance.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913