World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Spring Floralies

Spring Floralies at the Exhibition Ghent 1913

Founded in 1808 in the modest Frascati café, the Agricultural and Botanical Society of Ghent celebrated its centenary in 1908 with one of its five-yearly exhibitions, which are universally renowned.

Modest in its beginnings, it organised an exhibition in 1809, which brought together fifty plants, arranged around the bust of Napoleon. Each exhibitor could only send two plants; the date of the exhibition coincided with the feast of Saint Dorothea, patron saint of gardeners.

Later, the Floralies were held in other places, at the "Sodalité", rue du Marais, at the Flora room, rue de la Caverne, at the Hôtel de ville, and in the peristyle room of the University; in 1834, the 25th anniversary of the foundation of the Society suggested to its members the idea of having a garden and premises large enough to hold the flower exhibitions. The Molenberg, along the Canal de la Coupure, was chosen; the acquisition of several other properties enabled the garden and the buildings to be given the importance they have retained and which was further increased in 1868 by the construction of the large three-nave hall, in which the triennial Salons des Beaux-Arts and the quinquennial Floralies have since been held.

The first of these was held in 1839, and the following ones followed with a constant increase in importance and success. In 1912, the number of greenhouses was estimated at fifteen thousand, most of which were located around the city. The horticultural industry in Ghent and its suburbs employed at least 25,000 people and exported 20 million francs, more than a tenth of which went to the United States of America. No industry combines to such a complete degree the type of the family work site with the union of the factory and the domestic home.

Statistics show the expansion of the five-yearly Floralies; in 1820, 750 plants were exhibited instead of the 50 of the Estaminet Frascati; in 1830, the figure rose to 1400; it reached 10,000 in 1873; in 1893, it rose to 13,000, to be increased again in 1898 and in 1913. The number of competitions rose from 240 in 1868, to 660 in 1883, to 750 in 1908, to 841 in 1913.

These figures speak for themselves and attest to the greatness of the progress made and the magnificent growth of the Royal Society for Agriculture and Botany. Its distinguished president has rightly said that the gardeners gathered in Frascati in 1808, if they were given to contemplate the efflorescence of their enterprise, would have some difficulty in recognising it.

The organisers of the 1913 Universal Exhibition were right to associate the world-renowned five-yearly Floralies with their work. From the very beginning of their studies, they established as a principle the coincidence of the two events; the City of Flowers had to associate them with its valiant effort; they had to serve as an ornament in the eyes of the nations invited to bring their products and to visit its fairy palaces.

Anxious to give this event exceptional splendour, the Executive Committee took the bold initiative of building a palace covering an area of more than 27,000 m2 to organise successively the Spring, Summer and Autumn Floralies. This was the immense Festival Palace, designed by the general managers in collaboration with the architect Oscar Van de Voorde; the name of Flower Palace would have better expressed the initial thought behind this vast construction, built on the site of the inner courtyard of the old citadel built under Napoleon.

As soon as the first openings were made, the Royal Society of Agriculture and Botany eagerly welcomed the proposals made to it by Messrs. Casier and de Smet de Naeyer on behalf of the Executive Committee; an agreement was promptly drawn up and signed by the board of directors of the Society organising the Floralies and by the delegates of the Society of the Universal Exhibition; on the stipulated date, the palace was ready and placed at the disposal of the horticulturists. For four years, they had already been preparing the work with method, the fruit of long experience. The public, enjoying a grandiose spectacle, does not think of the toil, the fatigue, and the concerns of all kinds that the enterprise, whose marvellous success they have witnessed, has entailed. The five-yearly exhibition of 1913 was the apotheosis of Belgian horticulture; its unprecedented success is largely due to the organising committee of the Floralies, appointed by the Board of Directors of the Royal Horticultural and Botanical Society.

Chaired by Mr. Alexis Callier, public prosecutor at the Ghent Court of Appeal, the board also included, among its members, Mr. Albert Ceuterick, vice-president; Fucien de Cock, general secretary; R. Delmotte, assistant secretary; Maurice Duquesnoy, treasurer; Mr. Heursel, librarian; B. de Cock, Count de Kerchove de Denterghem, Arthur de Smet, Romain de Smet, Charles Pynaert, Fouis Van Houtte and Kdg. Wartel. Many of these names are reminiscent of the founders of the largest horticultural establishments in the Ghent region; their participation ensured the success of the flower shows.

But it would be unfair not to pay an outstanding tribute to the organising committee, chaired by Mr. Bdgard Wartel and composed of Messrs. Fucien de Cock, R. Delmotte, Fr. Burvenich père, Arthur de Smet, the distinguished president of the Higher Horticultural Council, Romain de Smet and Victor Heursel. Those who saw these valiant workers at work pay sincere tribute to their high competence, their tireless activity, their tenacious energy and their total dedication to the common interests of horticulture and the country. Thanks to them, the Ghent Universal Exhibition opened with a floral symphony and a dreamlike wonderment that were crowned with resounding success; for eight days, hundreds of thousands of visitors flocked to Ghent; during the last days, the crowds had to be refused entry to the ticket offices; the orchid halls had to be closed in order to protect the stands from dangerous throngs.

The exceptional success of the 1913 Floralies was justified by the abundance of contributions, the surrounding setting and the artistic layout of the cold and hot greenhouses and the orchid lounges.

The view was breathtaking and kept the eyes of the visitors enthralled for a long time. In the large hall of more than 14,000 square metres, Mr. Burvenich Sr., the talented landscape architect, had laid out a French-style garden that was skilfully designed to showcase the work of each horticulturist and to provide overall views that were as attractive in harmony as they were in colour variety. This arrangement satisfied the technicians; it charmed the visitors; the extreme walls of the room were decorated with paintings in which the artists had painted parks planted with large trees and whose paths were lost in the distance. Between the parterres in the centre and the severe-looking landscapes, the experienced planner had created clever transitions. In the centre, beds of azaleas in a variety of colours were combined with large carnations of a fine tone; further on, the rhododendrons accentuated their deep, mauve note; elsewhere, the strong reds of the begonias responded to the whole varied range of Indian roses and azaleas; they intermingled with the soft purplish grey of the heliotropes, as well as the pearly whites of the hydrangeas.

Opposite the rhododendrons, a beautiful diorama painted by Joseph Bertrand framed the remarkable, perhaps unique, collection of Mr. Firmin de Smet. In another annex, Mad. Osterrieth had exhibited a variety of plants in an enchanting garden; between the flowers of Japan, Brazil, Congo and the shores of the Mediterranean, a winding path led the visitor to the ruins of a Greek temple.

Next to the huge hall devoted to flowers, the 6,000 square metre hot greenhouse was reserved for palms, crotons and all varieties of plants with variegated foliage.

The plan of this hall was the work of Mr. Charles Pynaert, head of one of the great horticultural establishments. The irregular layout gave the visitor the impression of a walk through the most beautiful winter garden; at the back of the hall, the most formidable collection of palms that one has ever seen in an exhibition was the contribution of the Ghent Horticultural Society; the Van Houtte establishment, the Jules de Cock firm, the de Smet brothers, F. Spae, Flanders, in short, the entire horticultural aristocracy, had given their all.

One critic wrongly said: on the one hand, too many flowers; on the other, too much greenery. The organisers are to be commended for having adopted this division, which is in keeping with the climatic requirements of both palms and flowers. From the point of view of the impression to be produced, it was profitable to create an opposition between the high and strong masses of tropical plants and the fine and delicate shades of flowers such as azaleas and roses; each of the two rooms had a different character and this opposition aroused the visitor's interest.

It was also with a very refined sense of delicate enjoyment that the organisers had reserved for cut flowers and orchids the salons surrounding the concert hall on both floors. Is the orchid really the spoiled daughter of fashion, as was said after the 1913 Floralies? Whatever one thinks of this joke, no one has disputed the superiority of the considerable effort made by Belgian orchid lovers. The result was a complete success; elsewhere, notably in London, more numerous collections could be seen; no exhibition was richer in rare varieties.

Considered as a whole, the Spring Floralies once again consecrated the supremacy of Belgian horticulture; this was attested by the importance of a programme comprising more than a thousand competitions judged by representatives of the main countries of Europe and America, by the quality of the products exhibited and their exceptionally grandiose presentation. A foreign horticulturist acknowledged that this event definitively established Belgium's superiority in the acclimatisation and perfect cultivation of plants and flowers.

This exceptional success honours the Royal Society of Agriculture and Botany of Ghent; by grouping the efforts of horticulturists, it has accomplished a noble patriotic mission. The sentiment that inspires it finds its expression in its motto: Veneficia mea, quintes, haec sunt. May it continue to organise the victory of Belgian horticulture for many years to come! The Ghent Spring Floralies are a patriotic institution that cannot disappear; their continuation must be ensured; in this respect we have faith in those who lead the destiny of this enterprise and who, in 1913, gave indisputable proof of their activity, their competence and their untiring devotion.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Floralies du Printemps


Floralies du Printemps à l'exposition de Gand 1913

Fondée en 1808 dans le modeste café Frascati, la Société d’agriculture et de botanique de Gand a fêté, en 1908, son centenaire par une de ses expositions quinquennales dont la renommée est universelle.

Modeste à ses débuts, elle organisa, dès 1809, une exposition qui réunit cinquante plantes, rangées autour du buste de Napoléon. Chaque exposant ne pouvait envoyer que deux plantes ; la date de l’exposition coïncidait avec celle de la fête de sainte Dorothée, patronne des jardiniers.

Plus tard, les Floralies eurent lieu dans d’autres locaux, à la « Sodalité », rue du Marais, à la salle Flora, rue de la Caverne, à l’Hôtel de ville, et dans la salle du péristyle de l’Université; en 1834, le 25e anniversaire de la fondation de la Société suggéra à ses membres la pensée de posséder un jardin et des locaux assez vastes pour y organiser les expositions de fleurs. On fit choix du Molenberg, le long du canal de la Coupure; l’acquisition de quelques autres propriétés permit de donner au jardin et aux bâtiments l’importance qu’ils ont conservée et qui s’accrut encore, en 1868, par la construction de la grande salle à trois nefs, dans laquelle, depuis lors, ont été organisés les Salons triennaux des Beaux-Arts et les Floralies quinquennales.

La première de celles-ci eut lieu en 1839 ; les suivantes se succédèrent avec un accroissement constant d’importance et de succès. Biles correspondaient à la prospérité sans cesse grandissante de l’horticulture gantoise ; il y a vingt-cinq ans, on comptait deux mille serres dans deux cents établissements ; en 1912, on en évaluait le nombre à quinze mille, installées la plupart autour de la ville ; l’industrie horticole de Gand et de la banlieue y occupait au moins 25.000 personnes et le chiffre de ses exportations atteignait 20 millions de francs, dont plus du dixième à destination des Etats-Unis d’Amérique. Aucune industrie ne réunit à un degré aussi complet le type du chantier de travail familial par l’Union de l’usine et du foyer domestique.

Des statistiques montrent à toute évidence l’extension prise par les Floralies quinquennales;en 1820, on exhiba 750 plantes au lieu des 50 de l’Estaminet Frascati; en 1830, le chiffre monta à 1400 ; il atteignit 10.000 en 1873 ; en 1893, il passa à 13.000, pour s’augmenter encore en 1898 et en 1913. Ee nombre des concours passa de 240 en 1868, à 660 en 1883, à 750 en 1908, à 841 en 1913.

Ces chiffres sont éloquents et attestent la grandeur du chemin par-couru, ainsi que l’essor magnifique de la Société Royale d’Agriculture et de Botanique. Son distingué président a pu dire avec raison que les jardiniers réunis à Frascati en 1808, s’il leur était donné de contempler l’efflorescence de leur entreprise, auraient quelque peine à la reconnaître.

Les organisateurs de l’Exposition universelle de 1913 eurent raison d’associer à leur œuvre les Floralies quinquennales réputées dans le monde entier. Dès le début de leurs études, ils posèrent comme principe la coïncidence de date des deux manifestations ; la Cité des fleurs devait associer celles-ci à son valeureux effort ; elles devaient lui servir de parure aux yeux des nations conviées à y apporter leurs produits et à visiter ses palais féériques.

Soucieux de donner à cette manifestation un éclat exceptionnel, le Comité Exécutif prit l’audacieuse initiative de bâtir un palais couvrant une superficie de plus de 27.000 m2 pour y organiser successivement les Floralies du Printemps, celles d’été et celles d’Automne. Ce fut l’immense Palais des fêtes, conçu par la collaboration des directeurs généraux et de l’architecte Oscar Van de Voorde ; le nom de Palais des fleurs eut mieux exprimé la pensée initiale de cette vaste construction, élevée à l’emplacement de la cour intérieure de l’ancienne citadelle construite sous Napoléon.

Dès les premières ouvertures, la Société Royale d’Agriculture et de Botanique accueillit avec empressement les propositions qui lui furent faites par MM. Casier et de Smet de Naeyer au nom du Comité exécutif; une convention fut promptement élaborée et signée par le bureau du Conseil d’administration de la Société organisatrice des Floralies et par les délégués de la Société de l’Exposition universelle ; à la date stipulée, le palais fut prêt et mis à la disposition des horticulteurs. Déjà depuis quatre ans, ceux-ci préparaient l’œuvre avec méthode, fruit d’une longue expérience. Ee public qui jouit d’un spectacle grandiose ne songe pas aux labeurs, aux fatigues, aux préoccupations de tous genres qu’a suscités l’entreprise dont il constate la merveilleuse réussite. E’exposition quinquennale de 1913 fut l’apothéose de l’horticulture belge ; son succès sans précédent est dû pour la plus large part au comité organisateur des Floralies, nommé par le Conseil d’administration de la Société royale d’Horticulture et de Botanique.

Présidé par M. Alexis Callier, procureur général près la Cour d’appel de Gand, le conseil comptait encore, parmi ses membres, MM. Albert Ceuterick, vice-président; Fucien de Cock, secrétaire général; R. Delmotte, secrétaire-adjoint ; Maurice Duquesnoy, trésorier ; M. Heursel, bibliothécaire ; B. de Cock, comte de Kerchove de Denterghem, Arthur de Smet, Romain de Smet, Charles Pynaert, Fouis Van Houtte et Kdg. Wartel. Plusieurs de ces noms rappellent ceux de fondateurs des plus grands établissements horticoles de la région gantoise ; leur participation assura le succès des floralies.

Mais il serait injuste de ne pas rendre un hommage hors pair à la commission organisatrice, présidée par M. Bdgard Wartel et composée de MM. Fucien de Cock, R. Delmotte, Fr. Burvenich père, Arthur de Smet, le distingué président du Conseil supérieur de l’horticulture, Romain de Smet et Victor Heursel. Ceux qui ont vu à l’œuvre ces vaillants travailleurs rendent un sincère hommage à leur haute compétence, à leur inlassable activité, à leur tenace énergie, à leur dévouement entier aux intérêts communs de l’horticulture et de la patrie. Grâce à eux, l’Exposition universelle de Gand s'est ouverte dans une symphonie florale et dans un émerveillement de rêve consacrés par un succès retentissant ; pendant huit jours, des centaines de mille de visiteurs ont afflué à Gand; au cours des dernières journées, il a fallu refuser l’entrée de la foule pressée devant les guichets ; les salons des orchidées ont dû être fermés pour soustraire les estrades à des poussées dangereuses.

Ce succès exceptionnel des Floralies de 1913 se justifiait par l’abondance des apports, le cadre qui les entourait et l’artistique disposition tant de la serre froide que de la serre chaude et des salons des orchidophiles.

Le coup d’œil était saisissant et retenait longtemps les regards charmés. Dans la grande salle de plus de 14.000 mètres carrés, M. Burvenich père, le talentueux architecte paysagiste, avait tracé un jardin de style français habilement conçu pour faire valoir les envois de chaque horticulteur et pour ménager des vues d’ensemble aussi attrayantes par l’harmonie que par la variété des couleurs. Fa disposition satisfaisait les techniciens ; elle charmait les visiteurs; les parois extrêmes de la salle étaient décorées de peintures où les artistes avaient brossé des parcs plantés de grands arbres et dont les allées se perdaient dans le lointain. Entre les parterres du centre et les paysages à l’aspect sévère, l’ordonnateur expérimenté avait ménagé des transitions savamment étudiées. Au centre, les parterres d’azalées aux couleurs variées se mariaient aux grands œillets d’une tonalité fine ; plus loin, les rhododendrons accentuaient leur note grave et mauve; ailleurs, les rouges forts des bégonias répondaient à toute la gamme variée des roses et des azalées de l’Inde; ils s’entremêlaient au gris violacé et doux des héliotropes, ainsi qu’aux blancs nacrés des hortensias.

En face des rhododendrons, un beau diorama peint par Joseph Bertrand encadrait la remarquable collection, peut-être unique, de M. Firmin de Smet. Dans une autre annexe, Mad. Osterrieth avait exposé des plantes variées dans un jardin enchanteur; entre les fleurs du Japon, du Brésil, du Congo et des rives de la Méditerrannée, un sentier sinueux conduisait le visiteur aux ruines d’un temple grec.

A côté de l’immense halle consacrée aux fleurs, la serre chaude de 6.000 mètres carrés avait été réservée aux palmiers, aux crotons, et à toutes les variétés de plantes aux feuillages panachés.

Le plan de cette salle fut l’œuvre de M. Charles Pynaert, chef d’un des grands établissements horticoles. Il témoignait d’un sentiment très juste et d’un goût parfait; la disposition irrégulière donnait au visiteur l’impression d’une promenade dans le plus beau des jardins d’hiver; au fond de la salle, la plus formidable collection de palmiers qu’on vit peut-être jamais dans une exposition était l’apport de la Société Horticole Gantoise; l’établissement Van Houtte, la firme Jules de Cock, les frères de Smet, F. Spae, la Flandre, bref, toute l’aristocratie horticole, avait donné avec entrain.

Un critique a dit à tort : d’une part trop de fleurs ; de l’autre, trop de verdure. On doit louer les organisateurs d’avoir adopté cette division conforme d’ailleurs aux exigences climatériques des palmiers comme des fleurs. Au point de vue de l’impression à produire, il y avait profit à ménager une opposition entre les masses hautes et fortes des plantes tropicales et les nuances fines et délicates des fleurs telles que les azalées et les roses ; chacune des deux salles avait un caractère différent et cette opposition excitait l’intérêt du visiteur.

C’est également avec un sens très affiné de jouissance délicate que les organisateurs avaient réservé aux fleurs coupées et aux orchidées les salons entourant, aux deux étages, la salle de concert. L’orchidée est-elle réellement la fille gâtée de la mode, ainsi qu’on récrivait au lendemain des Floralies de 1913 ? Quoiqu’on pense de cette boutade, nul n’a contesté la supériorité de l’effort considérable, réalisé par les orchidophiles belges. L,e résultat a été consacré par un succès complet; on a pu voir ailleurs, notamment à Londres, des collections plus nombreuses ; on n’y a pas vu une exposition plus riche en variétés rares.

Considérées dans leur ensemble, les Floralies du printemps consacrèrent une fois de plus la suprématie de l’horticulture belge ; elle fut attestée par l’importance d’un programme comportant plus de mille concours jugés par les représentants des principaux pays d’Europe et d’Amérique, par la qualité des produits exposés et leur présentation exceptionnellement grandiose. Un horticulteur étranger a reconnu que cette manifestation a définitivement établi la supériorité de la Belgique pour l’acclimatation et la parfaite culture des plantes et des fleurs.

Ce succès exceptionnel honore la Société Royale d’Agriculture et de Botanique de Gand; en groupant les efforts des horticulteurs, elle a accompli une noble mission patriotique. Ee sentiment qui l’inspire trouve son expression dans sa devise : Veneficia mea, quintes, haec sunt. Puisse:t-elle longtemps encore être l’organisatrice de la victoire de l’horticulture belge! Les Floralies gantoises de printemps sont une institution patriotique qui ne peut disparaître; leur maintien doit être assuré; à cet égard nous avons foi en ceux qui conduisent les destinées de cette entreprise et qui ont donné, en 1913, une preuve indiscutable de leur activité, de leur compétence et d’un inlassable dévouement.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913