World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Detailed presentation

Detailed presentation at the Exhibition Ghent 1913

After passing under the St. Elisabeth Gate, one entered the street of that name; bordered by the Ter Koole and Trap af house, from the old Akkerghem district, and, opposite them, by two types of modest 17th century Ghent dwellings in the Meerhem district; they adjoined the old and humble houses of the old ramparts of the Ghent Alexians.

At the end of this first street, the picturesque courtyard and the graceful chapel of the Alyns Hospice, a charming type of Ghent construction; this curious enclosure is an expiatory monument, built as a judicial reparation around 1360 and rebuilt in the 16th century; it still exists, but in a dilapidated state that requires intelligent restoration.

Passing through the large gate next to Alyns' Hospital, one reached the main square, the centre of activity in the little town.

Oh! How picturesque and restful was this old market in miniature, with all its gables from Nieuwpoort, Diksmuide, Ypres, Tournai, Audenaerde, Kortrijk, Ghent, Wichelen, Fûmes, the belfry of Bethune, the Nieuwwerk of Ypres which housed the restaurant; At the corner of the market, the pretty façade of the Bailliage of Aire-sur-Lys, built in 1600 and bearing bas-reliefs of the theological and cardinal virtues, stood.

In the centre of the south side of the Market, the Theatre reproduced a fragment of the painting by François Du Chastel, which is in the possession of the Museum of Fine Arts in Ghent; it recalls the inauguration ceremony of Charles II, King of Spain as Count of Flanders, at the Friday market in Ghent. This huge painting was included in the retrospective of "Old Art in Flanders".

The Rue des Poteaux, lined with houses with galleries, led to a postern, imitating the entrance to the castle of Laerne; it served as the entrance to Old Flanders on the Kortrijk side.

Through the impasse du Verger, one reached the canal and the Quai des Quatre-Métiers. Ten metres wide and one hundred and seventy metres long, the canal was a picturesque feature of Old Flanders.

Via the Sun Bridge and the houses of Hulst and Axel, one reached the Zeeland part of the town; there stood a Vlissingen estaminet not far from the Sluisbrug and the quay wall with the Campvursche Toren of the island of Walcheren; in this picturesque corner stood, near the Waterstraatje, a nice type of Middelburg building, another one of Vlissingen and the beautiful 16th century arched facade in Goes.

In the centre of the Minnemeersch, in the middle of an orchard, an octagonal aedicule reproducing the Groote put van Verre (1551), served as a kiosk; the back of the orchard was bordered by the Doelen of the Crossbowmen of St. George; this gilde occupied the beautiful neighbouring house, the Lammeken, one of the most harmonious buildings in Veere, with its stepped gable, pinnacles and window spandrels.

The current Gilde des Arbalétriers de Saint-Georges is related to the old Ghent Gilde; most of its members are heads of artistic workshops or craftsmen, architects and painters. Under the valiant leadership of their leader, Mr. Frans Coppejans, both an artist and an erudite archaeologist, the confreres of Saint-Georges had decorated their Lammeken premises with an artistic sense to which lovers of art and the picturesque have been pleased to pay tribute. They were welcoming, the confreres of Saint-Georges; they were also good companions; they responded with joy to the call addressed to them by their big sister, the Royal and Knightly Confraternity of Saint-Michel, to celebrate its tercentenary. Messrs J. Leirens and A. Feyerick, the chief dean and dean of the jubilee society, did not appeal in vain to the comrades of Saint George. We were pleased to point out the fact and to recall the important part taken in Old Flanders and in the procession of Saint Michael, by the valiant brotherhood of our friends, the craftsmen of Ghent.

Near the St. George's premises, a door separated the Zeeland quarter from the Quai des Bateliers. The illusion was complete; one thought of one of the pretty quays of Bruges, at the sight of these façades borrowed from the Marché au Fil, the Rue des Ciseaux, the Rue de l'Ane Aveugle, the Quai des Teinturiers and the Quai Vert of the picturesque city.

The Waasland was represented by a Thames façade from 1617, another from Lokeren and a fragment of Walburg Castle in Sint-Niklaas, a mixture of Flemish and Brabant style. Nearby were Ghent houses built around the middle of the 16th century, as well as the beautiful Palfyn House.

On the Egmont quay, the Fish Market imitated from the Mechelen minque, the old Egmont manor in Sottegem, preceded the houses of Dendermonde, among which the graceful little façade of the beguinage.

We have just briefly visited the little town under the guidance of Mr. Victor Fris, whose excellent guide to Old Flanders is the best souvenir, together with the beautiful album of flags by Mr. René De Cramer.

The pretty city that some daring friends of Flanders dreamed of reconstructing for the joy of lovers of the picturesque has disappeared on a day of patriotic pride.

It was in Old Flanders that the marvellous procession of the Tricentenary of the Brotherhood of Saint Michael took place (an unforgettable memory) and broke up. What more picturesque and real setting could one dream of for this evocation and the pomp of the old processions than the square, the streets and the quays of the Villette, all steeped in past memories.

This magical vision allowed us to relive, for a few hours, the phases of a luminous page of history drawn from the sources of a learned documentation.

Ghent owes a large and generous debt of gratitude to all those who cooperated in this work, to those who conceived it as well as those who executed it, to the committee of Old Flanders as well as to the directors of the Exhibition who encouraged and cooperated extensively in its elaboration.

Old Flanders was one of the "nails" in the coffin of the Ghent World Fair; it will live on in the memory of all those who had the joy of visiting it and of communing with the past of the homeland.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Présentation Détaillée


Présentation Détaillée à l'exposition de Gand 1913

Après avoir passé sous la porte Sainte-Elisabeth, on pénétrait dans la rue de ce nom; bordée de la maison Ter Koole et Trap af, de l’ancien quartier d’Akkerghem, et, en face d’elles, de deux types de modestes habitations gantoises du XVIIe siècle dans le quartier du Meerhem; elles voisinaient avec les vieilles et humbles maisonnettes de l’ancien rempart des Alexiens à Gand.

Au débouché de cette première rue, la pittoresque cour et la gracieuse chapelle de l’Hospice Alyns, type charmant de constructions gantoises; ce curieux enclos est un monument expiatoire, construit à titre de réparation judiciaire vers 1360 et reconstruit au XVIe siècle ; il subsiste encore, mais dans un état de vétusté qui réclame une intelligente restauration.

En franchissant la grande porte voisine d’Alyns’ Hospital, on accédait à la grand’place, centre de l'activité de la petite ville.

Oh ! combien pittoresque et reposant ce vieux marché en miniature, avec tous ses pignons de Nieuport, de Dixmude, d’Ypres,de Tournai, d’Audenaerde, de Courtrai, de Gand, de Wichelen, de Fûmes, le beffroi de Béthune, le Nieuwwerk d’Ypres qui abritait le restaurant ; au coin du marché, se dressait la jolie façade du Bailliage d’Aire-sur-Lys, construite en 1600 et portant les bas-reliefs des vertus théologales et cardinales.

Au centre du côté sud du Marché, le Théâtre reproduisait un fragment du tableau de François Du Chastel, que possède le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Gand; il rappelle la cérémonie d’inauguration de Charles II, roi d’Espagne comme comte de Flandre, au marché du Vendredi de Gand. Cette immense toile a figuré à la rétrospective de « l’Art Ancien dans les Flandres ».

La rue des Poteaux, bordée de maisons à galeries, menait à une poterne, imitée de l’entrée du château de Laerne; elle servait d’entrée à la Vieille Flandre du côté de la chaussée de Courtrai.

Par l’impasse du Verger, on aboutissait au canal et au quai des Quatre-métiers. Large de dix mètres et long de cent soixante dix mètres, le canal jetait une note pittoresque dans le cadre de la Vieille Flandre.

Par le pont du Soleil et les maisons de Hulst et d’Axel, on atteignait la partie zélandaise de la petite ville ; là se dressaient un estaminet de Flessingue non loin du Sluisbrug et du mur de quai avec la Campvursche Toren de l’île de Walcheren ; dans ce coin pittoresque se trouvaient, près de la Waterstraatje, un joli type de construction de Middelbourg, une autre de Flessingue et la très belle façade à arcatures, datant du XVIe siècle, à Goes.

Au centre du Minnemeersch, dans le riant d’un verger, un édicule octogonal reproduisant le Groote put van Verre (1551), servait de kiosque ; le fond du verger était bordé par les Doelen des Arbalétriers de Saint-Georges; cette gilde occupait la belle maison voisine, le Lammeken, l’une des plus harmonieuses constructions de Veere, avec son pignon à gradin, ses pinacles et les tympans des fenêtres.

La Gilde actuelle des Arbalétriers de Saint-Georges se rattache à l’ancienne gilde gantoise ; la plupart de ses membres sont des chefs I d’ateliers artistiques ou des I artisans de métiers d’art, I des architectes, des artistes-peintres. Sous la vaillante direction de leur chef-homme, M. Frans Coppejans, à la fois artiste et archéologue érudit, les confrères de Saint-Georges avaient décoré leur local du Lammeken avec un sens artistique auquel les amateurs d’art et de pittoresque se sont plûs à rendre hommage. Ils étaient accueillants les confrères de Saint-Georges; ils étaient également bons compagnons; ils répondirent avec joie à l’appel que leur adressa leur grande sœur, la Confrérie royale et chevalière de Saint-Michel, pour fêter son tricentenaire. MM. J. Leirens et A. Feyerick, les chef-doyen et doyen de la société jubilaire, ne firent pas un vain appel aux camarades de Saint-Georges. Il nous plaisait de signaler le fait et de rappeler la part importante prise à la Vieille Flandre et au cortège de Saint Michel, par la vaillante confrérie de nos amis, les artisans d’art de Gand.

Près du local de Saint-Georges, une porte séparait le quartier zélandais du quai des Bateliers. L’illusion était complète ; on songeait à l’un de ces jolis quais brugeois, à la vue de ces façades empruntées au marché au Fil, à la rue des Ciseaux, à la rue de l’Ane Aveugle, au quai des Teinturiers et au quai Vert de la cité pittoresque.

Le Pays de Waes était représenté par une façade de Tamise de 1617, par une autre de Lokeren et par un fragment du château de Walburg à Saint-Nicolas, mélange de style flamand et brabançon. On retrouvait à proximité des maisons gantoises bâties vers le mi lieu du XVIe siècle, ainsi que la belle maison Palfyn.

Au quai d’Egmont, la Halle aux Poissons imitée de la minque de Malines, l’ancien manoir d’Egmont à Sottegem, précédaient les maisons de Termonde, parmi lesquelles la gracieuse petite façade du béguinage.

Nous venons de parcourir sommairement la petite ville sous la conduite de M. Victor Fris, dont l’excellent guide de la Vieille Flandre constitue le meilleur souvenir, avec le bel album des drapeaux de M. René De Cramer.

Elle a disparu la jolie cité qu’en un jour de fierté patriotique quelques audacieux amis de la Flandre rêvèrent de reconstituer pour la joie des amants du pittoresque.

C’est dans la Vieille Flandre que se déroula (souvenir inoubliable) et se disloqua le merveilleux cortège du Tricentenaire de la confrérie de Saint-Michel. Quel cadre plus pittoresque et plus réel pouvait-on rêver à cette évocation et au faste des anciens cortèges, que la place, les rues et les quais de la villette tout imprégnés des souvenances passées.

Cette vision féerique permit de revivre, pendant quelques heures, les phases d’une lumineuse page d’histoire puisée aux sources d’une savante documentation.

A tous ceux qui coopérèrent à cette œuvre, à ceux qui la conçurent comme à ceux qui l’exécutèrent, au comité de la Vieille Flandre comme aux directeurs de l’Exposition qui encouragèrent et coopérèrent largement à son élaboration, Gand doit une large et généreuse reconnaissance.

La Vieille Flandre fut l’un des « clous » de l’Exposition Universelle de Gand ; elle vivra dans le souvenir de tous ceux qui eurent la joie de la parcourir et de communier avec le passé de la terre patriale.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913