World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Detailed presentation

Detailed presentation at the Exhibition Ghent 1913

In the centre, the Grand'place, with its median, its public fountain, its small kiosk, its flowerbeds.

All around, the butter factory L. Mélotte butter factory and the Water and Forestry Pavilion. Then, the coquettish town house, hooded with high slate roofs, giving character to the perspective of the small square, which was embellished by its coloured shutters folded down on the light-coloured walls. Opposite, the mayor's house and part of the Ollendorff farm.

On the other side, the massive but attractive church with its Romanesque nave and mystical stained glass windows, and the traditional inn nearby.

At the entrance to the Exhibition, there is the Moreels farm, adjacent to the J. Mélotte butter factory, and the agricultural school in the gardens of the mayor's house. Further on was the Milage inn with its garage for cars; then the bookshop and the pastry shop; not far away, the Von Ollendorff farm,
the Comhaire forge, the Persoons skimmer shop, the Post and Telegram building. Near the sports ground, the model school with its flowered forecourt, its courtyards, its trees, its garden; then the large farm of the committee with its roof with many dormer windows, the house of the carpenter beekeeper.

In the large hall adjoining the town hall, the exhibition of A. Mélotte's farm machinery; the temporary school of the schoolmaster; the exhibition of the beekeeper. Mélotte; the temporary school of agricultural mechanics; the horticulturist's house in light tones, with its simple and charming fence; the gardener's dwelling and a worker's house; a renter's villa, suitable for the seaside as well as for the fields, with a terrace and a loggia for a siesta or a daydream. And, dominating the extreme corner of the village, a gigantic aermotor which makes the surrounding dwellings seem smaller, more charming and more graceful.

Several of these constructions had been made by exhibitors from the Agriculture and Horticulture groups; the firms J. Mélotte, Société anonyme des Charrues de Gembloux, Persoons, Mooreels, the Comptoir Belge de Sulfate d'ammoniaque, the Anglo-Continentale Guano Works, had exhibited their equipment or their products in this interesting form. However, a fairly large number of exhibitors from the above-mentioned groups could not find space in the houses of the Modern Village. This was the reason why the Organising Committee decided to create an exhibition hall hidden by the town hall.

This hall, measuring approximately 1100 m2, featured a factory installed in the commune and grouped together seeds, cereals, trophies of ears of corn, tools, poultry and horticultural equipment, disinfection material, agricultural food products of plant origin, a very nice stand devoted to potassium salts, etc.; watercolours hung from the panels; two statues of Flemish peasants completed the decorative aspect of this hall.

The Water and Forestry pavilion had also found a place in the Modern Village; it made a good impression there. In this rustic pavilion, which was surrounded by a pretty garden planted with a collection of conifers, there was a very interesting collection of samples of the main species cultivated in Belgium, with their defects, the diseases that attack them, the insects that cause them, the different species of fish that inhabit our fresh water, as well as some foreign species whose acclimatisation is advisable. In this field, visitors could also find exotic fish for aquariums, aquatic plants and insects, fishing gear, fish farming tools, etc.

Hunting was represented by collections of birds that had never appeared in previous exhibitions, as well as quadrupeds, albino birds, traps, furs, feathers, etc. A diorama showing the mouth of the Zwijn with its fauna attracted the attention of the visitors.
In the compartment reserved for roads and water improvements, maps and diagrams were displayed giving information on the current state of the byways, as well as on the work carried out by the various public authorities to improve the roads and the muddy grounds.

The Modern Village was not only a first-rate attraction for the 1913 Exhibition; it was above all a social work of the first order; its results go beyond the duration of its existence; it is the starting point of a renovation of rural life.

The honour belongs above all to Mr. Paul De Vuyst, who prepared the enterprise with great care and was its driving force. Thanks to his intelligent conception, thanks to the help of intelligent and devoted collaborators, the Modern Village has imposed itself on the public eye; it is the formula for the future of any agricultural exhibition; it is the best reward that can be given to those who have ensured its exceptional success.

It is only fair to add to the name of Mr. De Vuyst, those of Mr. Jules Maenhaut, Mr. Jules Mélotte, Mr. F. Graftiau, Mr. Firmin de Smet, Mr. J. Giele and Mr. Léon Verstraeten; the organisation of this undertaking was laborious; seemingly insurmountable difficulties had to be overcome. The energy, patience and perseverance of the members of the Committee overcame all obstacles. They are entitled to the recognition of the farmers and of the whole of Belgium.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Présentation Détaillée


Présentation Détaillée à l'exposition de Gand 1913

Au centre, la Grand’place, avec son terre-plein, sa fontaine publique, son petit kiosque, ses parterres de fleurs.

Tout autour, la beurrerie L. Mélotte et le Pavillon des Eaux et Forêts. Puis, la Maison communale coquette, encapuchonnée de hauts combles d’ardoises, donnant du caractère à la perspective de la petite place qu’enjolivaient ses volets de couleur rabattus sur les murailles claires. En face, la maison du bourgmestre et une partie de la ferme Ollendorff.

De l’autre côté, l’église massive mais attirante dégageant un calme reposant, avec sa nef romane et ses vitraux aux pampres mystiques; puis, tout près, la traditionnelle auberge.

Dès l’entrée de l’Exposition, voici la ferme Moreels, contiguë à la beurrerie J. Mélotte, et l’école ménagère agricole installée dans les jardins de la maison du bourgmestre. Plus loin se dressait l’auberge du Milage avec son garage pour automobiles; puis la librairie et la pâtisserie ; non loin, la ferme Von Ollendorff,
la forge Comhaire, le magasin des écrémeuses Persoons, le bâtiment des Postes et Télégra phes. Près de la Plaine des Sports, l’école-modèle avec son avant-cour fleurie, ses préaux, ses arbres, son jardin ; puis la grande ferme du comité avec sa toiture aux nombreuses lucarnes, la maison du menuisier apiculteur.

Dans le grand hall contigu à la Maison communale, l’exposition des machines aratoires A. Mélotte ; l’école temporaire de mécanique agricole ; la maison de l’horticulteur aux tons clairs, avec sa clôture simple et charmante ; le logis du jardinier et une maison ouvrière ; une villa de rentier, convenant aux bords de la mer comme aux champs, avec terrasse et loggia pour la sieste ou la rêverie. Et, dominant tout l’angle extrême du village, un gigantesque aermotor qui fait paraître les logis d’alentour plus petits, plus coquets, plus gracieux.

Plusieurs de ces constructions avaient été réalisées par des exposants des groupes de l’Agriculture, et de l’Horticulture; les firmes J. Mélotte, Société anonyme des Charrues de Gembloux, Persoons, Mooreels, le Comptoir Belge de Sulfate d’ammoniaque, l’Anglo-Continentale Guano Works, avaient exposé leurs appareils ou leurs produits sous cette forme intéressante. Cependant, un nombre assez grand d’exposants ressortissant aux groupes susdits n’avaient pu trouver place dans les maisons du Village Moderne. Ce fut la raison qui détermina le Comité organisateur à créer un hall d’exposition masqué par la Maison communale.

Ce hall mesurant environ 1100 m2 figurait une usine installée dans la commune et groupait des graines, des céréales, des trophées d'épis, des outils, des appareils d’aviculture, d’horticulture, du matériel de désinfection, des produits agricoles alimentaires d’origine végétale, un très joli stand consacré aux sels de potasse, etc. ; aux panneaux pendaient des aquarelles ; deux statues de paysans flamands achevaient de donner à ce hall un agréable aspect décoratif.

Le pavillon des Eaux et Forêts avait également trouvé place au Village Moderne ; il y faisait bonne figure. Dans ce pavillon rustique, qu’entourait un coquet jardin planté d’une collection de conifères, on remarquait notamment une collection très intéressante d’échantillons des principales essences cultivées en Belgique, avec leurs défauts, les maladies qui les attaquent, les insectes qui les occasionnent, les différentes espèces de poissons qui peuplent nos eaux douces, ainsi que quelques espèces étrangères dont l’acclimatation est recommandable. Dans ce domaine, les visiteurs trouvaient également des poissons exotiques pour aquariums, des plantes et des insectes aquatiques, des engins de pêche, des outils de pisciculture, etc.

La chasse était représentée par des collections d’oiseaux qui n’avaient jamais figuré dans des expositions antérieures, ainsi que des quadrupèdes, des oiseaux albinos, des pièges, des fourrures, des plumes, etc. Un diorama représentant l’embouchure du Zwijn avec sa faune, attira spécialement l’attention des visiteurs.
Dans le compartiment réservé à la voirie et aux améliorations hydrauliques, furent exposés des cartes et des diagrammes donnant des renseignements sur l’état actuel des chemins vicinaux, ainsi que sur les travaux effectués par les divers pouvoirs publics pour l’amélioration des chemins et des terrains fangeux.

Le Village Moderne ne fut pas seulement une attraction de premier ordre pour l’Exposition de 1913 ; ce fut avant tout une œuvre sociale au premier chef ; ses résultats dépassent la durée de son existence ; il est le point de départ d’une rénovation de la vie rurale.

L’honneur en revient avant tout à M. Paul De Vuyst qui a préparé l’entreprise de longue main et en a été l’âme. Grâce à son intelligente conception, grâce au concours de collaborateurs intelligents et dévoués, le Village Moderne s’est imposé à l’attention ; il est la formule d’avenir de toute exposition agricole ; c’est la meilleure récompense qui puisse échoir à ceux qui ont assuré son succès exceptionnel.

Il est juste d’associer au nom de M. De Vuyst, ceux de MM. Jules Maenhaut, Jules Mélotte, F. Graftiau, Firmin de Smet, J. Giele et Léon Verstraeten ; l’organisation de cette entreprise a été laborieuse ; il a fallu aplanir des difficultés en apparence insurmontables. L’énergie, la patience, la persévérance des membres du Comité ont écarté tous les obstacles. Us ont droit à la reconnaissance des agriculteurs et de la Belgique entière.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913