World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

General Overview

General Overview at the Exhibition Ghent 1913

At one end of the Exhibition, in the triangular space bounded by the Audenaerde road, the old railway from Ghent to Kortrijk, the International Hall, a space of three and a half hectares had been reserved for the Modern Village.

The aim of the Modern Village Study Committee, said Mr. Em. Tibbaut, member of the House of Representatives and President of the High Council of Agriculture, was "to provide an appropriate setting for agricultural participation and thus to place before the general public the interesting problem of contemporary rural life in the Modern Village. In collaboration with the Executive Committee, the Study Committee organised the agricultural community, in which the exhibitors had the legitimate ambition of showing the value of the products of their activity, but which had the social and economic aim of offering, for the critical examination of visitors, types of constructions and buildings grouped in villages, to see them analysed, discussed, to point out their faults and to suggest improvements: this was the wish of the Study Committee. The discussion of the problem, in which everyone could take part, thus focused on concrete objects; it took on a positive, objective, practical character and could do more for progress than the most eloquent dissertations. "

These lines are taken from the preface written by Mr. Tibbaut for the commemorative book of the Modern Village. This publication, in which some particularly authoritative men collaborated, is too developed for us to give a complete overview here. As this Golden Book has to mention all the events of the Universal Exhibition, we must limit ourselves to pointing out the main features of the Modern Village and to suggesting the memory by the image.

The Modern Village was a rural settlement built according to modern principles, designed according to rational and practical principles, but with a real concern for elegance, simplicity and, above all, for hygiene.

One could write countless pages on the errors of the builders of rural constructions. How many pretentious houses, how many ridiculous living rooms, how many cramped gardens have already taken the place of the beautiful and healthy peasant house of yesteryear. But on the other hand, how many prejudices need to be uprooted, how many new methods need to be introduced to preserve the beauty and practicality of the past and destroy the rooted errors.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Aperçu Général


Aperçu Général à l'exposition de Gand 1913

A l’une des extrémités de l’Exposition, dans l’espace triangulaire délimité par la chaussée d’Audenaerde, l’ancien chemin de fer de Gand à Courtrai, le Hall international, un espace de trois hectares et demi avait été réservé au Village Moderne.

Le but du Comité d’études du Village Moderne, a dit excellemment M. Em. Tibbaut, membre de la Chambre des Représentants et président du Conseil supérieur de l’Agriculture, a été « d’assurer à la participation agricole un cadre approprié et de poser ainsi devant le grand public l’intéressant problème de la vie rurale contemporaine du Village Moderne. En collaboration avec le Comité exécutif, le Comité d’études organisa la collectivité du monde agricole, dans laquelle les exposants eurent la légitime ambition de faire apprécier à leur valeur les produits de leur activité, mais qui avait pour but social et économique d’offrir, à l’examen critique des visiteurs, des types de constructions et de bâtiments groupés en village, de les voir analyser, discuter, d’en faire connaître les défauts et de suggérer des améliorations : tel était le vœu du Comité d’études. La discussion du problème, à laquelle chacun pouvait participer, portait ainsi sur des objets concrets; elle prenait un caractère positif, objectif, pratique et pouvait faire plus pour le progrès que les dissertations les plus éloquentes. »

Ces lignes sont extraites de la préface écrite par M. Tibbaut pour le livre commémoratif du Village Moderne. Cette publication, à laquelle collaborèrent des hommes particulièrement autorisés, est trop développée pour que nous puissions en donner ici un aperçu complet. Ce Livre d’Or devant signaler toutes les manifestations de l’Exposition universelle, nous devons nous borner à signaler les caractères principaux du Village Moderne et à suggérer le souvenir par l’image.

Le Village Moderne était donc une agglomération rurale constituée selon les principes modernes, conçue suivant des principes rationnels et pratiques, mais avec un réel souci d’élégance, de simplicité et surtout de l’hygiène bien entendue.

On pourrait écrire d’innombrables pages sur les errements des bâtisseurs de constructions rurales. Que de maisons prétentieuses, que de salons ridicules, que de jardinets étriqués ont déjà pris la place de la belle et saine maison paysanne d’antan. Mais d’autre part, que de préjugés à déraciner, que de méthodes nouvelles à implanter pour conserver du passé ce qu’il avait de beau et de pratique et détruire les errements enracinés.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913