World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Palace of Science

manque image

Beyond the pavilions of the four major Belgian cities, there was a group of halls in which the exhibitions of a scientific nature were installed, namely the classes of Education, Social Economy, Civil Engineering and Military Art.

As we cannot describe everything, we will limit ourselves to what was most significant and what was a real novelty! In this respect, we would like to mention the exhibition organised by Mr Léon Beckers on the Scheldt Region and a glimpse of the Military Diorama, which evoked historical episodes. In addition, the Social Economy compartment will provide us with the opportunity to give a diagram of the various facilities that the Ministry of Industry and Labour had established for the administrations of its Department.

To make Flanders known, or more precisely the Scheldt region, with the help of characteristic documentation selected from the collections of the State and of private individuals, archaeologists or folklorists, such was the aim that Mr. G. Beckers, Director General at the Ministry of Science and Arts, had set himself and his eminent collaborators, when he was entrusted with the organisation of the Belgian section of Higher Education and Sciences at the Ghent Exhibition.

The idea was a good one, but at the same time a bold one, as the programme was vast and the space available was parsimoniously calculated. The success of the project was the result of a well thought-out and methodical plan.

Starting from primitive times and ending in 1815, the documentary history of Flanders, grouped in a circular room, was divided into nine sections, corresponding to the nine periods: Neolithic, metal, Roman, Frankish, feudal and feudal-communal, Burgundian, Spanish, Austrian and French. Each of the periods was also represented, as far as possible, by collections relating to the main social phenomena: economic, family, aesthetic, ideological, legal, political and moral. Around the room, the division of the sections was marked by the flags of the cities of Ghent, Bruges and Ypres, the Flemish maritime ensign, the Burgundian banner and that of Flanders under Spanish rule, the Austrian flag and the flag of the Brabant Revolution; they symbolised the history of Flanders; the variety of their colours cast a festive and cheerful note on the whole.

In the centre of each section, a wall map showed visitors the development of the region through the various historical periods. This series of nine maps was an unprecedented piece of scientific work; improvements could probably be added to it, especially as a result of archaeological discoveries; however, in the current state of science, the whole thing was well done. The authors of this important contribution to the Ghent Exhibition were Messrs Rutot, Rahir, Jansens, Jos. Maertens, Vlaminck and de Saegher, under the direction of Mr. Beckers. It is to be hoped that their initiative will be extended to the Meuse and Sambre regions. This second album would complete the geographical, geological, archaeological and economic history of Belgium from prehistoric times to the present.

To recall this admirable documentation completely, it would be necessary to copy the excellent catalogue published under the title La Flandre des origines à 1815 by M. Beckers and with the assistance of MM. Pirenne, the general archivist J. Cuvelier, Baron A. de Loë, A. Rutot and C. Jansens. To summarise such a study would be to deflate it; its extent makes it impossible to reproduce it in this Golden Book. Unfortunately, it will suffice for us to record here the high value of the undertaking due to the initiative of Mr. Beckers and the great success it has had in scientific circles.


The Ministry of Industry and Labour, which has, among other tasks, that of carrying out studies and preparatory work for the organisation of the participation of our fellow citizens in industrial and commercial exhibitions abroad and in the country, has always given its support to these exhibitions by participating directly in them and by facilitating access to these large national and international fairs for the numerous institutions and various organisations under its jurisdiction.

Has our social legislation produced all the results expected by the legislator? In what way have individual or collective initiatives collaborated in the execution of our numerous workers' laws? The Ministry of Industry and Labour periodically provides this information in publications which unfortunately are only read by a few specialists. Aware of the ignorance of the great mass, this department understood the necessity of organising special compartments in our exhibitions where the general public could see in statistical tables, diagrams, reports, etc. the results obtained by our various social laws. This was done at the Ghent Exhibition, and three administrations belonging to the Ministry of Industry and Labour collaborated more especially in different classes.

I. - The Administration of Industrial and Vocational Education showed in class VI by means of graphs and reports, the constant progression of the number and the school population of industrial, vocational and domestic schools and of apprenticeship workshops in our country. Up to now, no organic law has come to regulate technical education, as it has for primary, middle and higher education. The State leaves it to local initiatives, whether public or private, to create schools and to draw up the curriculum and timetable. The Department of Industry and Labour shall provide subsidies for the installation and running costs; approved schools shall be subject to State inspection.

II. - The purpose of the Office des métiers et négoces, which replaced the Office des classes moyennes in 1907, is to study questions relating to the middle classes and the means of developing the spirit of economic and professional association among small industrialists, small traders and workers: to promote the creation of cooperative production or credit associations, to show the necessity of rational apprenticeship, to help it by granting apprenticeship scholarships, and finally to endeavour to make known to small industry the numerous advantages of modern tools and to intervene, if necessary, by granting a subsidy for the purchase of small tools.
The tables, views, diagrams, machines, etc. presented by the Office des métiers et négoces and by numerous trade unions and professional associations have shown that the small bourgeoisie would benefit from a better understanding of the importance and usefulness of the measures advocated by this office.

III. - The Labour Office collaborated in a remarkable way in the success of the Social Economy Section; various diagrams showed the development of the workers' professional unions; more than fifty unions and federations of unions presented the results of their activity in numerous reports and tables. The documentation and conclusions of the investigation carried out by the competent service of the Labour Office on the situation of cooperative societies in Belgium were also made available to the public. In addition, some twenty consumer cooperatives, including the most important ones, showed, by means of various diagrams, the progressive progress of their business.

The Office also exhibited statistical tables and various publications relating to labour exchanges and unemployment funds.

By means of tables, photograph albums and stereoscopic views, the Labour Inspectorate presented the means recommended by this administration to prevent accidents and to develop the health and safety of workers. The annual reports made available to the public and the diagrams on display showed the results obtained by the various laws relating to the regulation of work.

The Labour Office's provident institutions exhibited diagrams and documents concerning insurance for sickness, premature invalidity and old age. The system of subsidised freedom is fulfilling all the hopes of our legislators and builders.

There is not enough space to expand on the participation of the Ministry of Industry and Labour in the Ghent Exhibition. The few details given will suffice to give an idea of the results achieved by this department in the various fields of its sphere of action.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais des Sciences



Au delà des pavillons des quatre grandes cités belges, se trouvait un groupe de halles dans lesquelles étaient installées les expositions revêtant un caractère scientifique, à savoir les classes de l’Enseignement, de l’Economie sociale, du Génie civil et de l’Art militaire.

Ne pouvant tout décrire, nous nous bornerons à ce qui était le plus significatif et à ce qui constituait une réelle nouveauté ! A ce titre nous signalons l’exposition organisée par M. Léon Beckers sur la Région de l'Escaut et un aperçu du Diorama militaire, qui évoquait des épisodes historiques. De plus, le compartiment de l'Economie sociale nous fournira l’occasion de donner le schéma des différentes installations que le Ministère de l’Industrie et du Travail avaient établi pour les administrations de son Département.

Faire connaître la Flandre ou, plus exactement, la région de l’Escaut, à l’aide d’une documentation caractéristique choisie dans les collections de l’Etat et de particuliers, archéologues ou folkloristes, tel est le but que, chargé d’organiser la section belge d’Enseignement supérieur et des Sciences à l’Exposition de Gand, M. G. Beckers, directeur général au Ministère des Sciences et des Arts, s’était assigné avec ses éminents collaborateurs.

L’idée était heureuse, mais audacieuse à la fois, le programme étant vaste et l’espace dont on disposait parcimonieusement calculé. Le succès répondit aux efforts, grâce au plan parfaitement étudié et très méthodique.

Partant des temps primitifs pour aboutir à 1815, l’histoire documentaire de la Flandre, groupée dans une salle de forme circulaire, était divisée en neuf sections, correspondant aux neuf périodes : néolithique, des métaux, romaine, franque, féodale et féodo-communale, bourguignonne, espagnole, autrichienne et française. Chacune des périodes était en outre représentée, dans la mesure du possible, par des collections se rapportant aux principaux phénomènes sociaux : économique, familial, esthétique, idéologique, juridique, politique et des mœurs. Autour de la salle, la division des sections était marquée par les drapeaux des villes de Gand, Bruges et Ypres, l’enseigne maritime flamande, la bannière bourguignonne et celle de la Flandre sous la domination espagnole, le pavillon autrichien et le drapeau de la Révolution brabançonne ; ils symbolisaient l’histoire de la Flandre ; la variété de leurs couleurs jetait sur l’ensemble une note de fête et de gaieté.

Au centre de chaque section, une carte murale indiquait aux visiteurs les développements de la région, au fur et à mesure de la succession des différentes époques historiques. Cette série de neuf cartes constituait un travail scientifique inédit ; des améliorations pourront probablement y être ajoutées, notamment à la suite de découvertes archéologiques ; toutefois, dans l’état actuel de la science, l’ensemble était au point. Les auteurs de cette importante contribution à l’Exposition de Gand furent MM. Rutot, Rahir, Jansens, Jos. Maertens, Vlaminck et de Saegher,sous la direction de M. Beckers. On doit souhaiter que leur initiative s’étende aux régions de la Meuse et de la Sambre. Ce second album compléterait l’histoire géographique, géologique, archéologique et économique de la Belgique depuis les- temps préhistoriques jusqu’à l’époque contemporaine.

Pour rappeler complètement cette admirable documentation, il faudrait copier l’excellent catalogue publié sous le titre La Flandre des origines à 1815 par M. Beckers et avec le concours de MM. le professeur H. Pirenne, l’archiviste général J. Cuvelier, le baron A. de Loë, A. Rutot et C. Jansens. Résumer pareille étude serait la déflorer ; son étendue met obstacle à sa reproduction dans ce Livre d’Or. Il doit hélas ! nous suffire de consigner ici la haute valeur de l’entreprise dûe à l’initiative de M. Beckers et le très gros succès remporté par elle dans les milieux scientifiques.


Le Ministère de l’Industrie et du Travail qui a, entr’autres missions, celle de procéder aux études et aux travaux préparatoires pour l’organisation de la participation de nos concitoyens aux expositions industrielles et commerciales à l’étranger et dans le pays, a toujours apporté à celles-ci un concours remarqué en y participant directement et en facilitant aux nombreuses institutions et aux divers organismes relevant de sa compétence l’accès de ces grandes foires nationales et internationales.

Notre législation sociale a-t-elle produit tous les fruits qu’en attendait le législateur? De quelle façon les initiatives particulières ou collectives ont elles collaboré à l’exécution de nos nombreuses lois ouvrières? Le Ministère de l’Industrie et du Travail donne périodiquement ces renseignements dans des publications qui malheureusement ne sont lues que par quelques spécialistes. Conscient de l’ignorance de la grande masse, ce département a compris la nécessité de l’organisation de compartiments spéciaux dans nos expositions où le grand public pourrait voir dans des tableaux statistiques, diagrammes, rapports, etc. les résultats obtenus par nos diverses lois sociales. C’est ce qui a été fait à l’Exposition de Gand .Trois administrations ressortissant au Ministère de l’Industrie et du Travail ont plus spécialement collaboré dans différentes classes.

I. — L’ Administration de V Enseignement industriel et professionnel a montré dans la classe VI par des graphiques et rapports, la progression constante du nombre et de la population scolaire des écoles industrielles, professionnelles et ménagères et des ateliers d’apprentissage dans notre pays. Jusqu’à ce jour, aucune loi organique n’est venue, comme pour l’enseignement primaire, moyen ou supérieur, réglementer l’enseignement technique. L'Etat laisse aux initiatives locales, publiques ou privées, le soin de créer des écoles et d’en élaborer le programme et l’horaire. Le Département de l’industrie et du travail intervient par voie de subsides dans les dépenses d’installation et dans celles de fonctionnement; les écoles agréées doivent se soumettre à l’inspection de l’Etat.

II. — L’Office des métiers et négoces qui a remplacé, en 1907, l’office des classes moyennes, a pour objet l’étude des questions relatives aux classes moyennes et des moyens propres à développer l’esprit d’association économique et professionnelle parmi les petits industriels, les petits commerçants et les ouvriers : promouvoir la création d’associations coopératives de production ou de crédit, montrer la nécessité de l’apprentissage rationnel, y aider par l’octroi de bourses d’apprentissage, enfin s’efforcer de faire connaître, à la petite industrie, les nombreux avantages d’un outillage moderne et intervenir éventuellement par rallocation d’un subside dans l’achat d’un petit outillage.
Les tableaux, vues, diagrammes, machines, etc. exposés par l’office des métiers et négoces et par de nombreux syndicats et unions professionnelles, ont démontré que la petite bourgeoisie aurait intérêt à mieux comprendre l’importance et l’utilité des mesures préconisées par cet office.

III. — L’Office du travail a collaboré d’une façon tout-à-fait remarquable au succès de la Section d’économie sociale ; divers diagrammes indiquaient le développement des unions professionnelles ouvrières; plus de cinquante unions et fédérations d’unions exposaient dans de nombreux rapports et tableaux, les résultats de leur activité. La documentation et les conclusions de l’enquête menée par le service compétent de l’Office du Travail sur la situation des sociétés coopératives en Belgique, furent également mises à la disposition du public. De plus une vingtaine de coopératives de consommation, parmi lesquelles les plus importantes, montrèrent, par différents diagrammes, la marche progressive de leurs affaires.

L’Office exposait également des tableaux statistiques et des publications diverses, relatifs aux bourses du travail et aux fonds de chômage.

Au moyen de tableaux, d’albums de photographies et de vues stéréoscopiques, l’Inspection du travail fit connaître, les moyens préconisés par cette administration en vue de prévenir les accidents et de développer l’hygiène et la sécurité des travailleurs. Les rapports annuels mis à la disposition du public et les diagrammes exposés montrèrent les résultats obtenus par les différentes lois relatives à la réglementation du travail.

Les Institutions de prévoyance de l’Office du travail, exposait des diagrammes et documents concernant l’assurance en vue de la maladie, de l’invalidité prématurée et de la vieillesse. Le régime de la liberté subsidiée réalise toutes les espérances de nos législateurs et de nos hommes d’œuvres.

L’espace nous manque pour nous étendre plus longuement sur la participation du Ministère de l’Industrie et du Travail à l’Exposition de Gand. Les quelques renseignements donnés suffiront, pour donner une idée des résultats acquis par ce département dans les différents domaines de sa sphère d’action.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913