World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Palace of Lights

Palace of Lights at the Exhibition Expo Ghent 1913

In 1894, the idea of providing the electrical industry with a closed room where it could showcase the beauty and qualities of its products in an ideal setting was first submitted to the organisers of the second Antwerp Universal Exhibition. This proposal was very well received, but was presented too late and was not implemented for material reasons.

However, the idea of transforming the electricity compartment into a veritable "Palace of Light" was taken up again on the occasion of the Ghent Universal Exhibition. Its author, Mr. Mourlon, presented it to the Executive Committee in January 1912, which supported it without hesitation.

The committee of the Electricity group decided, in a meeting held on 18 September 1912 under the presidency of Baron Empain, to officially sponsor the Mourlon project and to make the Palais des Lumières a real centre of attraction. The first idea of this palace, developed and completed by the addition of a floral decorative part and a luminous fountain, seemed so happy that an organising committee was immediately formed. It was composed of Messrs Charles Mourlon, president; Vital Françoisse, Léon Gérard and Jules Kessel, vice-presidents; Louis Mettewie, secretary; Fernand Van de Wiele, treasurer; Philippe Bède, Lambion, Emile Closset, Auguste Danthine, Henri Dehousse, Trophime Delville, Auguste Demblon, D. Robert Goldschmidt, Greyson-Defuisseaux, Alexandre Grosjean, Maurice Lambert, Albert Lambot, Edmond Leclercq, Henri Pieper, Edouard Rouvroy, Maurice Travailleur, Charles Van der Stuyft, Eugène Van Meerbecke, Emile Vincent and E. Uytborck, members.

The Chambre syndicale des électriciens belges was responsible for the organisation and management of the hall.

The Executive Committee of the Exhibition assumed all the costs of lighting and fitting out the premises; it made available to the community a vast and superb hall of 2,400 square metres. This admirably situated room was adjacent to the machine gallery, with which it was connected; its main façade ran along the great Avenue des Nations.

For the elaboration of the project and its realisation, the initiator of the Palais des lumières found precious collaboration within the Chambre syndicale des électriciens and in the community committee, and especially in Mr. Mettewie, the devoted secretary of Group V.

In a circular dated 28 September 1912, the committee, after having explained the project, appealed to Belgian electricians to collaborate in this unprecedented work.
This appeal was heard; the largest Belgian electrical companies took part in the community exhibition; the efforts of the organisers were crowned with success. The Palace of Lights was unanimously considered to be one of the most remarkable attractions of the Ghent World Fair.

One of the main organs of the Ghent press gave a very happy description of it: "It would be almost impossible," wrote the Bien Public, in its issue of 17 June 1913, "to give even an approximate idea of the enchantment of this brilliant compartment.

The visitors are dazzled, without at any moment, thanks to the most happy combination of the nuances and the tones, they can have the eye tired. Everything that the most brilliant luminaries have achieved is surpassed here in indescribable proportions. It is a spectacle which literally wrings cries of admiration from everyone. "

The decoration of the Palace of Lights was executed with great taste by the members of the Belgian Electrical Industry Association, with the collaboration of the Association's architect, Mr. Emile De Nève.

In the centre, a luminous fountain, executed in collaboration by Mr. Dupont for the sculptural part and by the firm Rouvroy of Ghent for the electrical part, showed the wonders that can be achieved by means of electricity.

The main lines of the hall, the water jets and the waterfalls were illuminated with coloured lamps to magical effect. While it is already so difficult under ordinary conditions to protect electrical installations from the effects of humidity, it was not feared that electric lamps projecting light from the bottom of the basin and giving the water multicoloured reflections would be completely buried in the main basin. The ceiling of the palace was studded with small lamps in garlands following the movements of the velum. At the junctions, brighter spots were obtained by means of semi-matt lamps with 300 candles.

The contours of the stands were designed with small one-candle lamps. Attractive decorative motifs with the attributes of electricity and large candelabras made of electric beads completed the decor.

It is not possible to make a complete study of all the Electricity groups in the Palais des Lumières, but as a memorial to this beautiful manifestation of the Belgian electrical industry, it is only fair to mention the companies that took part.

In the first rank, we must name the most important and at the same time the most complete and the most remarkable by the diversity of the products exhibited, thus showing the enormous effort made in order to fight with full success against foreign competition in all the branches of the electrical industry: the Ateliers de construction électrique de Charleroi. Bell telephone manufacturing C°; The Antwerp telephone and electrical works; L'Union des exploitations électriques; the Société anonyme de téléphonie privée; the Société Energy-Car, (anc. Braun et Tudor); Henri Dehousse et Cie; Ecole pratique de télégraphie sans fil de Laeken; Société belge d'électricité, éclairage et force motrice; Société anonyme franco-belge pour les applications de l'électricité; Société anonyme des accumulateurs Tudor; Société l'industrielle d'accumulateurs; la Centrale électrique du Nord; Société anonyme des Usines à cuivre et à zinc de Liège; Société anonyme Union des Tramways; Anciennes usines Defuisseaux; Société belge pour la fabrication de cables et fils électriques; Collectivité des électriciens belges; Société électrique J. de Paifve et Olivier; Société John Cockerill; Charles Vanderstuyft & Cie; Edouard Rouvroy (Gand).

To this list of the main exhibitors of the Palais des Lumières, we must add the name of Mr. De Nève, the talented young architect to whom we owe the plans of this palace.
He exhibited the various plans with all the drawings submitted by him to the Executive Committee of the Ghent World's Fair for the Palace of Lights, as it was adopted and realised for the wonder of the visitors.

In the palace built by Mr. Emile Dupont, contractor, visitors came into contact with the wonders of electricity; they could see the progress made and the considerable efforts of Belgian engineers and industrialists.

This extraordinary development is due to the admirable invention of our compatriot Gramme who, as we know, began his work in 1867 with the invention of alternating current machines. In 1869 he devised his direct current machine and in 1872 built his industrial dynamo.

It was from this time onwards that it was possible to achieve these marvels which have astonished, are astonishing and will continue to astonish, thanks to what the future holds for all those who are interested in the multiple applications of electricity.

It should also be remembered that the inventions in the field of military telephony and telegraphy due to Belgian army officers, Messrs Waffelaer, Renard, Nothomb and Tollen, were adopted in all countries.

As for the telephone and telegraph industry in Belgium, represented by the large establishments successively created in Brussels and Antwerp, no other country has given it the same importance,
no other country has given it a greater extension, as we were able to see when visiting some of these important installations in Ghent.

Finally, was it not from Belgium that this happy initiative, encouraged by a very high and powerful intervention, started with a view to the immense development to be given to wireless telegraphy and telephony and which resulted in these remarkable installations created by our fellow countryman Dr Robert Goldschmidt?

It is not rash to assert that Belgium was the cradle of the electrical industries and of some of those great inventions that have aroused the astonishment and admiration of scientists and industrialists.

Moreover, it is not only in the electrical field that the Belgian mechanical engineering industry occupies a leading position; it is second to no other country in the manufacture of large motors of all systems. In this respect, the Machine Hall next to the Congo Palace and the Railway Hall proclaimed the perfection of the tools and the finish of the large construction workshops, such as the Société Anonyme des Anciens ateliers Van de Kerchove and the firm Cards, from Ghent. The framework of this Golden Book prevents us from describing in detail the imposing engines in front of which the amazed crowd of visitors stopped; but we are pleased to proclaim the demonstration of high industrial power given by Belgium in the Hall of Machines.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais des Lumières


Palais des Lumières à l'exposition de Gand 1913

C’est en 1894 que fut soumise pour la première fois aux organisateurs de la deuxième exposition universelle d’Anvers, l’idée de fournir à l’industrie électrique, un local fermé à la lumière du jour, où elle pourrait mettre en valeur, dans ce cadre idéal, la beauté et les qualités de ses produits. Très favorablement accueillie, cette proposition, présentée trop tardivement, ne fut pas réalisée pour des raisons d’ordre matériel.

Mais cette idée de transformer le compartiment de l’électricité en un véritable « Palais des Lumières » fut reprise à l’occasion de l’Exposition universelle de Gand. Son auteur, M. Mourlon, la présenta, en janvier 1912, au Comité exécutif qui s’y rallia sans hésitation.

Le comité du groupe de l’Electricité décida, dans une assemblée tenue le 18 septembre 1912 sous la présidence de M. le baron Empain, de patronner officiellement le projet Mourlon et de faire du Palais des Lumières un véritable centre d’attraction. L’idée première de ce palais, développée et complétée par l’adjonction d’une partie décorative florale et d’une fontaine lumineuse, parut si heureuse qu’un comité d’organisation fut aussitôt formé. Il se composait de MM. Charles Mourlon, président ; Vital Françoisse, Léon Gérard et Jules Kessel, vice-présidents ; Louis Mettewie, secrétaire; Fernand Van de Wiele, trésorier ; Philippe Bède, Lambion, Emile Closset, Auguste Danthine, Henri Dehousse, Trophime Delville, Auguste Demblon, D. Robert Goldschmidt, Greyson-Defuisseaux, Alexandre Grosjean, Maurice Lambert, Albert Lambot, Edmond Leclercq, Henri Pieper, Edouard Rouvroy, Maurice Travailleur, Charles Van der Stuyft, Eugène Van Meerbecke, Emile Vincent et E. Uytborck, membres.

La Chambre syndicale des électriciens belges assura l’organisation et la direction du palais.

Le Comité exécutif de l’Exposition assuma tous les frais d’éclairage et d’aménagement des locaux; il mit à la disposition de la collectivité un vaste et superbe hall de 2.400 mètres carrés de superficie. Ce local admirablement situé était adossé à la galerie des machines avec laquelle il était en communication ; sa façade principale longeait la grande avenue des Nations.

Pour l’élaboration du projet et sa réalisation, l’initiateur du Palais des lumières trouva au sein de la Chambre syndicale des électriciens et dans le comité de la collectivité, une précieuse collaboration et tout particulièrement dans M. Mettewie, le dévoué secrétaire du Groupe V.

Par une circulaire datée du 28 septembre 1912, le comité, après avoir exposé le projet, fit appel aux électriciens belges en vue de collaborer à cette œuvre inédite.
Cet appel fut entendu ; les plus grandes firmes belges de l’électricité prirent part à l’exposition de la collectivité ; les efforts des organisateurs furent couronnés d’un plein succès. De l’avis unanime, le Palais des Lumières a été une des plus remarquables attractions de l’Exposition Universelle de Gand.

Un des principaux organes de la presse gantoise en a donné une très heureuse description : « il serait presque impossible, écrivait le Bien Public, dans son numéro du 17 juin 1913, de donner une idée même approximative des féeries que constitue ce brillant compartiment.

Les visiteurs sont éblouis, sans qu’à aucun moment, grâce à la plus heureuse combinaison des nuances et des tons, ils puissent avoir l’œil fatigué. Tout ce que les plus étincelants luminaires ont réalisé est dépassé ici dans des proportions indescriptibles. C’est un spectacle qui, littéralement, arrache des cris d’admiration à tout le monde. »

La décoration du Palais des Lumières fut exécutée avec beaucoup de goût par les membres de la Collectivité belge de l’industrie électrique, avec la collaboration de l’architecte de la Collectivité, M. Emile De Nève.

Au centre, une fontaine lumineuse, exécutée en collaboration par M. Dupont pour la partie sculpturale et par la firme Rouvroy de Gand pour la partie électrique, montra les merveilles que l’on peut réaliser au moyen de l’électricité.

Les grandes lignes du Hall, les jets d’eau et les chutes étaient illuminées au moyen de lampes de couleur d’un effet féerique. Alors qu’il est déjà si difficile, dans les conditions ordinaires, de protéger les installations électriques contre les effets de l’humidité, on ne craignit pas de noyer complètement, dans la vasque principale, des lampes électriques projetant la lumière du fond de la vasque et donnant à l’eau des reflets multicolores. Le plafond du palais était constellé de petites lampes en guirlandes suivant les mouvements du velum. Aux jonctions, des points plus brillants furent obtenus au moyen de lampes demi-mates de 300 bougies.

Les contours des stands étaient dessinés par de petites lampes d’une bougie. De jolis motifs décoratifs avec les attributs de l’électricité et de grands candélabres en perles électriques complétaient le décors.

Nous ne pouvons aborder ici une étude complète de tous les groupes de l’Electricité dans le Palais des Lumières; mais à titre de mémorial de cette belle manifestation de l’industrie électrique belge, il est juste de citer les firmes qui y prirent part.

Au premier rang, il faut nommer la plus importante et en même temps la plus complète et la plus remarquable par la diversité des produits exposés, montrant ainsi l’effort énorme réalisé en vue de lutter avec un plein succès contre la concurrence étrangère dans toutes les branches de l’industrie électrique : les Ateliers de construction électrique de Charleroi. Bell telephone manufacturing C° ; The Antwerp telephone and electrical works ; L’Union des exploitations électriques ; la Société anonyme de téléphonie privée ; la Société Energy-Car, (anc. firme Braun et Tudor) ; Henri Dehousse et Cie ; Ecole pratique de télégraphie sans fil de Laeken ; Société belge d’électricité, éclairage et force motrice ; Société anonyme franco-belge pour les applications de l’électricité ; Société anonyme des accumulateurs Tudor; Société l’industrielle d’accumulateurs ; la Centrale électrique du Nord ; Société anonyme des Usines à cuivre et à zinc de Liège ; Société anonyme Union des Tramways ; Anciennes usines Defuisseaux ; Société belge pour la fabrication de cables et fils électriques ; Collectivité des électriciens belges ; Société électrique J. de Paifve et Olivier ; Société John Cockerill ; Charles Vanderstuyft & Cie ; Edouard Rouvroy (Gand).

A cette nomenclature des principaux exposants du Palais des Lumières, il faut joindre le nom de M. De Nève, le jeune architecte de talent à qui l’on doit les plans de ce palais.
Il exposait les diverses planches avec tous les dessins soumis par lui au Comité exécutif de l’Exposition universelle de Gand pour le Palais des Lumières, tel qu’il fut adopté et réalisé pour l’émerveillement des visiteurs.

Dans le palais que construisit M. Emile Dupont, entrepreneur, les visiteurs ont pris contact avec les merveilles de l’électricité ; ils ont pu se rendre compte des progrès réalisés et des efforts considérables des ingénieurs et des industriels belges.

Ce développement extraordinaire est dû à l’admirable invention de notre compatriote Gramme qui, on le sait, commença ses travaux, en 1867, par l’invention de machines à courants alternatifs. En 1869, il imagina sa machine à courant continu et construisit en 1872 sa dynamo industrielle.

C’est à dater de cette époque que l’on a pu réaliser ces merveilles qui ont étonné, étonnent et étonneront encore, grâce à ce que l’avenir réserve tous ceux qui s’intéressent aux multiples applications de l’électricité.

Rappelons aussi que les inventions du domaine de la téléphonie et de la télégraphie militaires dues à des officiers de l’armée belge, MM. Waffelaer, Renard, Nothomb et Tollen, ont été adoptées dans tous les pays.

Quant à l’industrie proprement dite des téléphones et des télégraphes en Belgique, représentée par les grands établissements créés successivement à Bruxelles et à Anvers,
aucun autre pays n’y a donné une plus grande extension, comme nous avons pu le constater en visitant à Gand quelques-unes de ces importantes installations du Palais des Lumières.

Enfin, n’est-ce pas de la Belgique qu’est partie cette heureuse initiative encouragée par une très haute et puissante intervention, en vue de cet immense développement à donner à la télégraphie et à la téléphonie sans fils et qui eurent pour conséquence ces remarquables installations créées par notre savant compatriote le Dr Robert Goldschmidt ?

Il n’est pas téméraire d’affirmer que la Belgique fut le berceau des industries électriques et de quelques-unes de ces grandes inventions qui ont soulevé l’étonnement et excité l’admiration des savants et des industriels.

Au surplus, ce n’est pas dans le domaine électrique seulement que l’industrie belge de la constriction mécanique occupe une place de premier plan ; elle ne le cède à aucun pays pour la fabrication des grands moteurs de tous systèmes. A ce titre, le Hall des machines voisin du Palais du Congo et du Hall des chemins de fer proclamait bien haut la perfection de l’outillage et le fini d’achèvement des grands ateliers de construction, tels notamment la Société Anonyme des Anciens ateliers Van de Kerchove et la firme Cards, de Gand. Le cadre de ce Livre d’Or nous interdit de faire valoir en détail les moteurs imposants devant lesquels s’arrêtait la foule émerveillée des visiteurs; mais il nous plaît de proclamer bien haut la manifestation de haute puissance industrielle donnée par la Belgique dans le Hall des machines.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913