World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

French Railways

manque image

We are finally coming to the end of this already long study, with the participation of the French railways, and yet it is limited to an overview of a collaboration whose extent and variety, to be put in their true light, would require a large volume.

The International Railway Material Hall was located in the Avenue du Canada, not far from the Plaine des Sports. France occupied the major part of it. Its participation included thirty-seven exhibitors whose installations were grouped in several distinct parts.

In the international railway hall, where only Belgium and France were represented, was the rolling stock sent by the administrations, companies and some manufacturers. It covered half of the hall, i.e. 3,000 m2 , and housed eight locomotives, two power units, two tenders, three railcars, ten coaches, four wagons and accessories.

Finally, in a second annex of 400 metres, there was a film room where all the regions of France crossed by railways, their most beautiful landscapes, their most famous sites, the universities of the big cities encountered on their route, were shown on the screen, thus allowing the spectators to make an instructive journey through the whole of France.

Very complete, very well understood, the exhibition of the French railways brought to a worthy close a participation which, harmonious and fertile in curiosities, serious in its teachings, amiable in its presentation, will leave an unforgettable memory in the same way as the sympathetic and distinguished men who organised it and who lived the life of the Exhibition, the life of Ghent and Belgium, leaving friendships as lively as they were lasting.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chemins de Fer Français



Nous arrivons enfin, avec la participation des chemins de fer français, au bout de cette étude déjà longue et qui cependant se borne à des vues d’ensemble sur une collaboration dont l’étendue et la variété, pour être mises dans leur vraie lumière, nécessiteraient un gros volume.

Le hall international du matériel des chemins de fer se trouvait à l’Avenue du Canada, non loin de la plaine des Sports. La France en occupait la majeure partie. Sa participation y comprenait trente-sept exposants dont les installations étaient groupées en plusieurs parties distinctes.

Dans le hall international des chemins de fer, où figuraient seulement la Belgique et la France, se trouvait le matériel roulant envoyé par les administrations, les compagnies et quelques constructeurs. Il comportait la moitié du hall, soit 3000 m2 et abritait huit locomotives, deux éléments moteurs, deux tenders, trois automotrices, dix voitures, quatre wagons et accessoires.

Enfin, dans une seconde annexe de 400 mètres de superficie, était aménagée une salle de cinématographie où toutes les régions de la France traversées par des chemins de fer, leurs plus beaux paysages, leurs sites les plus fameux, les universités des grandes villes rencontrées sur leur parcours, défilaient sur l’écran permettant ainsi aux spectateurs de faire un voyage instructif à travers la France entière.

Très complète, très bien comprise, l’exposition des chemins de fer français terminait dignement une participation qui, harmonieuse et fertile en curiosités, grave dans ses enseignements, aimable dans sa présentation, laissera un souvenir inoubliable au même titre que les hommes sympathiques et distingués qui l’organisèrent et qui vécurent la vie de l’Exposition, vie gantoise et belge, en y laissant des amitiés aussi vives que durables.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913