World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Merchant Navy Palace

manque image

The Merchant Navy Palace included a large number of ships in reduction, scientific toys, luxurious, which evoked the sea, the great journeys on board these floating salons that are the great modern transatlantic ships and whose stopovers and terms of travel are the names of strange cities, luminous, full of perfumes: Tunis, Beirut, Aden, Singapore.

The Forges et chantiers de la Méditerranée, the Chantiers et ateliers de St-Nazaire, the Chantiers de Provence, the Compagnie générale transatlantique, the Compagnie de messageries maritimes, the Société de Navigation Sud-Atlantique, exhibited the most recent models of the great liners which, leaving from French ports, sail all the seas of the world, as well as special boats assigned to fishing, dredging, etc.

Alongside these miniature ships, which were the stuff of dreams for adventurous people and children, were life-saving devices, lighthouses, diving equipment, etc.
Finally, the exhibits of the Compagnie universelle du Canal maritime de Suez and of the major French ports, as well as the charts from the Bureau Veritas, the Ligue Maritime Française, etc., added a documentary note to the picturesque aspect of the pavilion.

The pavilion had been built and installed under the direction of M. de Monzie, deputy and under-secretary of state for the Merchant Navy, whose brilliant role at the 1905 Liège Exhibition we had the opportunity to recall in a previous publication.

M. de Monzie had delegated to Ghent a man who, in Liege where he was then consul, was the skilful and devoted organiser of the colonial participation. Promoted since then to the important position of Consul General of France in Antwerp, Mr. Crozier assumed in Ghent, in addition to the above-mentioned functions, those of Commissioner of the Colonies.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de la Marine Marchande



Le Palais de la Marine marchande comportait un grand nombre de navires en réduction, jouets scientifiques, luxueux, qui évoquaient la mer, les grands voyages à bord de ces salons flottants que sont les grands transatlantiques modernes et dont les escales et les termes de voyages sont des noms de villes étranges, lumineuses, pleines de parfums : Tunis, Beyrouth, Aden, Singapour.

Les Forges et chantiers de la Méditerranée, les Chantiers et ateliers de St-Nazaire, les Chantiers de Provence, la Compagnie générale transatlantique, la Compagnie de messageries maritimes, la Société de Navigation Sud-Atlantique, exposaient les modèles les plus récents des grands paquebots qui, partis des ports français, sillonnent toutes les mers du monde, de même que des bateaux spéciaux affectés à la pêche, aux travaux de dragage, etc.

A côté de ces navires en miniatures qui faisaient rêver les esprits aventureux et les enfants, figuraient des appareils de sauvetage, des phares, le matériel des scaphandriers, etc.
Enfin, les expositions de la Compagnie universelle du Canal maritime de Suez et des grands ports français, ainsi que les graphiques émanant du bureau Veritas, de la Ligue Maritime française, etc., ajoutaient une note documentaire à l’aspect pittoresque du pavillon.

Celui-ci avait été édifié et installé sous la direction de M. de Monzie, député et sous-secrétaire d’Etat de la Marine marchande, dont nous avons eu l’occasion, dans une publication précédente, de rappeler le rôle brillant à l’Exposition de Liège en 1905.

M. de Monzie avait délégué à Gand, un homme, qui, à Liège où il était alors consul, fut l’organisateur habile et dévoué de la participation coloniale. Promu depuis lors aux importantes fonctions de consul général de France à Anvers, M. Crozier assumait à Gand, outre les fonctions susdites, celles de commissaire des colonies.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913