World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

French Food Palace

French Food Palace at the Exhibition Expo Ghent 1913

Side by side, along the Avenue des Nations, opposite the largest block of French halls, were the French Palais de l'Alimentation and the Palais de la Marine marchande.

The French food industry is world famous. The wines of France, the countless tasty products of all its regions, have for too long been at the very basis of the culinary art to need emphasis. Belgium, in particular, appreciates them too highly to insist on the merits of Champagne, Burgundy, Bordeaux, fine liqueurs, preserves, etc.; experience is better than any description.

The food group had provided a significant participation in Ghent. It included the principal French firms accustomed, since the Liège Exhibition of 1905, to giving the Belgian World's Fair their most eager and broadest support.

All classes of solid foods formed a group with choice products displayed in the luxury showcases. The general decoration consisted of draperies with friezes whose designs were appropriate to the nature of the foodstuffs.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de l'Alimentation Française


Palais de l'Alimentation Française à l'exposition de Gand 1913

Côte à côte, le long de l’avenue des Nations, en face du bloc le plus important des halls français, se trouvaient le Palais français de l’Alimentation et celui de la Marine marchande.

L’industrie de l’alimentation française jouit d’une renommée mondiale. Les vins de France, les innombrables et savoureux produits de toutes ses régions figurent, depuis trop longtemps, à la base même de l’art culinaire pour qu’il soit nécessaire d’insister à ce propos. Fa Belgique, notamment, les apprécie trop haut pour qu’il faille insister sur les mérites du Champagne, du Bourgogne, du Bordeaux, des liqueurs fines, des conserves, etc.; l’expérience vaut mieux que toute description.

Le groupe de l’alimentation avait fourni à Gand une participation importante. Il englobait les principales maisons françaises habituées, depuis l’Exposition de Liége de 1905, à apporter aux World’s Fair belges leur concours le plus empressé et le plus large.

Toutes les classes de l’alimentation solide formaient un ensemble réunissant les produits de choix disposés dans les vitrines de luxe. La décoration générale comportait des tentures avec frises dont les dessins étaient appropriés à la nature des denrées.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913