World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Gallery of Honour

Gallery of Honour at the Exhibition Ghent 1913

The Salon d'honneur, an artistic jewel, needed a brilliant and harmonious setting. In its immediate vicinity were the stands of jewellery and goldsmiths, national manufactures, furniture and bronzes, glassware, perfumery, clothing and couture; all inspired by the pure traditions of French art.

On the fringes of the Salon d'Honneur and the main façade of the Palace of Luxury Industries, there was the Gallery of Honour with its elegant yet simple showcases, where gold and silver objects of perfect taste shone; pure jewels glittered under the light filtered by the canopies; at the back of the gallery, columns framed the stands of the great Parisian furnishing houses; precious furniture, paintings and tapestries were admired. By its size, its luxury, its beauty, this gallery of honour gave a profound impression of grandeur; had it not been for the staff columns, it would have resembled rather some historic castle gallery than an exhibition bay.

At one end of the Hall of Honour was the compartment reserved for the products of the national manufactures of Sèvres, Gobelins and Beauvais, represented by the most beautiful specimens of their manufacture; the Sèvres manufactory had also contributed to the decoration of the hall of the Conference Room by decorating it with an immense portico in porcelain stoneware, eight metres long and five metres high, decorated with crystallized covers and stoneware sculptures.

Next to the Salon d'honneur, and in a not unattractive combination, was everything related to furniture and furnishings, a vast programme that was brought together by the Salon des Arts décoratifs modernes, a true synthesis of the efforts made in France towards a new decorative art. In this show, a concern for simplicity and comfort was revealed in a great sobriety of tones and lines, which contrasted singularly with the contortions and extravagances that doomed the "modem style" to an imminent death.

For the art of the ceramist, the tendency to search for rare but harmonious colours should be noted. The fine results obtained in this field by masters such as Daum and Gallé, to mention only two universally known names, are well known; they contributed to an aesthetic renaissance in the same way as Dalique in goldsmithing and jewellery.

In Ghent, the Salon des arts décoratifs modernes offered remarkable examples of these interesting attempts. One could compare modern trends with the classical styles to which several major furniture houses remain faithful, with constant good taste.

The bronze, bookshop and photography sections were no less attractive. As far as bronze art is concerned, Paris has retained a reputation bordering on a monopoly; and in Ghent one could admire remarkable specimens of the art of the founder and of his skill in closely following the work of the original.

Printing - typography and lithography - has continued the progress it has made for four and a half centuries. New machines increase production, while at the same time making them so perfect that any improvement now seems impossible.

The illustrated book, affordable to all, is the latest conquest of the French book trade; one notes with joy a search for beauty in the printing as well as in the binding; by taking up old types, publishers seek a new and adequate adaptation to the book.

This also applies to school editions; in short, books for the general public are presented in the guise of art editions.

A small compartment close to the Salon d'Honneur held the visitors. In a propitious darkness, tiny scenes showed their luminous decorations made of marvellous palaces and enchanting landscapes.

Echoing the preoccupations of Parisian theatre directors, concerning the art of staging, this compartment of theatrical equipment and accessories featured the talent of renowned decorators.

The music section was similar; modern music seems to be characterized by a profound science of modulations, so that it has been said that it is essentially chromatic, and, as a result, composers no longer confine themselves exclusively to the classical tonalities of the past.

In the class of musical instruments, the gramophone preserves the composer's thought and transmits it with the same fidelity as is, in the other classes of the graphic arts, that of the writer, the scholar or the artist.

Everywhere, moreover, this concern for art and truth dominated; the note of elegance existed as much in heating and lighting appliances as in musical instruments.

In the field of heating equipment, there were diagrams of hot water heating systems and related equipment, as well as sheet metal and cast iron coal stoves and gas stoves.

Finally, visitors could see how the problem of feeding large numbers of people had been solved by steam cooking.
Among the lighting devices, the ones that use electricity as a lighting power were especially noteworthy.

Everything that concerned the mechanical production and use of electricity, electrochemistry, electric lighting, telegraphy and telephony with or without wires, the various applications of electricity, etc., were represented in the French section.

It is known that for some years now, very interesting tests have been carried out in France for the telegraphic transmission of photographs. In the electricity section, the telephotography apparatus used for this purpose was presented by the Société des télégraphes Edouard Belin.

This was one of the most interesting aspects of French science in practice. In this connection, the chemical and pharmaceutical section was of great interest.

Organic chemistry stood out in the French Section in Ghent for the colouring matters it has created and whose collection is growing daily, as well as for the advantageous modifications it has made possible to apply to products taken from the bodies of animals.

Inorganic chemistry is progressing hand in hand with organic chemistry. The great industry which deals with the manufacture of mineral acids, common salts and mineral bases or alkalis, will always remain at the head of the chemical industries. It is this industry that has undergone the most important and interesting transformations. First of all, the soda industry has been profoundly modified in the last fifty years, since the ammonia soda process replaced the age-old Leblanc process. Then it was electrolytic soda ash which threatened ammonia ash and which might have been a disastrous competitor to it, had it found a use for the enormous quantities of chlorine it produces.

The Société chimique de France and the Institut de Chimie appliquée had, as it were, concentrated the latest progress made in this field, the former by bringing together the collections of products discovered by its members in recent years and by representing the effort made in the laboratories with a view to purely scientific work; the latter, by placing in the same showcase the products prepared by its students and those obtained by its scientific staff.

The serious aspects of science were opposed, thanks to the Salon des Humoristes, by the vivacity, gaiety and causticity of the French spirit.

All the visitors left this salon with a smile on their lips; cruel ironists, delving into the darkest and most abject corners of the human soul, these cartoonists sometimes made people laugh; they often left the bitter taste of their pessimism in their hearts, if they did not arouse the disgust of honest people.

Without doubt, the lesson was marked by an excessive realism; it was not suitable for everyone; but it was not lacking in power; under a seductive exterior, this salon gave some scathing or ferocious lessons; it "laughed at everything so as not to cry".

Alongside these spicy transcriptions of an excessively depraved life, we entered the realm of good-natured humour with Jean Veber, Hermann Paul, Moriss and Trochet, while Poulbot gave us a touching vision of a pretty, candid, often depraved Parisian childhood and Chéret translated his dreams of elegance and precious colours.

Let us compare the works of these "journalists", as the "pure" artists call them, with a little disdain, the amusing compartment of the articles of Paris; there is not a foreigner who, sitting in the evening on the terrace of a café in the Place de l'Opéra, has not been entertained by the spectacle of the hawkers offering their latest creation, some ingenious toy reproducing life itself with a truth and a picturesqueness that make one smile.

Some of these toys were to be found in the above-mentioned compartment; but one also noticed there the new orientation of the childish mind, scientific toys.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie d'Honneur


Galerie d'Honneur à l'exposition de Gand 1913

A ce joyau artistique qu’était le Salon d’honneur, il fallait un cadre brillant et harmonieux. Dans son voisinage immédiat, se trouvaient les stands de la bijouterie et de l’orfèvrerie, des manufactures nationales, de l’ameublement, du mobilier et des bronzes, de la verrerie, de la parfumerie, du vêtement et de la couture ; tous s’inspiraient des pures traditions de l’art français.

En marge du Salon d’honneur et de la façade principale du palais des Industries de luxe, se développait la galerie d’honneur avec ses vitrines à la fois élégantes et simples, où brillaient les objets d’or et d’argent d’un goût parfait ; de purs joyaux scintillaient sous la lumière tamisée par les vélums ; au fond de la galerie, des colonnes encadraient les stands des grandes maisons d’ameublement de Paris ; on y admirait des meubles précieux, des peintures, des tapisseries. Par son ampleur, son luxe, sa beauté, cette galerie d’honneur donnait une impression profonde de grandeur ; n’eussent été les colonnes de staff, elle eut ressemblé plutôt à quelque galerie de château historique qu’à une travée d’exposition.

A l’une des extrémités de la galerie d’honneur, se trouvait le compartiment réservé aux produits des manufactures nationales de Sèvres, des Gobelins, de Beauvais, représentées par les plus beaux spécimens de leur fabrication; la manufacture de Sèvres avait, en outre, contribué à la décoration du vestibule de la Salle des conférences en l’ornant d’un immense portique en grès cérame, de huit mètres de long sur cinq de haut, orné de couvertes cristallisées et de sculptures en grès.

A côté du Salon d’honneur et par un rapprochement qui ne manquait pas de piquant, figurait tout ce qui avait trait au mobilier et à l’ameublement, vaste programme que rassemblait le Salon des Arts décoratifs modernes, vraie synthèse des efforts tentés en France vers un art décoratif nouveau. Dans ce salon, s’avérait, dans une grande sobriété de tons et de lignes, un souci de simplicité et de confort qui contrastait singulièrement avec les contorsions et les extravagances qui vouent le « modem style » à une mort prochaine.

A noter pour l’art du céramiste, la tendance à la recherche de teintes rares mais harmonieuses. On connaît les beaux résultats obtenus dans ce domaine par des maîtres tels que Daum et Gallé, pour ne citer que deux noms universellement connus ; ils contribuent à une renaissance esthétique au même titre que Dalique dans l’orfèvrerie et le bijou.

A Gand, le Salon des arts décoratifs modernes offrait des spécimens remarquables de ces intéressantes tentatives. On pouvait comparer les tendances modernes avec les styles classiques auxquels restent fidèles, avec un bon goût constant, plusieurs grandes maisons d’ameublement.

Les compartiments des bronzes, de la librairie, de la photographie présentaient des attraits non moins vifs. Pour les bronzes d’art, Paris a conservé, on ne l’ignore point, une réputation voisine d’un monopole; et l’on pouvait admirer à Gand des spécimens remarquables de l’art du fondeur et de son habileté à serrer de près la facture de l’œuvre originale.

L’imprimerie — typographie et lithographie — a continué les progrès que, depuis quatre siècles et demi, elle ne cesse de réaliser. De nouvelles machines en augmentent la production, tout en leur faisant atteindre un degré de perfectionnement tel que toute amélioration semble désormais impossible.

Le livre illustré, d’un prix abordable à tous, est la dernière conquête de la librairie française ; on constate avec joie une recherche de belle tenue dans l’impression comme dans le cartonnage ; en reprenant d’anciens types de caractères, les éditeurs recherchent une adaptation neuve et adéquate au livre.

Cette remarque s’applique également aux éditions scolaires ; bref, des livres de vulgarisation se présentent sous l’aspect d’éditions d’art.

Un petit compartiment proche du Salon d’honneur, retenait les visiteurs. Dans une obscurité propice, de minuscules scènes montraient leurs décors lumineux faits de palais merveilleux et de paysages féériques.

Echo des préoccupations des directeurs de théâtres parisiens, touchant l’art de la mise en scène, ce compartiment du matériel et des accessoires de l’Art théâtral mettait en vedette le talent de décorateurs renommés.

Le compartiment de la musique était voisin ; la musique moderne semble avoir pour caractéristique une science profonde des modulations; ce qui fait qu’on a pu dire qu’elle est essentiellement chromatique, et, par suite, que les compositeurs ne se confinent plus exclusivement dans les tonalités classiques du passé.

Dans la classe des instruments de musique, le gramophone conserve la pensée du compositeur et la transmet avec la même fidélité que l’est, dans les autres classes des arts graphiques, celle du littérateur, du savant ou de l’artiste.

Partout, du reste, ce souci d’art et de vérité dominait ; la note d’élégance existait aussi bien dans les appareils de chauffage et d’éclairage que dans les instruments de musique.

Dans le domaine des appareils de chauffage, on notait à côté des fourneaux en tôle et fonte à charbon de terre et des fourneaux à gaz, des schémas d’installations de chauffage à l’eau chaude et des appareils y relatifs.

Enfin, les visiteurs pouvaient prendre connaissance de la façon dont le problème de la nourriture de personnels nombreux avait été résolu par la cuisine à la vapeur.
Parmi les appareils d’éclairage, on remarquait spécialement ceux qui utilisent l’électricité comme pouvoir éclairant.

Tout ce qui concernait la production et l’utilisation mécanique de l’électricité, l’électrochimie, l’éclairage électrique, la télégraphie et la téléphonie avec ou sans fil, les applications diverses de l’électricité, etc., étaient représentés dans la section française.

On sait que depuis quelques années, des essais très intéressants ont été effectués en France pour la transmission télégraphique des photographies. Dans le compartiment de l’électricité, les appareils de téléphotographie utilisés pour cet usage étaient présentés par la Société des télégraphes Edouard Belin.

C’était là un des côtés les plus intéressants de la science française mise en pratique. Dans cet ordre d’idées, signalons le grand intérêt que présentait le compartiment des produits chimiques et de la pharmacie.

La chimie organique se faisait remarquer, dans la Section française à Gand, par les matières colorantes qu’elle a créées et dont la collection s’enrichit chaque jour, ainsi que par les modifications avantageuses qu’elle a permis d’imprimer à des produits retirés du corps des animaux.

La chimie minérale progresse de pair avec la chimie organique. La grande industrie qui s’occupe de la fabrication des acides minéraux, des sels usuels et des bases minérales ou alcalis, restera toujours à la tête des industries chimiques. C’est elle qui a subi les transformations les plus importantes et les plus intéressantes. C’est d’abord l’industrie de la soude qui a été profondément modifiée dans les cinquante dernières années, depuis que le procédé de la soude à l’ammoniaque est venu remplacer le procédé séculaire de Leblanc. Puis, c’est la soude électrolytique qui a menacé la soude à l’ammoniaque et qui lui aurait fait peut être une concurrence désastreuse, si elle avait trouvé l’emploi des énormes quantités de chlore qu’elle produit.

La Société chimique de France et l’Institut de Chimie appliquée, avaient, en quelque sorte, concentré les derniers progrès réalisés dans ce domaine, la première en réunissant les collections des produits découverts par ses membres dans les dernières années et en représentant l’effort fait dans les laboratoires en vue de travaux purement scientifiques; le second, en plaçant dans une même vitrine les produits préparés par ses élèves et ceux obtenus par son personnel scientifique.

Aux aspects graves de la Science, voici que s’opposaient, grâce au Salon des humoristes, la vivacité, la gaieté et la causticité de l’esprit français.

Tous les visiteurs sortaient de ce salon avec le sourire aux lèvres ; ironistes cruels, fouillant dans les coins les plus obscurs comme les plus abjects de l’âme humaine, ces dessinateurs faisaient rire parfois; ils laissaient souvent dans le cœur le goût amer de leur pessimisme, s’ils ne soulevaient le dégoût des honnêtes gens.

Sans doute, la leçon était empreinte d’un réalisme excessif ; elle ne convenait pas à tout le monde ; mais elle ne manquait pas de puissance ; sous des dehors séduisants, ce salon donnait quelques leçons cinglantes ou féroces ; il « riait de tout pour ne pas en pleurer ».

A côté de ces transcriptions pimentées d’une vie trop dépravée, on pénétrait avec Jean Veber, Hermann Paul, Moriss, Trochet, dans le domaine de la cocasserie bon enfant, tandis que Poulbot nous donnait une vision attendrissante de l’enfance parisienne jolie, candide, souvent dépravée et que Chéret traduisait ses rêves d’élégance et de teintes précieuses.

Rapprochons des œuvres de ces « journalistes » comme les appellent, avec un peu de dédain, les artistes « purs », l’amusant compartiment des articles de Paris ; il n’est pas un étranger qui, assis le soir, à la terrasse d’un café de la place de l’Opéra, ne se soit diverti au spectacle des camelots offrant leur dernière création, quelque jouet ingénieux reproduisant la vie elle-même avec une vérité et un pittoresque qui font sourire.

On trouvait quelques-uns de ces jouets dans le compartiment susdit; mais on y remarquait aussi l’orientation nouvelle de l’esprit enfantin, des jouets scientifiques.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913