Back - List of Pavilions

Ceramic - Expo Ghent 1913

Ceramic at the Exhibition Expo Ghent 1913

Ceramics contributed to the exceptional success of the English section in Brussels in 1910; it was the same in Ghent.

A great variety of shapes and colours, a pleasing presentation of the products, their admirable technique, the artistic value of many of the objects exhibited, the harmonious general arrangement gave the double ceramics gallery a brilliant and impressive appearance.

The jasper pottery, known as "Adams Pottery", was decorated with white relief subjects on a coloured background, usually blue, sometimes green or black; the same firm, W. Adams and C° of Staffordshire, imitated the black basalt vases produced by the Egyptians in the time of the Pharaohs.

The Ashby potters' guild of Woodville, whose pottery series included some superb flamed reds, is true art pottery, handmade by the ancient methods.

The Crown Staffordshire porcelain Cy exhibited a remarkable collection of wares based on the types of the old Worcester (1751-1847), Cheslaes, Swanseas, Lowestofts.

The Royal Potteries of Doultou Lambeth and Bussbun exhibited salt-glazed, clay-decorated, open-fired stoneware and Raby-decorated services and vases; a large central display case contained specimens of the famous flaming red vases, marvellous in design and colour; no series offered such a range of colour; the brilliance and intensity of colour were truly admirable.

The products of the Bernard Moore firm presented the whole range of the warmest colouring, Persian blue earthenware, oxblood, peach velvet, bean, flaming red, with changing glazes, with metallic reflections.

Amongst the Ruskin pottery, there were unique specimens of rare beauty, without any attempt at imitation; the firm of W. Howson Taylor obtains its shapes from the potter's wheel; its concern is the richness of the colour as well as its delicacy. The "flambés" are all unique pieces fired at high temperature.
The products of Wegdwood and C° have an ornamentation based on mazarin blue, which is skilfully combined with a gold decoration accentuated by the beauty of the clay and the brilliance of the glaze.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Céramique


Céramique à l'exposition de Gand 1913

La céramique contribua au succès exceptionnel de la section anglaise à Bruxelles en 1910 ; il en fut de même à Gand.

Une grande variété de formes et de couleurs, une présentation heureuse des produits, leur admirable technique, la valeur artistique d’un grand nombre des objets exposés, l’harmonieuse disposition générale donnaient à la double galerie de la céramique un aspect aussi brillant qu’impressionnant.

Les poteries en jaspe, dites « Poteries Adams » étaient ornées de sujets en relief blanc sur fond coloré, habituellement bleu, parfois vert ou noir ; la même firme W. Adams et C° de Staffordshire imite les vases en basalte noir que produisaient les Egyptiens au temps des Pharaons.

La série des poteries de The Ashby potters’ guild de Woodville, comprenait des rouges flambés superbes ; c’est de la vraie poterie d’art, faite à la main d’après les méthodes anciennes.

The Crown Staffordshire porcelain Cy exposait une remarquable collection de produits d’après les types du vieux Worcester (1751-1847), de Cheslaes, de Swanseas, des Lowestofts.

Les Poteries royales de Doultou Lambeth et Bussbun exposaient des grès vernis au sel, décorés dans l’argile et cuits à feu ouvert, ainsi que des services et vases décorés par Raby ; une grande vitrine centrale contenait des spécimens merveilleux de dessin et de coloris des fameux vases au rouge flambé ; nulle série n’offrait pareille gamme de couleur ; le brillant et l’intensité du coloris étaient réellement admirables.

Les produits de la firme Bernard Moore présentaient toute la gamme de la plus chaude coloration, faïence bleu de Perse, sang de bœuf, velours de pêche, haricot, rouge flambé, à glacis changeants, à reflets métalliques.

Parmi les poteries « Ruskin », il y avait des spécimens uniques d’une rare beauté, sans aucune recherche d’imitation ; la firme W. Howson Taylor obtient ses formes sur la roue du potier ; sa préoccupation est la richesse du coloris comme sa délicatesse. Les « flambés » sont toutes pièces uniques cuites à haute température.
Les produits de Wegdwood et C° ont une ornementation à base de bleu mazarin se mariant habilement à une décoration en or accentuée par la beauté de la pâte comme par le brillant du vernis.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913