Back - List of Pavilions

English Indies - Expo Ghent 1913

Missing picture

The English Indies were represented in Ghent by the pretty India pavilion, situated at the entrance to the Avenue des Nations, almost at its outlet into the Avenue du Belvédère. Burnt down at the beginning of the Exhibition, it was rebuilt with astonishing speed, and it can be said that this unfortunate fact had only one consequence for it: that of seeing the influx of visitors increase.

Its distinguished curator-owner was Mr. F. J. Bhumgara, whose houses are in London and in India, in Bombay, Madras, Kasmira and Amristar.

The pavilion displayed hand-woven carpets and rugs from the Kashemire district, superb in design and colour, hand-painted curtains from models copied from ancient temples and tombs, admirable curtains in exquisite hues, embroideries in cloth, plush, satin, executed in Madras and Agra. Some of them, in silk and gold with oriental designs of great originality, were truly remarkable.

The admiration of the visitors was still attached to the screens carved in teak wood, tables carved in rosewood with very fine inlays, and finally boxes carved in sandalwood, inlaid with silver and decorated with filigree carved ivory.

This interesting and charming pavilion will certainly have contributed to making known the marvellous indigenous works accomplished in India, but whose art and interest we do not yet know.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Indes Anglaises



Les Indes anglaises étaient représentées à Gand par le joli pavillon India, situé à l’entrée de l’Avenue des Nations, presque au débouché de celle-ci dans l’avenue du Belvédère. Incendié au début de l’Exposition, il fut reconstruit avec une rapidité étonnante et l’on peut dire que ce fait malheureux n’eut pour lui qu’une conséquence : celui d’y voir augmenter l’afflux des visiteurs.

Son distingué commissaire-propriétaire était M. F. J. Bhumgara, dont les maisons se trouvent à Londres et aux Indes, à Bombay, Madras, Kasmira et Amristar.

On admirait dans le pavillon des tapis et carpettes tissés à la main dans le district de Kashemire, superbes de dessin et de couleur, des rideaux peints à la main d’après des modèles copiés dans les temples et les tombeaux anciens, rideaux admirables aux teintes exquises, des broderies en drap, peluche, satin, exécutées à Madras et à Agra. Certaines, en soie et or avec dessins orientaux de grande originalité, étaient réellement remarquables.

L’admiration des visiteurs s’attachait encore à des paravents sculptés en bois de teck, des tables sculptées en palissandre avec incrustations très fines, enfin des boîtes sculptées en bois de santal, incrustées d’argent et ornementées d’ivoire sculpté à filigrane.

Cet intéressant et coquet pavillon aura certes contribué à faire connaître les merveilleux travaux indigènes accomplis aux Indes, mais dont nous ne connaissons pas encore tout l’art et l’intérêt.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913