Back - List of Pavilions

Romania -

Missing picture

Romania is still one of those countries whose participation in our World's Fairs we are used to expect.

An agricultural country and one of the principal producers of oil in Europe, still remarkable for the original art of its indigenous objects, possessing in addition renowned intellectual centres, it has everything to impose itself on the attention of the public visiting our exhibitions.

It would certainly have participated in the Ghent Exhibition in a grandiose way, if the Balkan wars had not impeded it.
Nevertheless, the Romanian Permanent Committee for the participation in foreign exhibitions wanted Romania to take its place among the great countries that appeared in Ghent. The distinguished and devoted delegate of the Romanian Committee, Mr. Charles V. Correni, whom more than thirty years of experience has made a master in this field, created an attractive and original section in Ghent.

In a frame decorated with national art motifs, this section grouped together elegant showcases where beautiful Romanian embroideries were the main feature. In addition, busts of elegant women and a mannequin representing a Romanian peasant woman in her picturesque attire revealed the graceful use that fashion can and does make of embroidery.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Roumanie



La Roumanie est encore un de ces pays dont nous sommes habitués à escompter la participation à nos World’s Fairs.

Pays agricole et l’un des principaux producteurs de pétrole en Europe, remarquable encore par l’art original des objets indigènes, possédant au surplus des centres intellectuels renommés, il a tout pour s’imposer à l’attention du public visiteur de nos expositions.

Il eut certes participé à l’Exposition de Gand d’une façon grandiose, si les guerres balkaniques n’y avaient mis leur entrave.
Le Comité permanent roumain pour la participation aux expositions étrangères, voulut néanmoins que la Roumanie prit place parmi les grands pays qui figurèrent à Gand. Te distingué et dévoué délégué du Comité roumain, M. Charles V. Correni, qu’une expérience de plus de trente années a fait un maître dans ce domaine, réalisa à Gand une coquette et originale section.

Dans un cadre orné de motifs d’art national, cette section groupait d’élégantes vitrines où se mettaient surtout en vedette de jolies broderies roumaines. En outre, des bustes d’élégantes et un mannequin représentant une paysanne roumaine dans ses pittoresques atours, révélaient le parti gracieux que la mode peut et sait tirer de la broderie.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913