Back - List of Pavilions

Japan - Expo Ghent 1913

Missing picture

Japan, whose participation in our great exhibitions had extended the trade with our country, could not ignore the great World's Fair of Ghent. Senator Halot, one of the most distinguished and sympathetic personalities in the world of our exhibitions, took charge in Ghent of the organisation of the country's section, of which he is the devoted and active imperial consul. Thanks to his care and initiative, the Japanese section occupied a space of more than one thousand square metres in the international hall.

In a very Japanese decoration, light stands were set up where, to the great joy of lovers of exoticism, Japanese men and women presented to visitors the objects entrusted to their care. One could admire embroidery, porcelain, bronzes, lacquerware, ivories, antique pieces and artificial flowers.

Your Belgo-Japanese Study Society, created to facilitate and extend relations between the two countries, had exhibited in this section a host of documents which proved the care and solicitude it brings to the difficult but so useful mission it has assigned itself.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Japon



Le Japon, dont les participations à nos grandes expositions avait étendu le commerce avec notre pays, ne pouvait se désintéresser de la grande World’s Fair deGand. M. le sénateur Halot, une des personnalités les plus distinguées et les plus sympathiques du monde de nos expositions, se chargea à Gand de l’organisation de la section du pays, dont il est le dévoué et actif consul impérial. Grâce à ses soins, à son initiative, la section japonaise occupa dans le hall international un espace de plus de mille mètres carrés.

Dans une décoration toute japonaise, s’installèrent des stands légers où, pour la plus grande joie des amateurs d’exotisme, des Japonais et des Japonaises présentaient aux visiteurs les objets confiés à leurs soins. On y admirait des broderies, des porcelaines, des bronzes, des laques, des ivoires, des pièces antiques, des fleurs artificielles.

Ta société d’études Belgo-Japonaise, créée pour faciliter et étendre les relations entre les deux pays, avait exposé dans cette section une foule de documents qui prouvaient les soins et la sollicitude qu’elle apporte dans la difficile mais si utile mission qu’elle s’est assignée.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913