World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Persia

Persia at the Exhibition Expo Ghent 1913

The initiative for Persian participation was taken by Mr. Louis Coetermans, Consul General of the Persian Empire in Belgium. He obtained without hesitation the approval and the most emphatic support of His Excellency Mammouhd Khan, Minister Plenipotentiary of His Majesty the Shah to the King of the Belgians. The Minister of Foreign Affairs in Tehran, His Excellency Vossough-ed-Dvoleh, a friend of Belgium, gave his patronage without hesitation. Mr. Georges Van Oost, industrialist and consul of Persia in Ghent, joined his efforts to those of Mr. Coetermans; an organising committee was set up; it was composed of His Excellency Vossough-ed-Dvoleh and His Excellency Mammouhd Khan, honorary presidents; L. Coetermans, president; G. Van Oost, general commissioner; Paul Dautricourt, general secretary and Ferd. Nève, secretary. For the technical part of the project, they enlisted the help of the architect Van de Voorde and two well-known Ghent painters, the Cornélis brothers.

A patronage committee was set up, comprising numerous notabilities from Persia, Belgium and France.

The organisers agreed on a programme that could be summarised as follows:
"Persia is a great country that is too little known in Belgium, although its resources and wealth make it a powerful interest and it could constitute a vast field of action for their industrial and commercial activity. This would be all the more easy, as the Belgians are highly esteemed in Persia where they enjoy great confidence: it is indeed Belgians who occupy the highest positions in most of the ministerial administrations, finance, customs and postal services; the services they render there have acquired serious sympathy for our country.

On the other hand, the Persian is intelligent, of a gentle, pleasant and sociable character; it is industrious and commercial.

We may add that Persia delivers annually for export enormous sums of manufactured goods and products of the soil, which she receives from abroad from manufacturers of all kinds for even greater sums.
Now, the market is in the hands of the Germans; let the Belgians take an interest in Persia, let them establish trading posts there, let them send agents there and they will soon find, for their export trade, important outlets, thus making their neighbours across the Rhine, the most formidable competition. "

The organisers were able to put this thesis into practice. They decided that the Persian section would not be installed, as at previous exhibitions, in a portion of the halls, but that it would have its own palace, where it alone would be master. To this end, they had a pretty pavilion built on the Avenue des Nations between the Palais International des Beaux-Arts and the Palais de l'Architecture, of which the architect Van de Voorde and the painters Cornélis created a little marvel that attracted visitors and kept them there for a long time.

On the outside, the oriental-style facade attracted attention and flattered the eyes with its many polychrome colours. Inside, an entrance hall, at the top of which was a decorative frieze representing the archers of Darius, was separated from the neighbouring halls by colonnades reminiscent of those of the palace of Darius; at the back of the palace, arranged in such a way as to strike the public on its arrival, was a reception room of the purest national taste and a magnificent diorama representing the ancient and picturesque city of Tehran.

Compartments reserved for exhibition stands indicated that Persia produces dates, grapes, almonds, wheat, rose essences, tobacco, cotton in abundance, and that these forests can provide a large quantity of sought-after and first-class wood. Persians are manufacturers; they make fabrics, highly appreciated carpets, earthenware and charming, original and artistic porcelain; they work metals and leather with skill and talent.

A stand was reserved for documentation: there were numerous brochures, as well as detailed tables on the import and export of Persian trade.

We cannot dwell on this subject, but we must insist that our compatriots take advantage of the information given to them by the organisers of the Persian section, to whom we are pleased to offer our warm and sincere congratulations. They have done well for Persia and Belgium; for the other they have rendered a signal service.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Perse


Perse à l'exposition de Gand 1913

L’initiative de la participation de la Perse est due à M. Louis Coetermans, consul général de l’Empire persan en Belgique. Il obtint sans hésitation l’approbation et l’appui le plus empressé de Son Excellence Mammouhd Khan, ministre plénipotentiaire de Sa Majesté le Shah auprès du Roi des Belges. Le ministre des affaires étrangères de Téhéran, Son Excellence Vossough-ed-Dvoleh, un ami de la Belgique, accorda sans hésitation, son patronage. M. Georges Van Oost, industriel et consul de Perse à Gand, joignit ses efforts à ceux de M. Coetermans ; un comité d’organisation fut constitué ; il fut composé de Son Excellence Vossough-ed-Dvoleh et Son Excellence Mammouhd Khan, présidents d’honneur; L. Coetermans, président ; G. Van Oost, commissaire général ; Paul Dautricourt, secrétaire général et Ferd. Nève, secrétaire. Ils s’adjoignirent, pour la partie technique, la collaboration de M. l’architecte Van de Voorde et de deux peintres gantois réputés, les frères Cornélis.

Une commission de patronage, comprenant de nombreuses notabilités de Perse, de Belgique et de France, fut instituée.

Les organisateurs se mirent d’accord sur le programme à réaliser, programme qui peut être ainsi résumé :
« La Perse est un grand pays trop ignoré en Belgique, bien qu’elle présente par ses ressources et par ses richesses un puissant intérêt et qu’elle puisse constituer un vaste champ d’action pour leur activité industrielle et commerciale. Cela serait d’autant plus aisé, que les Belges sont très estimés en Perse où ils jouissent d’une grande confiance : ce sont en effet des Belges qui occupent les plus hautes fonctions dans la plupart des administrations ministérielles, les finances, les douanes et les postes ; les services qu’ils y rendent ont acquis à notre pays de sérieuses sympathies.

D’autre part, le persan est intelligent, d’un caractère doux, agréable et sociable; il est industrieux et commerçant.

Nous ajouterons que la Perse livre annuellement à l’exportation pour des sommes énormes de produits manufacturés et de produits du sol qu’elle reçoit de l’étranger des fabricants de tous genres pour des sommes plus considérables encore.
Or, le marché est aux mains des Allemands ; que les Belges s’intéressent à la Perse, qu’ils y fondent des comptoirs, qu’ils y envoient des agents et ils y jV trouveront bientôt, pour leur commerce d’exportation, d’importants débouchés, faisant ainsi à leurs voisins d’outre Rhin, la plus redoutable concurrence. »

Cette thèse, les organisateurs surent très pratiquement la mettre en évidence. Ils décidèrent que la section persane ne serait pas installée, comme aux expositions précédentes, dans une portion de halls, mais qu’elle aurait son palais, où seule elle serait maîtresse. A cette fin, ils firent construire à l’avenue des Nations entre le Palais international des Beaux-Arts et celui de l’Architecture, un coquet pavillon dont l’architecte Van de Voorde et les peintres Cornélis firent une petite merveille, qui attirait les visiteurs et les retenait longuement.

A l’extérieur, la façade de style oriental attirait les regards et flattait les yeux par la multiplicité de ses teintes polychromes. A l’intérieur, un vestibule d’entrée, au sommet duquel se voyait une frise décorative représentant les archers de Darius, était séparé des halls voisins par des colonnades rappelant celles du palais de Darius ; au fond du palais, disposés de façon à frapper le public dès son arrivée, un salon de réception du plus pur goût national et un magnifique diorama représentant l’antique et pittoresque cité de Téhéran.

Des compartiments réservés aux stands d’exposition indiquaient que la Perse produit en abondance des dattes, des raisins, des amandes, du froment, des essences de roses, du tabac, du coton, et que ces forêts peuvent fournir en quantité des bois recherchés et de premier choix. Des Persans sont manufacturiers; ils fabriquent des étoffes, des tapis très appréciés, des faïences et des porcelaines charmantes, originales et artistiques ; ils travaillent les métaux et le cuir avec adresse et talent.

Un stand était réservé à la documentation : on y trouvait de nombreuses brochures, ainsi que des tableaux détaillés sur l’importation et l’exportation du commerce persan.

Nous ne pouvons nous étendre à ce sujet, mais nous devons insister pour que nos compatriotes tirent profit des renseignements que leur ont donnés les organisateurs de la section persane, à qui nous nous faisons un plaisir d’adresser nos vives et sincères félicitations. Ils ont bien mérité de la Perse et de la Belgique; à l’autre ils ont rendu un signalé service.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913