World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Hollande

Hollande at the Exhibition Ghent 1913

The participation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands was official. The organisation was entrusted to a commission composed of Mr. Th. Stuart, Commissioner General, Mr. Bernard Veldhuis, Secretary General, and Mr. G. Fabius, Treasurer. A committee chaired by Mr. J. G. Van Hemert, assisted by Messrs. Boissevain, vice-president and secretary, took care of the colonial part.

The Dutch palace, situated on the Avenue des Nations, between the French Navy palace and the Belgian palace of Mines, Metallurgy and Small Tools, had been designed by Mr. Van de Voorde in a style inspired by Dutch constructions; its gables, its bulbous turret, its sloping roof, dotted with charming dormer windows, had a very marked national character. From the whole of the products exhibited, a lesson of things emerged which Mr. Hubert brought out with infinite appropriateness in the magnificent speech which he pronounced at the inauguration of the Dutch section.

The most perfect order had indeed presided over the interior arrangement of the palace. The industrial arts were particularly well represented there; the silver and silverware, the earthenware, the ceramics, excellent in material and form and known everywhere, the pottery, bulging or curiously contoured, of colours both delicate and savoury, seemed ready to leave their display cases or exhibition stands to be placed
on old burnished oak sideboards, or take their place on window sills and reflect on their varnished sides some pretty harbour landscape or the green meadow on the horizon of which a windmill erects the cross of its wings.

In the field of decorative art, sculpture was a real revelation. At the back of the main hall stood a large altarpiece which showed a real concern for art and an undeniable mastery of the craft; its creator devoted ten years of his life to the creation of this work.

Among the other products of the Dutch Section were magnificent leathers, books, especially art books, and engravings that reminded us that the Holland of the Elzeviers had not let the traditions of good taste, care and art that made it famous in the past be lost.

In addition to the products of the general classification, a colonial section presented the products of India, and the government of the Mother Country pointed out its social and hygienic institutions.

The Ministry of Justice exhibited documents relating to the penitentiary system. The Ministries of Agriculture, Industry, and Public Works, likewise testified, by the elements of appreciation which they placed before us, to their concern to respond to the economic development of the nation, by a constant improvement of all that could favour cultivation and breeding, the situation of the workers as well as the great public services.

No less interesting was the area of maritime facilities. Holland was a master in every respect, in that of the ports and their equipment, as well as in that of the comfort of the new large liners and their speed.

But Holland's participation in the Ghent Exhibition was much broader. Although this is not the place to speak of it specially, it would be to diminish the scope of the so cordial gesture of Holland towards our country, if we did not recall the glorious participation of its horticulturists in the Floralies, of its athletes in the great sports competitions, of its artists in the International Exhibition of Fine Arts.

The Belgians, and especially the people of Ghent, grateful for the powerful element of success brought by Holland to their World's Fair, will not lose the memory of it; they will associate to it the memory of the kind and sympathetic Mr. Stuart, the distinguished Commissioner General of the Dutch Government.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Hollande


Hollande à l'exposition de Gand 1913

La participation du Royaume des Pays-Bas fut officielle. L’organisation en fut confiée à une commission composée de MM. Th. Stuart, commissaire général, Bernard Veldhuis, secrétaire général, et G. Fabius, trésorier. Un comité présidé par M. J. G. Van Hemert, secondé par MM. H. C. Rehbock et C. Boissevain, vice-président et secrétaire, s’occupa de la partie coloniale.

Le palais de la Hollande, situé à l’Avenue des Nations, entre le palais de la Marine française et le palais belge des Mines, de la Métallurgie et du petit outillage, avait été conçu par M. Van de Voorde dans une donnée s’inspirant des constructions hollandaises ; ses pignons, sa tourelle bulbeuse, son toit à versants, semé de charmantes lucarnes, avait un caractère national très marqué. De l’ensemble des produits exposés, se dégageait une leçon de choses que M. le ministre Hubert fit ressortir avec infiniment d’à propos dans le magnifique discours qu’il prononça lors de l’inauguration de la section néerlandaise.

L’ordre le plus parfait avait en effet présidé à l’arrangement intérieur du palais. Les arts industriels y étaient particulièrement bien représentés ; les orfèvreries et les argenteries, les faïences, les céramiques, excellentes de matières et de forme et connues partout, des poteries ventrues ou curieusement contournées, de teintes à la fois délicates et savoureuses, semblaient prêtes à quitter leurs vitrines ou les stands d’exposition pour se placer
sur de vieux bahuts de chêne bruni, ou prendre place sur Kappui de fenêtre et refléter, sur leurs flancs vernis, quelque joli paysage de port ou la prairie verte à l’horizon de laquelle un moulin à vent érige la croix de ses ailes.

Dans le domaine de l’art décoratif, la sculpture constitua une vraie révélation. Au fond du salon d’honneur, se dressait un grand retable d’autel qui témoignait d’un réel souci d’art et d’une maîtrise de métier incontestable ; son auteur consacra dix années de sa vie à la réalisation de cette œuvre.

Parmi les autres produits de la Section hollandaise, on remarquait des cuirs magnifiques, des livres, surtout des livres d’art et des gravures qui rappelaient que la Hollande des Elzéviers n’avait pas laissé se perdre les traditions de bon goût, de soins et d’art, qui la rendirent célèbre dans le passé.

En dehors des produits ressortissants à la classification générale, une section coloniale faisait connaître les produits des Indes, et le gouvernement de la Mère-patrie signalait ses institutions sociales et d’hygiène.

Le ministère de la justice exposait des documents relatifs au système pénitentiaire. Les ministères de l’Agriculture, de l’Industrie, des Travaux publics, témoignaient de même, par les éléments d’appréciation qu’ils nous mettaient sous les yeux, de leur souci de répondre au développement économique de la nation, par une amélioration constante de tout ce qui pouvait favoriser la culture et l’élevage, la situation des ouvriers aussi bien que les grands services publics.

Un compartiment non moins intéressant était celui des installations maritimes. La Hollande y faisait figure de maître, dans tous les domaines, dans celui des ports et de leur outillage, aussi bien que dans celui du confort apporté aux nouveaux grands paquebots et à leur vitesse.

Mais la participation de la Hollande à l’Exposition de Gand fut plus large. Bien que ce ne soit pas ici le lieu d’en parler spécialement, ce serait cependant amoindrir la portée du geste si cordial de la Hollande envers notre pays, si nous ne rappelions pas la participation glorieuse de ses horticulteurs aux Floralies, de ses athlètes aux grands concours sportifs, de ses artistes au Salon international des Beaux-Arts.

Les Belges, et surtout les Gantois, reconnaissants de l’élément puissant de succès apporté par la Hollande à leur World’s Fair, n’en perdront pas le souvenir; ils y associeront celui de l’aimable et sympathique M. Stuart, le distingué commissaire général du gouvernement néerlandais.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913