World and International Exhibition of Ghent 1913

Peace, Industry and Art

April 26, 1913 - November 3, 1913


Back - List of Pavilions

Spanish Section

Spanish Section at the Exhibition Ghent 1913

In spite of the proximity of the Brussels Exhibition of 1910, Spain wanted to be among the nations which, in 1913, on the occasion of the Ghent World's Fair, brought Belgium their tribute of sympathy. This fortunate fact, if it proves the benevolent attention with which Spain and its nationals follow our efforts and our great events, was also due, to a large extent, to the efforts and perseverance of Mr. Fuis Agusti y Monjonell, the Spanish Commissioner. It was thanks to his efforts and his persistent work that the Ghent Exhibition was able to include a Spanish section.

The efforts of the distinguished commissioner were followed with benevolent interest and encouraged by the eminent Spanish Minister in Brussels, the Marquis of Villalobar.

Mr. Agusti's collaborators were Mr. Sebastian Conas Rizzo, Mr. Alexander Hess and the lawyer Poil; the Spanish Government, wishing to show its interest in the enterprise, delegated Mr. Gustave Thienpont, Spanish consul in Ghent, to lend Mr. Agusti his good offices; these contributions made the Spanish section one of the most attractive and interesting of the Ghent World's Fair.

With its yellow tones, its architecture combining Moorish and Renaissance elements, it represented in an original and captivating way the great sunny country, which combines the commercial activity of the Arab with the artistic sense of the southern man. Its architect was, moreover, a man whose praise is superfluous here, Mr. Van de Voorde, the principal architect of the Exhibition.

In the interior, pretty and dashing showcases, scattered in a flowery setting, contained products relating to some of the groups of the general classification, to the bookstore and printing industries, to the chemical industries, to the clothing industries, to food, to jewellery and to goldsmiths. The stands of this last group were very conspicuous; Spanish jewellery is known and sought after for its originality, good taste, and fine workmanship.

The great Iberian kingdom thus had a very interesting representation in Ghent in 1913; unfortunately, shortly after its inauguration by our Minister of Industry, a fire destroyed the pavilion and the riches it contained.

The Commissioner, Mr. Luis Agusti y Monjonel, far from being discouraged, endeavoured to reconstitute a new section in the Avenue du Belvédère; the exhibitors sent in a new shipment of their products, which could still be submitted to the jury's appreciation.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Section Espagnole


Section Espagnole à l'exposition de Gand 1913

Malgré la proximité de l’Exposition de Bruxelles de 1910, l’Espagne voulut figurer parmi les nations qui, en 1913, à l’occasion de la World’s Fair gantoise, apportèrent à la Belgique leur tribut de sympathie. Ce fait heureux, s’il prouve l’attention bienveillante avec laquelle l’Espagne et ses nationaux suivent nos efforts et nos grandes manifestations, fut aussi dû, pour une bonne part, aux efforts et à la persévérance de M. Fuis Agusti y Monjonell, commissaire de l’Espagne. C’est grâce à ses démarches, à son travail opiniâtre, que l’Exposition de Gand dut la section espagnole.

Les efforts du distingué commissaire furent suivis avec un intérêt bienveillant et encouragés par l’éminent ministre d’Espagne à Bruxelles, M. le marquis de Villalobar.

Les collaborateurs de M. Agusti furent MM. Sébastien Conas Rizzo, Alexandre Hess et l’avocat Poil; le Gouvernement espagnol, voulant donner une preuve de l’intérêt qu’il portait à l’entreprise, délégua M. Gustave Thienpont, consul d’Espagne à Gand, pour prêter à M. Agusti ses bons offices ; ces concours firent de la section espagnole, l’une des plus jolies et des plus intéressantes de la World’s Fair gantoise.

Avec ses tons jaunes, son architecture où se mariaient les éléments mauresques et renaissance, il représentait d’une façon originale et prenante, le grand pays ensoleillé, qui joint à l’activité commerciale de l’arabe, le sens artistique de l’homme du midi. Son architecte fut du reste, un homme dont il est superflu de faire ici l’éloge, M. Van de Voorde, l’architecte principal de l’Exposition.

A l’intérieur, de coquettes et pimpantes vitrines, disséminées dans un cadre fleuri, renfermaient les produits qui se rapportaient à quelques-uns des groupes de la classification générale, à la librairie et à l’imprimerie, aux industries chimiques, aux industries du vêtement, à l’alimentation, à la joaillerie et à l’orfèvrerie. Les stands de ce dernier groupe étaient très remarqués; les bijoux espagnols sont connus et recherchés pour leur originalité, leur bon goût, et le fini de leur travail.

Le grand royaume Ibérique possédait donc à Gand, en 1913, une très intéressante représentation; malheureusement peu de temps après son inauguration par notre Ministre de l’Industrie, un incendie détruisit le pavillon et les richesses qu’il contenait.

Le Commissaire M. Luis Agusti y Monjonel, loin de se décourager, s’efforça de reconstituer une nouvelle section à l’avenue du Belvédère; les exposants firent un nouvel envoi de leurs produits qui purent encore être soumis aux appréciations du jury.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle & Internationale de Gand 1913