Back - List of Pavilions

General view -

Missing picture

The Yellow Zone offers many attractions. It is accessed through the West Gate, located near the intersection of Pacific Boulevard and Drake Street.

In the West Gate Plaza stands the Rowingbridge theme sculpture. Across the street, near the dock, the Xerox International Theatre presents music and dance performances from around the world.

Near the theatre are the British Columbia Television pavilion, the Telecom Canada pavilion, recognizable by its cylindrical roof that houses the 360 circular screen cinema, and the Republic of Korea pavilion with its traditional entrance.

To the north of these pavilions, thrills await you on the Cariboo Log Chute, Space Tower and Observatron rides.

On the other side of the rides, the Kodak Pacific Bowl forms the nucleus of a series of themed facilities: to the north, the stables and training grounds of the R.C.M.P.; to the south, the heliport, the Old Salts shipyard and a pool used for diving demonstrations.

The strikingly beautiful Ramses II Great Hall catches the eye. Inspired by one of the monumental temples of Rameses II, the pavilion takes the visitor on a journey of discovery through the life of the pharaoh.

Next to the Great Hall of Ramses II, the Spirit Catcher sculpture seems to take flight. On the water, you can see the floating snack bar of the exhibition.

On the way back east, visitors can relax at the Munich Festhaus, an authentic Bavarian beer hall.

Inside the Malaysian pavilion, visitors will be immediately struck by the natural beauty of this country.

Nearby, at the water's edge, the pavilions of California, Oregon and Washington surround the First US Interstate Court. Nearby, the United States pavilion completes the American constellation. This pavilion focuses on the theme of space exploration and its implications for humanity.

A walkway along the waterfront leads to the pavilions of the Ivory Coast and Cuba. At the southernmost end of the Yellow Zone is the General Motors pavilion.

The Air Canada West cable car connects the southeast of the Yellow Zone to the northeast of the Green Zone. The ferry dock is between Munich Festhaus and the California pavilion, and the Space Tower Monorail Station is between the Republic of Korea pavilion and the California pavilion.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vue Générale



La Zone jaune offre de nombreuses attractions. On y accède par la Porte Ouest, située près de l’intersection du boulevard Pacific et de la rue Drake.

Sur la Place de la Porte Ouest, se dresse la sculpture thématique Rowingbridge. En face, près du bassin, le Xerox International Theatre présente des spectacles de musique et de danse du monde entier.

À proximité du théâtre, se trouvent le pavillon de la British Columbia Television, celui de Télécom Canada, reconnaissable à son toit cylindrique qui abrite le cinéma à écran circulaire 360, et celui de la République de Corée avec son entrée traditionnelle.

Au nord de ces pavillons, des sensations fortes vous attendent aux manèges Cariboo Log Chute, Space Tower et Observatron.

De l’autre côté des manèges, le Kodak Pacific Bowl constitue le noyau d’un ensemble d’installations thématiques: au nord, les écuries et le terrain d’entraînement de la G.R.C.; au sud, l’héliport, le chantier naval Old Salts et un bassin servant aux démonstrations de plongée.

D’une beauté saisissante, la Grande salle Ramsès II attire l’oeil du visiteur. Inspiré de l’un des temples monumentaux de Ramsès II, le pavillon entraîne le visiteur à la découverte de la vie à l’époque de ce pharaon.

À côté de la Grande salle Ramsès II, la sculpture Spirit Catcher semble prendre son envol. Sur l’eau, on peut apercevoir le casse-croûte flottant de l’Exposition.

En revenant vers l’est, les visiteurs peuvent se détendre au Munich Festhaus, authentique brasserie bavaroise.

A l’intérieur du pavillon de la Malaisie, les visiteurs seront immédiatement frappés par la beauté naturelle de ce pays.

Tout près de là, au bord de l’eau, les pavillons de la Californie, de l'Oregon et du Washington entourent la Première Cour “Interstate” des États-Unis. Situé tout près, le pavillon des Etats-Unis complète la constellation américaine. Ce pavillon aborde le thème de l’exploration spatiale, ses tenants et ses aboutissants qui revêtent une grande importance par l’humanité.

Une promenade qui longe le bord de l’eau mène aux pavillons de la Côte d’ivoire et Cuba. À l’extrémité la plus au sud de la Zone jaune, se dresse le pavillon de General Motors.

Le téléphérique ouest d’Air Canada relie le sud-est de la Zone jaune au nord-est de la Zone verte. Le quai du traversier se trouve entre Munich Festhaus et le pavillon de la Californie, et la Station de Monorail du manège Space Tower, entre le pavillon de la République de Corée et ce manège.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86