Back - List of Pavilions

General view

General view at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986
© Guide Officiel - Expo'86

Located to the west of the Red Zone, the Blue Zone offers visitors an exciting array of activities. The centre of night-time entertainment on the site, this zone invites night owls to come and experience Expo by night.

Every night, the biggest stars of the entertainment world appear on the bill. In False Creek, in front of the "Place des Noctambules", superb fireworks, launched from barges, inaugurate the late night activities.

The Stadium Gate, one of the four gates of Expo, opens onto the Place des Nations, overlooked by the British Columbia pavilion. In the square, Expo Ernie welcomes visitors. Outside the Stadium Gate is the B.C. Place Stadium where the Opening Ceremony took place on May 2. Various trade shows and exhibitions are also held here.

The B.C. Pavilion is the focal point of the Blue Zone and is already part of the B.C. heritage.

The Challenge B.C. and Showcase B.C. buildings of the BC Pavilion flank the Place des Nations. Theatre, musicals, food, dance and cabaret are the late night menu at Showcase B.C.

The nerve centre of Expo, these two buildings house the offices of the Commissioner General, the President and the Operations and Entertainment Division. In addition, the International Media Centre in the Challenge B.C. building provides comprehensive facilities for the many journalists.

Discovery B.C. is the third building in the host province pavilion and is an imposing glass and steel structure. Along its front, boats from the British Columbia coast are moored.

The multicoloured flags of the participating countries adorn the perimeter of the Place des Nations, where concerts and fairground shows take place. National and special days honour the participants, and regional BC Weeks highlight the culture of the province.

The Monorail runs over the square and stops at the Stadium Gate Station.

Near the water, the Philadelphia Toboggan Company's Carousel is one of five rides at EXP0 86. Built in 1907, it offers a nostalgic ride on its old carved wooden horses.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vue Générale


Vue Générale à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Guide Officiel - Expo'86

Située à l’ouest de la Zone rouge, la Zone bleue offre aux visiteurs un feu roulant d’activités. Centre des divertissements nocturnes sur le site, cette zone convie les couche-tard à venir vivre Expo la nuit.

Paraissent à l’affiche, tous les soirs, les plus grandes vedettes du monde du spectacle. Dans False Creek, devant la “Place des Noctambules”, de superbes feux d’artifice, lancés à partir de barges, inaugurent les activités de fin de soirée.

La Porte du Stade, l’une des quatre portes de l’Expo, donne sur la Place des Nations que domine le pavillon de la Colombie-Britannique. Sur la place, Expo Ernie accueille les visiteurs. A l’extérieur de la Porte du Stade, se trouve le Stade B.C. Place où s’est déroulée, le 2 mai, la Cérémonie d’ouverture. Diverses présentations et expositions commerciales y ont également lieu.

Ensemble de trois bâtiments, le pavillon de la Colombie-Britannique est le pôle d’attraction de la Zone bleue et appartient d’ores et déjà au patrimoine de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les édifices Challenge B.C. et Showcase B.C. du pavillon de la Colombie-Britannique flanquent la Place des Nations. Théâtre, comédies musicales, repas, danse et cabaret, voilà le menu de fin de soirée que vous propose Showcase B.C.

Centre nerveux de l’Expo, ces deux édifices abritent les bureaux du Commissaire général, du Président ainsi que de la division de l’exploitation et des spectacles. En outre, le Centre international des médias, dans l’édifice Challenge B.C. offre aux nombreux journalistes des installations complètes.

Imposante structure de verre et d’acier, Discovery B.C. est le troisième édifice du pavillon de la province-hôtesse. Le long de sa façade, mouillent des bateaux venant de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les drapeaux multicolores des pays participants ornent le pourtour de la Place des Nations où se déroulent des concerts et des spectacles forains. Des Journées nationales et spéciales font honneur aux participants et des Semaines régionales de la Colombie-Britannique soulignent la culture de la province.

Le Monorail circule au-dessus de la place et s’arrête à la Station Porte du Stade.

Près de l’eau, le Carrousel de la Philadelphia Toboggan Company est l’un des cinq manèges d’EXP0 86. Construit en 1907, il vous offre une randonnée nostalgique sur ses vieux chevaux de bois sculptés.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86