1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

General view

manque image

The Red Zone consists of two parts: the Red Zone itself at False Creek and the Canada Pavilion on the shores of Burrard Cove. The Sky-Train takes you from one location to the other in four minutes at no charge.

The entire Red Zone is full of attractions. At the northwestern end of the False Creek site stands the huge white crescent of the Ontario pavilion, where exhibits highlight Ontario's history, technology and talents.

Opposite, the exteriors of three national pavilions reflect the uniqueness of the countries represented. Senegal's blue pavilion is decorated with motifs typical of Senegalese architecture; Pakistan's pavilion recreates the liveliness of a bazaar; and Kenya's zebra-coloured exterior evokes the richness of its wilderness.

A dove with open wings, a universal symbol of peace, surmounts the entrance to the Hope pavilion.

The itinerary then includes a visit to the Yugoslavia and Romania pavilions where you can sample the culture of these two fascinating Eastern European countries.

Nearby, the Japan pavilion offers an opportunity to experience the advances in transport on board Japan's new HSST electromagnetically levitated high-speed train. To the south of the Japan pavilion and in the heart of the Red Zone is the Earth Square, where a cheerful hustle and bustle of vehicles of all kinds causes an international traffic jam. The sculpture HIGHWAY 86, which stretches from north to south along the edge of Earth Square, is a humorous interpretation of the theme of transportation. This world-class sculpture features more than two hundred vehicles and other modes of transport.

Across from Earth Place, on the banks of False Creek, is the Canadian National pavilion with its woven metal roof.

Next to it is the Australian pavilion and across the square to the north is the Saskatchewan pavilion, which at ten stories tall looks like a futuristic grain silo.

Further north is the Canada Gateway, recognisable by its giant ornaments: Canadian flag, stick and hockey puck. From this gate, flanked by the Scream Machine and Looping Starship rides, the SkyTrain leaves for the Canada Pavilion on Burrard Cove. The Canada Gateway Monorail station is directly across from the SkyTrain stop.

The Red Zone is also served by the Canadian Pacific Airlines East Cable Car, which connects to the Purple Zone and has a station at the northeast end of the Red Zone near the Hope Pavilion.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vue Générale



La Zone rouge comprend deux parties: la Zone rouge proprement dite, à False Creek, et le pavillon du Canada, sur les rives de l’anse Burrard. Le Sky-Train vous transporte sans frais d’un emplacement à l’autre en quatre minutes.

Toute la Zone rouge abonde en attractions. À l’extrémité nord-ouest du site de False Creek, se dresse l’énorme croissant blanc du pavillon de l’Ontario où des expositions soulignent l’histoire, la technologie et les talents de cette province.

En face, l’extérieur de trois pavillons nationaux reflète l’originalité des pays représentés. Ainsi, le pavillon bleu du Sénégal est orné de motifs typiques de l’architecture sénégalaise; le pavillon du Pakistan recrée l’animation d’un bazar et le pavillon du Kenya par son extérieur zébré évoque la richesse de sa nature sauvage.

Une colombe aux ailes ouvertes, symbole universel de paix, surmonte l’entrée du pavillon de l’Espérance.

L’itinéraire comporte ensuite une visite au pavillon de la Yougoslavie et à celui de la Roumanie où vous pouvez goûter à la culture de ces deux fascinants pays d’Europe de l’Est.

Tout près, le pavillon du Japon, donne l’occasion de découvrir les progrès des transports à bord du HSST tout nouveau train japonais ultra-rapide à lévitation électromagnétique. Au sud du pavillon du Japon et au coeur de la Zone rouge, se trouve la Place de la Terre où un joyeux tohu-bohu de véhicules de toutes sortes cause un embouteillage international. La sculpture HIGHWAY 86, qui s’étend du nord au sud en bordure de la Place de la Terre, se veut une interprétation humoristique du thème des transports. Cette sculpture de classe internationale présente plus de deux cents véhicules et autres modes de locomotion.

En face de la Place de la Terre, sur les rives de False Creek, on aperçoit le pavillon du Canadien National et son toit de métal tressé.

A côté, se trouvent le pavillon de l’Australie et au nord, de l’autre côté de la place, celui de laSaskatchewan, qui, avec ses dix étages, ressemble à un silo à céréales futuriste.

Plus au nord, s’élève le Portail du Canada que l’on reconnaît à ses ornements géants: drapeau canadien, bâton et rondelle de hockey. C’est de ce portail, flanqué par les manèges Scream Machine et Looping Starship, que part le SkyTrain à destination du pavillon du Canada, sur l’anse Burrard. La station de Monorail du Portail du Canada fait directement face à l’arrêt du SkyTrain.

La Zone rouge est également desservie par le téléphérique est des Lignes aériennes du Canadien Pacifique, qui assure la liaison avec la Zone violette et dont la station se trouve à l’extrémité nord-est de la Zone rouge, à proximité du pavillon de l’Espérance.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86