Back - List of Pavilions

Via Rail - Expo Vancouver 1986

Missing picture

150 years ago, the Dorchester, Canada's first locomotive, made history by running from Laprairie to Saint-Jean-Sur-Riche-lieu in Quebec. 100 years ago, the first transcontinental train arrived in Vancouver. In 1986, Canada commemorates these and other significant events in rail history.

The Via Rail station houses the Via Rail exhibit. This recently renovated Vancouver heritage building is located across from the East Gate on Main Street. The exhibition, which occupies 11,000 square metres, focuses on Canada's passenger trains from their earliest days.

Two reproductions of vintage trains that visitors can ride and the modern LRC train illustrate the evolution of rail travel.

The transportation of immigrants to the Prairies during the colonial era, the golden age of passenger trains between the wars, and the streamlined transcontinental locomotives of the post-war period highlight the importance of railways in Canada.
A film gives a glimpse of what the future holds for rail travellers.

July 21, Railway History Day, commemorates the 150th anniversary of the first rail journey in Canada.

The Via Rail exhibition is part of the anniversary celebrations taking place across Canada, which include several historical re-enactments.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Via Rail



Il y a 150 ans, la Dorchester, première locomotive canadienne entra dans l’histoire en reliant Laprairie jusqu’à Saint-Jean-Sur-Riche-lieu au Québec. Il y a 100 ans, le premier train transcontinental arrivait à Vancouver. En 1986, le Canada commémore ces événements et d’autres épisodes marquants de l’histoire du rail.

La gare de Via Rail abrite l’exposition de Via Rail. Cet édifice, récemment rénové, qui appartient au patrimoine de Vancouver, se trouve en face de la Porte Est, dans la rue Main. L’exposition, qui occupe 11 000 mètres carrés, s’intéresse aux trains de voyageurs du Canada depuis leurs débuts.

Deux reproductions de trains d’époque que les visiteurs peuvent emprunter et le train moderne LRC illustrent l’évolution du voyage en chemin de fer.

Le transport des immigrants vers les Prairies à l’époque de la colonisation, l’âge d’or des trains de voyageurs dans l’entre-deux-guerres et les locomotives transcontinentales aux formes aérodynamiques de l’après-guerre soulignent bien l’importance du chemin de fer au Canada.
Un film donne un aperçu de ce que l’avenir réserve aux voyageurs du rail.

Le 21 juillet, journée historique des chemins de fer, commémore le 150e anniversaire du premier voyage par rail au Canada.

L’exposition de Via Rail s’intègre aux célébrations de cet anniversaire qui se tiennent partout au Canada et parmi lesquelles on compte plusieurs reconstitutions historiques.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86