1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Singapore

Singapore at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

The Singapore pavilion exhibition offers visitors the delights of this wonderful island city where ancient cultures and advanced technology blend so harmoniously that one can hardly distinguish between the traditional and the modern.

Yet it wasn't always so. Singapore was once a crossroads for adventurous sailors and merchants who traded by sea between China, India and Europe, buying strong spices, fine fabrics and rare jewellery. Nowadays,
its harbour is teeming with oil tankers and modern cargo ships.

What was once a tiny, insignificant fishing village has become, with a population of 2.55 million, a recognised telecommunications centre in the East and one of the world's largest ports by tonnage. A centre of maritime trade and shipbuilding, Singapore is the world's third largest oil refiner and has become a leading manufacturer of oil rigs. Its airline, Singapore Airlines, serves 34 countries.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Singapour


Singapour à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

L’exposition du pavillon de Singapour offre aux visiteurs les délices de cette merveilleuse ville insulaire où cultures anciennes et technologie de pointe se mêlent de façon si harmonieuse qu’on peut à peine distinguer le traditionnel du moderne.

Pourtant, il n’en a pas toujours été ainsi. Singapour était jadis un carrefour pour les marins et les marchands aventureux qui s’adonnaient au commerce maritime entre la Chine, l’Inde et l’Europe, et achetaient des épices fortes, des étoffes fines et des bijoux rares. Aujourd’hui,
son port fourmille de pétroliers et de cargos modernes.

Le minuscule petit village de pêche insignifiant qu’était Singapour est devenu, avec ses 2,55 millions d’habitants, un centre de télécommunications reconnu en Orient et compte parmi les plus grands ports du monde pour le tonnage. Centre de commerce maritime et de construction navale, Singapour occupe le troisième rang mondial pour le raffinage du pétrole et a pris place parmi les plus importants fabricants de plates-formes de forage. Sa compagnie aérienne, la Singapore Airlines, dessert 34 pays.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86