1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Oregon

Oregon at the Exhibition Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

The architecturally advanced Oregon Pavilion features a walkway that passes behind a waterfall and leads into a tunnel that is constructed like a 21st century covered wagon. The trick-filled tunnel uses optical illusions and special lighting effects to take visitors on a fantastical journey through time to Oregon's past, present and future. Throughout the tunnel, relief sets recreate Oregon's mountains, rivers and harbours.

Artists and actors will perform in the Gallery Theatre. A tourist and business information booth in the centre of the pavilion allows visitors to learn more about the state of Oregon, which so warmly welcomes its tourists.

Since the days when Oregon was first connected to the rest of the United States by Lewis and Clark and the famous Oregon Trail, transportation has played a major role in its development and economy, such as water transportation. Today, Oregon has more than 20 port areas, including Portland, the state's largest city, which is the largest port by tonnage on the West Coast.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Oregon


Oregon à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

Le pavillon de l’Oregon, à l’architecture d’avant-garde, présente une promenade qui passe derrière une chute d’eau et débouche dans un tunnel dont la construction donne un chariot bâché du 21ème siècle. Ce tunnel rempli de trucages utilise des illusions d’optique et des effets spéciaux d’éclairage pour conduire le visiteur en un voyage fantastique dans le temps qui lui fera découvrir le passé, le présent et l’avenir de l’Oregon. Tout au long du tunnel, des décors en relief recréent les montagnes, les rivières et les ports de cet état.

Des artistes et des acteurs se produiront au Gallery Theatre. Un kiosque d’informations touristiques et commerciales occupe le centre du pavillon et permet aux visiteurs de mieux connaître l’État de l’Oregon qui accueille ses touristes si chaleureusement.

Depuis l’époque où l’Oregon a été, pour la première fois, relié au reste des États-Unis grâce à Lewis et Clark et par la fameuse piste de l’Oregon, les transports ont joué un rôle primordial dans son développement et son économie, tel le transport par eau. De nos jours, l’Oregon compte plus de 20 zones portuaires dont celle de Portland, la plus grande ville de l’état, qui est le port le plus important en tonnage de la côte ouest.

©Guide Officiel - Expo 86