Back - List of Pavilions

California - Expo Vancouver 1986

Missing picture

At the entrance to the pavilion, a high-tech light sculpture illustrates the theme "California: Creating the Future". The highlight of the pavilion is a tall, thematic tower that symbolises California's leading role as a disseminator of innovation to the world. The tower includes four exhibits dedicated to four areas of California creativity.

The first exhibit is dedicated to geothermal energy capture and conversion to electricity; the second to space science, featuring the space telescope that will be placed in orbit during EXPO 86. The third and fourth exhibits will describe California's advances in film technology and automotive design.

The rest of the pavilion is devoted to the sometimes unexpected applications of these technologies in areas where California plays a leading role: transportation research and design, and aerospace and computer activities. The tour ends in style, thanks to the magic of Hollywood, with a flying saucer tour of the natural splendours of this great state.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Californie



A l’entrée du pavillon, une sculpture lumineuse très technologique illustre le thème “Californie: Création du futur”. Le clou du pavillon est une haute tour thématique qui symbolise le rôle de premier plan de la Californie comme diffuseur d’innovations vers le reste du monde. La tour comprend quatre expositions dédiées à quatre domaines de la créativité californienne.

La première exposition est consacrée au captage de l’énergie géothermique et à sa transformation en électricité; la deuxième à la science de l’espace avec en vedette le télescope spatial qui sera placé sur orbite durant EXPO 86. Les troisième et quatrième expositions décriront les progrès de la Californie en technique du film et création automobile.

Le reste du pavillon est consacré aux applications parfois inattendues de ces technologies dans des domaines où la Californie joue un rôle de premier plan: recherche et conception dans le domaine des transports ainsi qu’activités dans le domaine de l’aérospatiale et l’informatique. La visite se termine en beauté, grâce à la magie d’Hollywood par un tour en soucoupe volante des splendeurs naturelles de ce grand état.

©Guide Officiel - Expo 86