1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Republic of Korea

manque image

The Republic of Korea pavilion deals with the country's cultural traditions and its growing role in the Asian economy. With its graphics and traditional portico, it recreates the atmosphere of a Korean town square. The interior reflects the country's rich past and features the voluminous Emile Bell as a symbol of communications.

To illustrate the forward-looking research, development and synchronisation of transport and communication technology, the pavilion features models, objects and photographs relating to semiconductors, land use, car manufacturing and shipbuilding.

The fascinating history of Korean transportation is beautifully illustrated by the Turtle Ship. This 16th century ship from the Yi Dynasty was the first to be clad in iron and was adorned with a turtle head containing a sulphur-fuelled device that created a smoke screen.

The Republic of Korea, host of the 1988 Summer Olympics, will present the Olympic Plaza, where a photographic retrospective of the Olympic Games and a model of the facilities planned for Seoul are on display. Traditional sports will be evoked with the help of dolls and video images.

The Republic of Korea pavilion has a tourist information centre, a 200-seat theatre with traditional dances and a restaurant where visitors can taste the country's specialities.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

République de Corée



Le pavillon de la République de Corée traite des traditions culturelles du pays et de son rôle grandissant dans l’économie asiatique. Avec ses graphiques et son portique traditionnel, il recrée l’atmosphère d’une place publique coréenne. L’intérieur témoigne du riche passé du pays et présente la volumineuse cloche Émile, comme symbole des communications.

Pour illustrer la recherche tournée vers l’avenir, le développement et la synchronisation de la technologie des transports et des communications, le pavillon propose maquettes, objets et photographies relatifs aux semi-conducteurs, à l’utilisation du sol, la construction automobile et la construction navale.

L’histoire fascinante des transports coréens est magnifiquement illustrée par le bateau tortue. Ce navire du 16ème siècle, datant de la dynastie Yi, a été le premier à être recouvert de fer; il était orné d’une tête de tortue contenant un dispositif alimenté au soufre qui créait un écran de fumée.

La République de Corée qui reçoit les Jeux olympiques d’été de 1988, présentera la place Olympique, où sont exposées une rétrospective photographique des Jeux Olympiques ainsi qu’une maquette des installations prévues à Séoul. Les sports traditionnels seront évoqués à l’aide de poupées et d’images vidéo.

Le pavillon de la République de Corée a un centre d’informations touristiques, un théâtre de 200 places avec danses traditionnelles et un restaurant où le visiteur goûtera les spécialités du pays.

©Guide Officiel - Expo 86