1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Marine Plaza

Marine Plaza at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

The romanticism of sea travel and the ingenuity of the world's shipbuilders are expressed in the Marine Plaza. The Vaisseau du Rêve has 40-metre high masts which dominate the whole site. The Ship of Dreams is actually a pier with a great view of False Creek. It also serves as the Navy Gateway, from which visitors embark on boat tours or travel around Stanley Park to the Canada Pavilion in Burrard Cove.

The International Port is at the heart of Marine Plaza. Merchant ships, tugs and pirogues from all over the world will drop anchor alongside a Chinese junk, an Arab dhow and Peruvian reed boats. Nearby are some famous ships, including Humphrey Bogart's African Queen and a replica of Sir Francis Drake's 17th-century galleon, the Golden Hinde, the S.S. Master steam tug, representing British Columbia's coastal ships, and a 16-metre haida war canoe carved from red cedar from the Queen Charlotte Islands in British Columbia.

Daily boat building events include an Indonesian pinisi and a traditional York-style Alberta boat.
An old Sea Serpent with rusty vertebrae emerges from the wake of the Ship of Dreams and leads visitors to the Signal Tower, which houses sirens, traffic lights, radar screens and semaphores that visitors can operate. Nearby, remote-controlled miniature boats ply a large basin.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Place de la Marine


Place de la Marine à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

C’est le romantisme des voyages en mer et toute l’ingéniosité des constructeurs de navires du monde qu’exprime la Place de la Marine. Le Vaisseau du Rêve possède des mâts de 40 mètres de haut qui dominent tout le site. Le Vaisseau du Rêve est en fait une jetée d’où la vue sur False Creek est superbe. Il sert aussi de Porte de la Marine, d’où les visiteurs s’embarquent pour faire des excursions en bateau ou se rendre, en contournant le parc Stanley, au pavillon du Canada dans l’anse Burrard.

Le Port international est au coeur de la Place de la Marine. Venus de toutes les mers du monde, navires marchands, remorqueurs et pirogues jetteront l’ancre aux côtés d’une jonque chinoise, d’un dhow arabe et d’embarcations péruviennes en roseau. Non loin de là, mouillent quelques navires célèbres, dont l’African Queen de Humphrey Bogart et une réplique du Golden Hinde, galion du XVIIe siècle ayant appartenu à Sir Francis Drake.On y trouve le S.S. Master remorqueur à vapeur, représentant les bateaux côtiers de la Colombie-Britannique, et un canot de guerre haida de 16 m, sculpté dans un cèdre rouge des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, en Colombie-Britannique.

On peut assister tous les jours à la construction de bateaux dont celles d’un pinisi indonésien et d’un bateau albertain traditionnel de style York.
Un vieux Serpent de mer aux vertèbres rouillées surgit du sillage du Vaisseau du Rêve et mène les visiteurs à la Tour de signalisation qui abrite sirènes, feux de signalisation, écrans radar et sémaphores que les visiteurs peuvent actionner. Tout près, des bateaux miniatures télécommandés sillonnent un grand bassin.