1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

France

France at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

From the world's fastest train to the supersonic Concorde, the French pavilion showcases the many achievements in transportation. Visitors enter the pavilion aboard the SK train, which was designed by the French company Soulé and is being presented for the first time in North America.

The imaginary and the real rub shoulders, for while there is a reconstructed metro station and the extravagant, futuristic means of transport imagined by Jules Verne, there are also the means of transport of tomorrow.

An animated model of the Gare de Lyon in Paris shows advanced means of public transport, such as the Aramis, and a new tramway.

There is also a life-size replica of the elegant TGV (Train à Grande Vitesse), which reaches speeds of over 260 kilometres per hour and is seen hurtling along in the film OMNIMAX at the Expo Centre.

Visitors cross the Paris airport to attend an audio-visual presentation on the French aeronautics and space programme. In addition to the Airbus medium-haul aircraft and the Falcon business jet, France produces the Dauphin and Puma helicopters and the Ariane satellite rocket.
In the Air France lounge, you can take part in a game and perhaps win a trip overseas.

The French pavilion focuses on other aspects of transport, such as energy saving, anti-pollution equipment and efficiency. It also showcases recent advances in air, maritime and road safety, including France's maritime surveillance, accident prevention and coastal rescue system.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France


France à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

Du train le plus rapide du monde jusqu’au Concorde supersonique, le pavillon de la France expose les nombreuses réussites obtenues dans les transports. Les visiteurs accèdent au pavillon à bord du train SK qui a été conçu par la société française Soulé et est présenté pour la première fois en Amérique du Nord.

L’imaginaire et le réel se côtoient car si l’on une station de métro reconstituée et les moyens de transport extravagants et futuristes imaginés par Jules Verne, on découvre aussi les moyens de transport de demain.

Une maquette animée de la Gare de Lyon à Paris présente des moyens de transport en commun perfectionnés, comme l’Aramis, et un nouveau tramway.

On trouve aussi une réplique grandeur nature de l’élégant TGV (Train à Grande Vitesse) qui atteint des vitesses supérieures à 260 kilomètres à l’heure et que l’on voit filer comme une flèche dans le film OMNIMAX présenté au Centre Expo.

Les visiteurs traversent l’aéroport de Paris pour aller assister à une présentation audio-visuelle sur le programme aéronautique et spatial français. Outre l’avion moyen-courrier Airbus et l’avion d’affaires Falcon, la France fabrique les hélicoptères Dauphin et Puma ainsi que la fusée Ariane, porteuse de satellites.
Dans le salon d’Air France, vous pouvez participer à un jeu et gagner peut-être un voyage outre-mer.

Le pavillon de la France met l’accent sur d’autres aspects des transports, comme l’économie d’énergie, l’équipement antipollution et le rendement. Y sont aussi présentés les progrès récents de la sécurité aérienne, maritime et routière, y compris le système français de surveillance maritime, de prévention des accidents et de sauvetage sur les côtes.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86