1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Quebec

Quebec at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

Behind its imposing contemporary architecture, the Quebec pavilion offers visitors a universe of sounds and images. Lights, fountains, models and a film projected on a 360-degree screen depict Quebec.

Visitors watch the audio-visual presentation while standing on an island surrounded by water. The waterfalls, whose image appears on the circular screen, symbolize the historical and cultural importance of water to Quebec.

The province of Quebec covers an area of 1,356,273 square kilometres, most of which is almost uninhabited, with the majority of the population concentrated in modern cities along the banks of the St. Lawrence River.

Quebec's contributions to transportation and communications reflect the creativity and ingenuity of the people who have inhabited it for nearly four centuries. Snowmobiles, a sophisticated underground transportation system, forest fire tankers, French-language software, polymer batteries and fibre optics are just some of Quebec's most recent achievements.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Québec


Québec à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

Derrière son imposante architecture contemporaine, le pavillon du Québec réserve aux visiteurs un univers de sons et d’images. Des lumières, des fontaines, des maquettes et un film projeté sur un écran de 360 degrés dépeignent le Québec.

Les visiteurs assistent à la présentation audio-visuelle, debout sur une île entourée d’eau. Les chutes d’eau, dont l’image apparaît sur l’écran circulaire, symbolisent l’importance historique et culturelle de l’eau pour le Québec.

La province de Québec couvre une superficie de 1 356 273 kilomètres carrés, dont la majeure partie est presque inhabitée, la majorité de la population étant concentrée dans des villes modernes le long des rives du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Les contributions du Québec aux domaines des transports et des communications témoignent de la créativité et de l’ingéniosité du peuple qui l’habite depuis près de quatre siècles. Moto-neiges, réseau de transport souterrain perfectionné, avions-citernes pour les feux de forêt, logiciels en français, piles aux polymères et fibres optiques, voici quelques-unes des plus récentes réalisations du Québec-Place est aussi faite aux arts du Québec Le visiteur peut ainsi pénétrer au coeur même de cette culture unique.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86