Back - List of Pavilions

Rotunda - Expo Vancouver 1986

Missing picture

Vancouver's oldest industrial building, La Rotonde, which a century ago served as a repair shop for steam locomotives, presents "Ingenuity at its Best". Sponsored by Imperial Oil Limited and EXPO 86, it has just been beautifully restored.

In the Rotunda depot is CPR locomotive No. 374 which brought the first transcontinental passenger train to Vancouver.

This themed pavilion highlights the work of the transportation pioneers whose sense of adventure and discovery enabled humanity to move from the age of steam to the age of aviation in less than a century. The exhibition in the Rotunda was designed by Art Centrum/Studio Shape, the Czechoslovakian company that built the remarkable Czechoslovakia pavilion at Expo 67.

At the entrance to the Esso Rotunda is a giant rotating semaphore, a symbol of the first signalling devices. Another sculpture, another semaphore designed by artist Robert McKechnie, is located in the central aisle of EXP086 and greets passengers on the Monorail as they pass.

A huge locomotive wheel occupies the former Diesel Workshop, where entertainers drive bizarre vehicles that never got beyond the stage of invention. Through telescopes, visitors can watch short animated films about real and imaginary means of transport.

In the Retrospective Corridor, golden statues represent inventors and their wacky machines.

In the hall, there is a collection of rare vehicles, including an 1893 Benz Victoria and the oldest Bugatti, built in 1912, as well as a working reproduction of the Rocket locomotive, which inaugurated the railway era in 1829.

The Giant Machine, in the shape of an ancient aircraft engine, houses a 160-seat theatre where a film made from archives from around the world shows the happy and tragic moments of some of the pioneers of technology at the beginning of the century.


THE HOLOGRAPHY GALLERY
The Holography Gallery in the Rotunda presents the Spectral Images exhibition, the largest of its kind. Michael Snow, one of Canada's best-known artists, created the 50 or so holograms in this exhibition.

Three-dimensional images created by laser and photography, the holograms illustrate the phenomenon of parallax and change their appearance as the viewer moves. Snow treats landscapes, still lifes and portraits with this avant-garde technique.

Discovered in 1940, holography is more than an artistic tool and is also used in medical and industrial research. However, it was not until the development of the laser beam that the technique could be used.


LOCOMOTIVE PEOPLE #4

Visitors can climb aboard the Locomotive People #4 sculpture, a symbol of movement, energy, progress and creativity.

The sculpture consists of four life-size metal figures in three transparent Plexiglas and polished stainless steel cabins that visitors can enter.

Toronto artist Miho Sawada wanted to express the idea of passage, based on the concept of a bridge that allows people to cross a natural obstacle. In Europe they also house shops and homes. Locomotive People #4 symbolises the bridge as a place of passage, meeting and exchange.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Rotonde



La Rotonde, le plus vieux bâtiment industriel de Vancouver qui, il y a un siècle, servait d’atelier de réparation pour les locomotives à vapeur présente “L’Ingéniosité à son apogée”. Commanditée par la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée et EXPO 86, elle vient d’être magnifiquement restaurée.

Au dépôt de la Rotonde, se trouve la locomotive N° 374 du CP qui amena le premier train transcontinental de voyageurs jusqu’à Vancouver.

Ce pavillon thématique souligne l’oeuvre des pionniers des transports, dont le sens de l’aventure et de la découverte a permis à l’humanité de passer de l’âge de la vapeur à celui de l’aviation en moins d’un siècle. L’exposition de la Rotonde a été conçue par Art Centrum/Studio Shape, la compagnie tchécoslovaque qui avait réalisé le remarquable pavillon de la Tchécoslovaquie à Expo 67.

À l’entrée de la Rotonde d’Esso, se trouve un sémaphore rotatif géant, symbole des premiers dispositifs de signalisation. Située elle dans l’allée centrale d’EXP086, une autre sculpture, autre sémaphore conçu par l’artiste Robert McKechnie, salue les passagers du Monorail lors de leur passage.

Une immense roue de locomotive occupe l’ancien Atelier Diesel où des amuseurs conduisent des véhicules bizarres qui n’ont jamais dépassé le stade de l’invention. En regardant par des télescopes, les visiteurs assistent à de courts films d’animation portant sur des moyens de transport réels ou imaginaires.

Dans le Corridor rétrospectif, des statues dorées représentent des inventeurs et leurs machines farfelues.

Dans le hall, on peut admirer une collection de véhicules rares, dont une Benz Victoria 1893 et la Bugatti la plus ancienne, construite en 1912, ainsi qu’une reproduction en état de marche de la locomotive Rocket, qui inaugura l’ère des chemins de fer en 1829.

La Machine Géante, en forme de moteur d’avion ancien, abrite un théâtre de 160 places où un film réalisé à partir d’archives du monde entier témoigne des moments heureux et tragiques de quelques pionniers de la technique au début du siècle.


LA GALERIE D’HOLOGRAPHIE
La Galerie d’holographie de la Rotonde présente l’exposition Images spectrales, la plus imposante du genre. C’est Michael Snow, un des artistes canadiens les plus connus, qui a créé les quelque 50 hologrammes de cette exposition.

Images tridimensionnelles créées par laser et photographie, les hologrammes illustrent le phénomène de la parallaxe et changent d’aspect quand l’observateur se déplace. Snow traite des paysages, natures mortes et portraits avec cette technique avant-gardiste.

Découverte en 1940, l’holographie est plus qu’un instrument artistique et est aussi utilisée dans la recherche médicale et industrielle. Toutefois, il fallut attendre la mise au point du rayon laser pour pouvoir utiliser cette technique.


LOCOMOTIVE PEOPLE #4

Les visiteurs peuvent monter à bord de la sculpture Locomotive People #4, symbole de mouvement, d’énergie, de progrès et d’esprit créateur.

Cette sculpture se compose de quatre silhouettes grandeur nature en métal, placées dans trois cabines de plexiglas transparent et d’acier inoxydable poli dans lesquelles les visiteurs peuvent entrer.

L’artiste torontois Miho Sawada a voulu exprimer l’idée de passage, à partir du concept du pont qui permet aux gens de franchir un obstacle naturel. En Europe ils abritent aussi des boutiques et des habitations. Locomotive People #4 symbolise le pont en tant que lieu de passage, de rencontre et d’échange.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86