1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Peru

Peru at the Exhibition Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

The Peruvian pavilion presents the most comprehensive collection of precious gold objects ever presented outside the country. This collection of over 300 objects, which illustrates the cultural history of the country and comes from the Museo de Oro del Peru, includes weapons, musical instruments, religious objects and surgical instruments as well as the gold-encrusted iron sword of the conquistador Pizarre.

Peru's transport and communications have a long history. The Incas built the most important road network in the world after the Romans. This network of 3,600 kilometres linked central Chile and northern Argentina to Ecuador and Colombia.

The chasquis, messengers who lived along the Inca roads, delivered coded messages using quipous, coloured and knotted strings that were used to count and store certain information. It was an indispensable tool for recording the tribute due to the Inca chiefs.

Both Peru and Canada are located on the Pacific Ocean.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pérou


Pérou à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

Le pavillon du Pérou présente la collection la plus complète d’objets précieux en or jamais présentée hors des frontières. Cette collection de plus de 300 objets, qui illustre l’histoire culturelle de ce pays et provient du Museo de Oro del Peru, comprend des armes, des instruments de musique, des objets religieux et des instruments chirurgicaux ainsi que l’épée de fer incrustée d’or du conquistador Pizarre.

L’existence des transports et des communications du Pérou remonte à loin. Les Incas ont construit le réseau routier le plus important au monde après les Romains. Ce réseau de 3600 kilomètres reliait le centre du Chili et le nord de l’Argentine à l’Équateur et à la Colombie.

Les chasquis, messagers qui habitaient le long des routes inca, livraient des messages codés à l’aide de quipous, ficelles colorées et nouées que l’on utilisait pour compter et conserver certaines informations. C’était un outil indispensable pour enregistrer le tribut dû aux chefs inca.

Le Pérou et le Canada se trouvent tous les deux au bord du Pacifique.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86