1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Czechoslovakia

Czechoslovakia at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

Czechoslovakia, a country with a population of 15.2 million, is 65 percent Czech and 35 percent Slovak. These two ethnic groups are characterised by their different languages, cultures and literature.

The Czechoslovakia pavilion at Expo 67 in Montreal and at the 1958 World and International Exhibition in Brussels was unique and the country continues this tradition.

The pavilion houses priceless historical objects. Many of them have never been exhibited outside Czechoslovakia, such as the celestial globe made by Tycho Brahe in the 16th century and the Tabulae Rudolphinae published by Johannes Kepler in 1627.

Thanks to new audiovisual techniques, the audience is projected into a film that takes them on a whimsical flight to Czechoslovakia. In the pavilion's restaurant, whose hot-air balloon décor evokes the end of the last century, visitors can enjoy Czech and Slovak specialities.

The Czechoslovak company SKODAEXPORT is one of the world's leading exporters of electric locomotives and trolleybuses.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tchécoslovaquie


Tchécoslovaquie à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

La Tchécoslovaquie, pays de 15,2 millions d’habitants, est composée de 65 pour cent de Tchèques et 35 pour cent de Slovaques. Ces deux ethnies se caractérisent par une langue, une culture et une littérature différentes.

À l’Expo 67 de Montréal comme à l’Exposition universelle et internationale de Bruxelles en 1958, le pavillon de la Tchécoslovaquie s’est signalé par son originalité et ce pays continue cette tradition.

Le pavillon abrite des objets historiques d’une valeur inestimable. Un grand nombre n’a jamais été exposé hors de Tchécoslovaquie, tel le globe céleste fabriqué par Tycho Brahé au XVIe siècle et les Tabulae Rudolphinae publiées par Johannes Kepler en 1627.

Grâce à des techniques audiovisuelles nouvelles, les spectateurs se voient projetés dans un film qui les entraîne dans un vol fantaisiste jusqu’en Tchécoslovaquie. Au restaurant du pavillon, dont le décor de montgolfières évoque la fin du siècle dernier, les visiteurs peuvent déguster des spécialités tchèques et slovaques.

La société tchécoslovaque SKODAEXPORT est aujourd’hui l’un des premiers exportateurs mondiaux de locomotives électriques et de trolleybus.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86