Back - List of Pavilions

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) -

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986
© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

On 12 April 1961, cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin became the first man to fly in space, aboard the Vostok spacecraft. The U.S.S.R. pavilion illustrates the theme "Transport and Communications for Peace and Cooperation".

The pavilion reflects the many space achievements of the USSR.

A statue of Yuri Gagarin commemorates his historic flight in 1961.

Inside, visitors enter the vastness of the cosmos. Under the title "The Cosmos in the Service of Peace and Cooperation", one can admire the Soyuz-Salyut-Progress, a 33-metre orbiting unit which contains a working space laboratory.

Other exhibits deal with the theme of space: Vega, an international project established on the occasion of the passage of Halley's comet, the worldwide satellite relay system used to assist in rescue operations at sea.

Visitors can linger over an electronic map of the USSR's transport and communications systems. The northern part of the country is the subject of studies illustrating the unloading of the largest nuclear icebreaker, the modern transport systems that serve the thousand-year-old city of Kiev and the first non-stop flight over the North Pole from the USSR to North America in 1937.
Folk dances, fashion shows and films (in 70mm and 3D) show the variety of cultures in this country of 277 million people, representing 100 ethnic groups.

An excellent restaurant with a terrace showcases the talent of the great Soviet cooks.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Union des Républiques Socialistes Soviétiques (URSS)


Union des Républiques Socialistes Soviétiques (URSS) à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

Le 12 avril 1961, le cosmonaute Yuri Gagarine est devenu le premier homme à effectuer un vol spatial, à bord du vaisseau Vostok. Le pavillon de l’U.R.S.S. illustre le thème “Transports et communications au service de la paix et de la coopération”.

Le pavillon reflète les nombreuses réussites spatiales de l’U.R.S.S.

Une statue de Yuri Gagarine commémore son vol historique de 1961.

A l’intérieur, les visiteurs pénètrent dans l’immensité du cosmos. Sous le titre “Le cosmos au service de la paix et de la coopération”, on peut admirer le Soyuz-Salyut-Progrès, ensemble orbital de 33 mètres qui renferme un laboratoire spatial en état de marche.

D’autres expositions traitent du thème de l’espace: Vega, un projet international établi a l’occasion du passage de la comète de Halley, le système de relais par satellite dans le monde entier utilisé pour aider aux opérations de sauvetage en mer.

Les visiteurs peuvent s’attarder devant une carte électronique des systèmes de transports et de communications de l’U.R.S.S. La partie septentrionnale de ce pays fait l’objet d’études illustrant le déchargement du plus gros brise-glace nucléaire, les moyens de transport modernes qui desservent la ville millénaire de Kiev et le premier vol sans escale par le pôle Nord entre l’U.R.S.S. et l’Amérique du Nord, effectué en 1937.
Danses folkloriques, défilés de mode et films (en 70 mm et en relief) témoignent de la variété des cultures de ce pays de 277 millions d’habitants, représentant 100 groupes ethniques.

Un excellent restaurant avec terrasse met en valeur le talent des grands cuisiniers soviétiques.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86