Back - List of Pavilions

Canadian National - Expo Vancouver 1986

Missing picture

The Canadian National pavilion is housed under a translucent canvas supported by a wire mesh 15 metres above the ground. The award-winning pavilion illustrates the theme of moving things and the importance of transporting goods and information in everyday life through an exhibition and circular cinema. By a happy coincidence, CN's 150th anniversary falls in the year of EXPO 86, which is dedicated to transport and communications.

Huge sculptures illustrate Newton's fundamental laws of motion. Nearby, exhibits illustrate the influence of these laws on CN's activities; others recall the railway that runs along Lake Champlain and the St. Lawrence. This 23-kilometre long line was integrated into the Montreal-New York axis in 1936 and is still part of the CN network.

In the pavilion, a comprehensive chronological exhibition matches the evolution of transportation and communications with the social, cultural and commercial achievements of our world. The display occupies an entire tower and consists of 19 panels, each representing a decade since the 1800s.

The CN pavilion illustrates various facets of the transportation and communications world through the CN group of companies: CN Rail, CN Marine, CN Communications, CN Trucks and more than 20 others. Through films, videos, interactive models, live presentations and exhibits, CN delivers a fascinating and educational message.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Canadien National



Le pavillon du Canadien National repose sous une toile translucide que soutient un treillis métallique placé à 15 mètres au-dessus du sol. Ce pavillon qui a été primé, illustre par une exposition et un cinéma circulaire le thème du transport des choses et l’importance du transport des marchandises et de l’information dans la vie quotidienne. Par une coïncidence heureuse, le 150e anniversaire du CN tombe l’année d’EXPO 86 consacrée aux transports et communications.

De gigantesques sculptures illustrent les lois fondamentales de Newton sur le mouvement. Tout près, des expositions illustrent l’influence qu’exercent ces lois sur les activités du CN; d’autres rappellent le chemin de fer qui longe le lac Champlain et le Saint-Laurent. Longue de 23 kilomètres, cette voie fut intégrée en 1936 à l’axe Montréal-New York et fait toujours partie du réseau du CN.

Dans le pavillon, une exposition chronologique des plus complètes fait correspondre les étapes de l’évolution des transports et des communications aux réussites sociales, culturelles et commerciales de notre monde. Ce montage occupe tout une tour et comprend 19 panneaux dont chacun représente une décennie depuis les années 1800.

Le pavillon du CN illustre diverses facettes du monde des transports et des communications par l’intermédiaire du groupe de compagnies du CN: CN Rail, CN Marine, CN Communications, CN Camions et plus de 20 autres. Grâce à ses films, vidéos, modèles interactifs, présentations en direct et expositions, le CN transmet un message à la fois fascinant et éducatif.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86